Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > General Multirotor Support


General Multirotor Support General Multirotor Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 10:53 PM   #1
iceman320
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default multiwii pro board

hi guys I have been looking at the multiwii pro fc board and I wanted to knwo if anybody knows if i has the rth fuction or any of the features that the dji naza unit has?thanks in advance for the help guys.
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:44 AM   #2
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

I have one and have been setting it up for the past 40 or so days. I switched frames so that set me back, and last week I had a motor failure that caused a crash that set me back.

Anyhow, i have not yet tried to setup RTH. I am still getting simple things like CareFree mode & altitude hold to work. Altitude hold is okay, but you have to sheild the baro on the board and you have to tune PID settings. something the NAZA does on its own.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:00 AM   #3
iceman320
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default

So probably better off to buy the naza to start with then?
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:05 PM   #4
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

Depends on your level of expertise and patience.

I have a friend with a cruis all in one pro running MW2.1 and his RTH & Loiter work just fine. However they operate different than the NAZA.

If you just want to plug a couple cables in, and click a few mouse buttons then go fly... get yourself a NAZA.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:07 PM   #5
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

I bought my board because I wanted the 433mhz 3DR Telemetry. Naza has nothing like it, and their OSD b.s. is $150 or something while an OSD for my board is $18.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:09 PM   #6
iceman320
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default

how do you set up the multiwii boards? is the flashing program better than the kk flash tool?
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:11 PM   #7
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

The board has a Micro USB port directly on it. You install some drivers and connect it to your PC and do everything via the PC.

Adjusting P I D is done via the windows GUI.

Here's a video I made that shows how to flash MultiWii & connect to the GUI.


The 2.0 Pro boards also support MegaPirateNG firmware which is a port of ArduCopter and is pretty powerful.

You can see my USB port on the board in this pic, i am using an extension that converts the micro-usb to a mini-usb to make it easier to access and gives me the abillity to use the same USB cable everything else does.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:27 PM   #8
iceman320
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default

cool. doesn't look as bad to install the software as the kk flash tool is ti use. but I guess I better go with the naza unit as I have already ordered a new radio system that has failsafe to be able to use the naza controller.
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:25 PM   #9
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

This fc has failsafe triggers too.


But its gonna take you a week or so, maybe longer to set everything up.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:32 PM   #10
iceman320
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default

oh wow, i think that i would just like to be able to set up the controller in a day and then not have to worry about it any more unless I start to have problems with it.
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:30 AM   #11
AcroFPV
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,092
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Rocklin, CA
Default

Thats cool. I enjoy having options, and open source projects

like tonight I just removed MultiWii and loaded MegaPirate. Tomorrow I will test Return to Home and Loiter, as right now it seems to get 8 satelites in my office & the map looks like its pretty locked on position

Here is some video of my board flying with an older version of MegaPirate

That was with v2.7 and now they are working 2.9

But yeah if that kind of thing doesn't get you off... just stick with DJI I know alot of people who fly with them and they all fly very good. Pretty much unbeatable in performance... I just cannot get over the price.
AcroFPV is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:00 AM   #12
iceman320
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: utah
Default

Yes the naza is very expensive. But if you want to play you gotta pay i guess.
iceman320 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > General Multirotor Support


General Multirotor Support General Multirotor Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.