Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 06:48 PM   #1
Bill Sanford
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bemidji, MN
Default Can't access helifreak.com???

Guys,

I couldn't access Helifreak yesterday or today, so I searched on RC Groups to see what was up and saw that MANY others are having the same issue. I was told to go to the IP address directly (http://67.228.244.248) which I did and I was able to get here.

There seems to be some serious DNS issues regarding getting to Helifreak and their IT or hosting provider needs to look into this SOON. They are missing out on a lot of traffic.

I'm in MN if that helps at all.

Bill
__________________
2x TRex 650e ; Blade 130x
Scorpion motors, Castle ESCs, BeastX FBL
2x Voltz 101k & Honda generator for FAST field charging!!

Bill Sanford is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 06:51 PM   #2
Wizzard
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,618
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

From what I see the issue has been resolved, at least for me as my link in my Favs is now working
__________________
HF Member 69508
MAAC # 80132
Wizzard is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 06:52 PM   #3
scott s
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: malabar fl
Default

Yap, I have been having a hard time connecting all day. Seems like luck of the draw.
scott s is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 06:53 PM   #4
Cailid
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,037
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Abbotsford B.C.
Default

http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=455534
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
How do you become a millionaire flying model helicopters?
Start as a billionaire.
Cailid is online now       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:16 PM   #5
Flying.finn
Registered Users
 
Posts: 71
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, CANADA
Smile DN...? what?..

I thought it was just me or my computer yesterday. I couldn't for the life of me figure out why I was able to go everywhere else on the internet, but "HELIFREAK"!! I actually started rebooting my computer, going into my security settings and giving HF permission to bypass my firewall, etc. I even re-loaded my security suite thinking it was at fault by accidentally blocking HF from my computer. NOW,... i'm here,... i'm logged in,.... but when i try to access "Finless" tutorial build videos,.. it's telling me they are only for members of HF who are logged in??? ...
AM I going CRAZY OR ...?....LOL.
__________________
1) ROGUE 500 V-2, 2) ALIGN T-REX 500e Pro, AR-9020 Rx, Align Hughes 500E fuselage, DX8 w/TM-1000, Flymentor. 3) Blade 120-SR & MCX. 4) iCharger 3010B w/Sky eFuel 1200W 60A Power Source.
Flying.finn is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:19 PM   #6
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,165
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying.finn View Post
I thought it was just me or my computer yesterday. I couldn't for the life of me figure out why I was able to go everywhere else on the internet, but "HELIFREAK"!! I actually started rebooting my computer, going into my security settings and giving HF permission to bypass my firewall, etc. I even re-loaded my security suite thinking it was at fault by accidentally blocking HF from my computer.
THANK GOD I'M NOT CRAZY OR ...?....LOL.
Looking at your signature.... you definitely have the fever.

Sorry for the trouble.
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:20 PM   #7
Flying.finn
Registered Users
 
Posts: 71
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario, CANADA
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillJames View Post
Looking at your signature.... you definitely have the fever.

Sorry for the trouble.
No problem,... yeah... i do feel a bit warm,...lol.
__________________
1) ROGUE 500 V-2, 2) ALIGN T-REX 500e Pro, AR-9020 Rx, Align Hughes 500E fuselage, DX8 w/TM-1000, Flymentor. 3) Blade 120-SR & MCX. 4) iCharger 3010B w/Sky eFuel 1200W 60A Power Source.
Flying.finn is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:22 PM   #8
LN400
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,137
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norway
Default

All is good here, still on an edited Hosts but the feedback from Will and Skiddz and the others on how it goes, yeah all is good
__________________
Blade 400, Blade CX2, Blade mCPx, Blade BL mCPx, Phoenix, RealFlight 7
DX8
.... and... err... a plank
If it ain't flyin, it's a downer,
LN400 is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:33 PM   #9
tonyxwing
Registered Users
 
Posts: 973
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth
Default

I was in stage two of helifreak withdrawl yesterday. I just moved past the cold sweats and was moving on to uncontrollable shaking. Glad it came up because I didn't want to move on to stage three helifreak withdrawl.......plank flying.
__________________
I've gone to the dark side....planks. For now....
JR XP9503 at the controls!
tonyxwing is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 07:47 PM   #10
gtrsteele
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: United States, Cooper City, FL
Default

Today was a long day without helifreak. Just horrible.
__________________
Phoenix Sim V5, Spektrum DX9,
Align TREX 600 EFL Pro (AR7200BX)
,
Goblin 770 (3SX), PowerLab8
gtrsteele is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 08:41 PM   #11
TezJoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 78
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ardmore, Ok
Default

You may wanna make a general post on your facebook pages Will about what's going on and what to do to get here.

I've seen alot of people asking on there.
TezJoe is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:02 PM   #12
CTG1129
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,037
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia
Default

the link I have saved in my favs still does not work. having to go through the ip addy that Will gave out on FB
__________________
The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not.
Thomas Jefferson


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CTG1129 is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:03 PM   #13
TezJoe
Registered Users
 
Posts: 78
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ardmore, Ok
Default

I just use www.helifreaks.com

all ya gotta do is add an "S" to links that don't work and they go through.
TezJoe is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:17 PM   #14
yf222000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 721
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TezJoe View Post
I just use www.helifreaks.com

all ya gotta do is add an "S" to links that don't work and they go through.
+1. Strange how the original helifreak wouldn't work, and to add the letter "S" worked. Hmmmm....
__________________
One left side Align 450 frame. 1 red cable from 35Amps ESC.
Half landing skid. 2 servo horns. 3 ball links.
yf222000 is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:21 PM   #15
H.M.MURDOCK
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Default Helifreak

Same thing happened to me yesterday and today. Thought my phone was acting up. For some reason I can't access the website on the 4G network. It only lets me get on thru WIFI. Hope these issue are resolved soon! I need a daily dosage of Helifreak.
H.M.MURDOCK is offline       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:22 PM   #16
Commodore8888
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,744
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rockville, Maryland
Default

I don't remember why but I had the IP stuck in for my bookmark. Something funky going on with the DNS for sure (I think Will or Skiddz probably already explained it.). Looked up the site and it still listed DNS blocked for Spam, Abuse, etc. Guess go daddy got slammed harder than I thought
__________________
"Resident Mad Scientist"
E5-S KDE 600XF / N7 1.20SRX
450 Pro V3 / Mod 130x / mCPX BL/ iKon Powered Crack Yak

Mike D--Team Synergy/AwesomeRC Hobbies
Commodore8888 is online now       
Old 09-21-2012, 09:27 PM   #17
Excalibur3
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,344
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Carmel,ny
Default

Today was the worst. I didn't t really realize how much I'm on HF until it was gone . I was so bored at work. I was ready to smash my iPhone. Lol


Blade SR converted to HK 250, Blade 450 3D,Blade 450 X,DX6I, Phoenix V4, Blade Nano CPX ( on order)
__________________
TREX 700 Pro DFC HV, TREX 550 Pro,GOBLIN 570 Futaba 14SGH
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Excalibur3 is offline       
Old 09-22-2012, 12:30 AM   #18
kavic5150
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,864
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by TezJoe View Post
I just use www.helifreaks.com

all ya gotta do is add an "S" to links that don't work and they go through.
Nice tip. Thanks.

Also kudos to RR user Picker for providing the link that finally got me back here. Was suffering HF withdrawls for the last 2 days.

Now what in the world is http://helifreak.rob.com/ ?? I signed in using that link, then opened the helifreaks.com site and had to sign in again.

Also none of the smiley animations are working for me.
__________________



Last edited by kavic5150; 09-22-2012 at 04:11 AM..
kavic5150 is offline       
Old 09-22-2012, 03:45 AM   #19
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 41,165
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yf222000 View Post
+1. Strange how the original helifreak wouldn't work, and to add the letter "S" worked. Hmmmm....
That is because Godaddy killed only the HeliFreak.com Domain and not the HeliFreaks.com which used to go to a redirect to HeliFreak.com. I run my own DNS servers so I went in and changed HeliFreaks.com to go directly to the site. The manual hosts file change skiddz gave people also works great. I am in the process of transferring all my domains to Network Solutions so this cannot happen again. Also if you set your router to use 8.8.8.8 as the primary DNS server you won't have any more problems with your own ISP updating their DNS slowly.
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is offline       
Old 09-22-2012, 08:29 AM   #20
Xrayted
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,545
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default

Still the same for me now in day three. None of my links or anything from any Google site searches related to HF will work. I can get in (obviously) using the "Helifreaks" method or by direct IP, but the pages load so sloooooooow that it's unusable. It like going link to link using dial up and 2 minutes per page to load.
Xrayted is online now       
Closed Thread




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com