Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 01:10 AM   #1
RCheliski
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Not in Oahu, Hawaii any more :(
Default Huh? Am I not supposed to be using Lipos for my servos?

Hi Freaks!
Silly question but another thread I was reading (http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=466064&page=2) post #14 said You should not be using 2S lipos to power your DS610 servos. Is this correct? What is he talking about? What am I missing here? I have been using a 2S lipo to power my DS610's and DS 620 on my Trex since July-ish. And also using 3S lipos regulated to 6.0 volts for my DS615's and Futaba S9254 tail servo on my Goblin. I'm cornfused.

Thanks!
Ed
__________________
GOBLIN 700 Align DS615//Futaba S9254//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV120//CC BEC Pro//Align MX700
TRex 600EFL Pro Align DS610//Align DS650//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV80//Align MX600
Blade mCPx ver. 1 // Blade mCPx ver. 2
Spektrum DX7s
RCheliski is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:14 AM   #2
Slyster
Registered Users
 
Posts: 39,273
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Maplewood, MN
Default

The are not HV servos and designed for a max of 6V. HV servos are designed to accept 8.4v of a lipo. I'd say you are asking for trouble running them as HV. That's why I am going with Torque servos in my future Goblin... so I can safely run off of a flight pack.
__________________
"It's not just a hobby... it's a lifestyle" - Pete
Goblin 500 + 700 / Blade 130x + MCPX BL / SK540 / Jives / DX8 / Quantum / RJX / 4010Duo
Slyster is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:28 AM   #3
777ER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 342
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Westchester county, NY
Default

The DS610 isn't an HV servo so you can't run direct 2S lipo (7.4v)

However you can run 2S LiFe which is 6.6v and safe for the DS610 when running off direct 2S LiFe.

Or keep the current battery and use an regulator
777ER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:37 AM   #4
nwmtech
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bellingham, WA
Default

Technically the DS610 isn't rated for anything over 6v. However... there are a lot of us that have been running them at straight 2s lipo for years. Oddly enough I've had one 610 servo randomly die over the last 2 years and it was always on 6v.
nwmtech is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:14 AM   #5
RCheliski
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Not in Oahu, Hawaii any more :(
Default

Thanks. But Im kinda confused. Isnt that what BECs (or regulators) for? I either connect a 2S to an Align external BEC or I connect a 3S Lipo to a CC BEC Pro and output the voltage to 6.0v. Then that wire goes to power the receiver, which in turn powers the servos (using a step-down for the tail servos) and FBL controller, right?
How else is this done? How do you guys do it? Have I been doing it wrong all this time?
__________________
GOBLIN 700 Align DS615//Futaba S9254//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV120//CC BEC Pro//Align MX700
TRex 600EFL Pro Align DS610//Align DS650//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV80//Align MX600
Blade mCPx ver. 1 // Blade mCPx ver. 2
Spektrum DX7s
RCheliski is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:23 AM   #6
flybar_mike
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCheliski View Post
Thanks. But Im kinda confused. Isnt that what BECs (or regulators) for? I either connect a 2S to an Align external BEC or I connect a 3S Lipo to a CC BEC Pro and output the voltage to 6.0v. Then that wire goes to power the receiver, which in turn powers the servos (using a step-down for the tail servos) and FBL controller, right?
How else is this done? How do you guys do it? Have I been doing it wrong all this time?
You're actually on the right track for the regular servos. The HV servos are different in that they allow you to simplify the system by cutting out the Becs/regulators. The 2S Lipo runs straight in to the Rx which feeds the servos with the higher current. Some I'm told actually run the HV servos directly off the 2S. Apparently the HV servos last longer and perform better because of the higher voltage. Not using them myself yet.

With the CC Bec Pro, I run one off my 6S on my 550, and another off one of my 6S packs on my 600. They are rock solid. Apparently the latest V3 release can run safely off 12S.
__________________
Trex 600EFL Pro - AR7200BX
Trex 550 FBL | BeastX | Scorpion 4025-1100 | CC Ice 100 & CC Bec Pro
Trex 450 Pro FBL | BeastX | CC Ice lite 50
Trex 450 Pro Night Flyer | mCPX v1 | Phoenix Sim & DX8
flybar_mike is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 02:32 AM   #7
RCheliski
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Not in Oahu, Hawaii any more :(
Default

How do you power a receiver directly from the lipo? Do you just solder a receiver plug on the Lipo +/- wires and plug it in the receiver?
__________________
GOBLIN 700 Align DS615//Futaba S9254//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV120//CC BEC Pro//Align MX700
TRex 600EFL Pro Align DS610//Align DS650//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV80//Align MX600
Blade mCPx ver. 1 // Blade mCPx ver. 2
Spektrum DX7s
RCheliski is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:10 AM   #8
Stevin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,996
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: bronx , ny
Default

yup
__________________
Avant E-Aurora FBL Vbar 5.3pro / Trex 450 pro vbar 5.3pro/ Velocity50 Vbar 5.3pro / Trex 600efl PRO Flybarless vbar/CC HV80 / Outrage 550 VBAR5.2Pro/ICE100 Heliflightcenter Team Pilot
Stevin is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 05:38 AM   #9
celltech
Registered Users
 
Posts: 691
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Minnesota
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCheliski View Post
How do you power a receiver directly from the lipo? Do you just solder a receiver plug on the Lipo +/- wires and plug it in the receiver?

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...l-JR-Y-Harness

I use this from my LiFE battery into aux 2 and aux 3 on my AR7200
__________________
Trex 600efl Pro,Beastx, Blade 450 3D, ZYX Tarot FBL, Blade 450 3D stock, MCPX v2, Sr120, Spektrum DX8

Last edited by celltech; 10-28-2012 at 05:38 AM.. Reason: sp
celltech is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 07:43 AM   #10
777ER
Registered Users
 
Posts: 342
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Westchester county, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCheliski View Post
How do you power a receiver directly from the lipo? Do you just solder a receiver plug on the Lipo +/- wires and plug it in the receiver?
Just like this:
( ignore the 2.4 antenna, it has been adjusted to 90* after taking this photo)


One into the battery slot, another to a unused channel. If no unused channel available, can use a Y-harness.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	209
Size:	143.0 KB
ID:	361313  
777ER is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 03:58 PM   #11
RCheliski
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Not in Oahu, Hawaii any more :(
Default

Thanks for clearing that up for me. Have one more question though.
Could you put a 5.1v voltage regulator between the Lipos and the receiver, so you can power non-HV servos almost directly from the Lipos? instead of using the 5.1v voltage regulator only between the receiver and tail servo?
__________________
GOBLIN 700 Align DS615//Futaba S9254//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV120//CC BEC Pro//Align MX700
TRex 600EFL Pro Align DS610//Align DS650//BeastX//CC ICE2 HV80//Align MX600
Blade mCPx ver. 1 // Blade mCPx ver. 2
Spektrum DX7s
RCheliski is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 04:18 PM   #12
bj660raptor
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,177
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas,NV
Default

bro youve been running them 2s lipo with no probs and other people do as well,if your worried run a 2s life pack with no regulator,20 dollar packs and youll have no worries.
__________________
600 DFC HV
Pilot Brandon J.
bj660raptor is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:04 AM   #13
skunkworx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 10,005
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA, USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCheliski View Post
Could you put a 5.1v voltage regulator between the Lipos and the receiver, so you can power non-HV servos almost directly from the Lipos? instead of using the 5.1v voltage regulator only between the receiver and tail servo?
If you put a 5.1V step-down before the RX then you will have only 5.1V to all the servos because they draw power off the parallel buss inside the RX. The reason why you use a step-down specifically on the tail is that there are virtually no current cyclic servos that are only rated at 4.8V (nothing stopping you from running that low if you choose, but they typically accept anywhere from 6V to 9.0V).

High Voltage servos simply means they can accept up to the rated output voltage of a 2S Lipo or 8.4V. Some go as high as 9.0V, but I think that's just for overshoot. Almost any other servo will be able to run up to 6.6V without any cause for concern unless they're specifically rated at no more than 4.8V (such as tail servos).

I wouldn't doubt that in the next couple of years we'll likely see servos capable of up to 12.6V inputs since those are pretty standard on a lot of robotics. The higher the voltage (usually) the faster the servo can operate and it usually adds a pretty large amount of torque as well.
__________________
Tim - Atom 500, 6HV, 3D+, eAurora
KBDD TEAM PILOT
Compass support/ProStarHobby.com
--Si vis pacem, para bellum--
skunkworx is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 04:58 AM   #14
Heli,Ed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,776
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by celltech View Post
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...l-JR-Y-Harness

I use this from my LiFE battery into aux 2 and aux 3 on my AR7200
+1
Works awesome , I have switched over 2 of my 550s and will this winter take off the Castle BEC pro and do one more with a life battery,(Nothing wrong with the BEC pro,just like life battery better,and it also helps to balance cg on the 550 better)
Also a life battery is VERY stable compared to standard lipo , so never worry about leaving them in the bird,instead of feeling like I have to put them in my ammo cans with the rest of the other lipo's
I am flying 3 550s ,all with Align servo's and all with AR7200BX in them
__________________
Went to the other side
For sake of time and money, went to planks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for a while

Heli,Ed is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:01 AM   #15
povern
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,791
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Little Falls, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heli,Ed View Post
Also a life battery is VERY stable compared to standard lipo ,
From a chemistry standpoint yes, but from a voltage standpoint.... A little different.

They hold their voltage until the end, then it falls off a cliff. If you know and understand this, you are fine. But I have seen a couple birds go in, because they let their LIFE RX packs get to low. No warning and then the RX shuts off.
__________________
Screw It, I'm gonna fly.
Mini Protos, Logo 600-3d, Logo xxtreme
povern is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:45 AM   #16
bloftin
Registered Users
 
Posts: 762
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Midland, TX
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by nwmtech View Post
Technically the DS610 isn't rated for anything over 6v. However... there are a lot of us that have been running them at straight 2s lipo for years. Oddly enough I've had one 610 servo randomly die over the last 2 years and it was always on 6v.
+1 I've been running DS610's on a 2S lipo (on multipal birds) since Burt Kammer started doing it when he still flew for align (for years). Even though they are not "rated" for it, they run very well on 8v. I've logged hundreds of flights with multipal helis running 610's @ 8v.

__________________
Brian Loftin

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
bloftin is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:50 AM   #17
Heli,Ed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,776
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by povern View Post
From a chemistry standpoint yes, but from a voltage standpoint.... A little different.

They hold their voltage until the end, then it falls off a cliff. If you know and understand this, you are fine. But I have seen a couple birds go in, because they let their LIFE RX packs get to low. No warning and then the RX shuts off.
Exactly ,
I was referring to the stability (chemistry) stand point,meaning ,not have to be AS concerned about them being so volatile .Still don't take them for granted , but seems a little safer to leave in the bird's
__________________
Went to the other side
For sake of time and money, went to planks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for a while

Heli,Ed is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 09:03 AM   #18
povern
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,791
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Little Falls, MN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heli,Ed View Post
Exactly ,
I was referring to the stability (chemistry) stand point,meaning ,not have to be AS concerned about them being so volatile .Still don't take them for granted , but seems a little safer to leave in the bird's
I agree, more stable.

Also, knowing about the voltage drop off, I will be using Life for RX packs over Lipo. Safer, etc. I just will have a large safety factor, as far as MAH usage.
__________________
Screw It, I'm gonna fly.
Mini Protos, Logo 600-3d, Logo xxtreme
povern is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:35 PM   #19
SQRT(-2)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,887
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbia MO USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCheliski View Post
Thanks for clearing that up for me. Have one more question though.
Could you put a 5.1v voltage regulator between the Lipos and the receiver, so you can power non-HV servos almost directly from the Lipos? instead of using the 5.1v voltage regulator only between the receiver and tail servo?
Yes, you can put a UBEC or regulator between the RX battery and the electronics of your heli to run them at what ever voltage you want. It is a common practice. Just get one rated for enough amps. Castle, Align, Hobbywing and several others make such devices.





This one is also an on board glow starter.


http://helidirect.com/voltage-regula...-1_1619_93.hdx
__________________
Gaui Hurricane w/ 530mm blades & Robird G31
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Walkera Super CP
Walkera Devo 10 w/ Deviation
SQRT(-2) is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 06:57 PM   #20
Heli,Ed
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,776
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQRT(-2) View Post
Yes, you can put a UBEC or regulator between the RX battery and the electronics of your heli to run them at what ever voltage you want. It is a common practice. Just get one rated for enough amps. Castle, Align, Hobbywing and several others make such devices.





This one is also an on board glow starter.


http://helidirect.com/voltage-regula...-1_1619_93.hdx
Not such good recommendations
That cc shown can't handle a 550 and the align 2in1 has some failure issued
If anything use a cc bec pro or a western robotics of similar output or still yet a life battery
A life battery drops to 6v quickly and stays there for a good while
__________________
Went to the other side
For sake of time and money, went to planks
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
for a while

Heli,Ed is online now        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk


Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com