Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > General Multirotor Support


General Multirotor Support General Multirotor Support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 03:24 PM   #1
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default F450 Naza GPS help

I just got an f450 with naza from another member on here, before i even put it in the air i ordered the gps upgrade and installed it also. Ive completed the gps calibration with no errors, and get a slow green flashing led while in gps mode, which tells me i have good/enough satellite connections.

Heres what ive been doing, i get it to hover around 6' while in in ATT mode, then switch to GPS mode(i see the led change to slow green), center the throttle stick(if its not already there) and then release right stick. Then it just drifts away and i pretty much have to continue to fly it like i would in ATT mode.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:17 PM   #2
psylence519
Registered Users
 
Posts: 912
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nebraska
Default

How far have you let it drift? It's not millimeter precision, it won't stick exactly where you stop, sometimes it will drift into its closest location and settle in.

Also, I assume you've set the correct x/y/z distances in the Naza setup for the GPS?
psylence519 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:24 PM   #3
JGrn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Default

Have you calibrated the gps/compass outside away from anything magnetic?
JGrn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:49 PM   #4
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Im talkin like 10'-15' drifting and it might keep going if not. I just noticed when i flip my switch into gps mode it dips forward and flys off and also slowly drifts left.

Calibration was done on my driveway. Closest thing would be my house and my pickup(about 15'), then powerlines. (25'+)
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:15 PM   #5
JGrn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneger21 View Post
Im talkin like 10'-15' drifting and it might keep going if not. I just noticed when i flip my switch into gps mode it dips forward and flys off and also slowly drifts left.

Calibration was done on my driveway. Closest thing would be my house and my pickup(about 15'), then powerlines. (25'+)

Is it drifting in a large circle? Going round and round?
JGrn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:33 PM   #6
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JGrn View Post
Is it drifting in a large circle? Going round and round?
nope, flying "tail" in it dips forward elevator and flys off. This last time I just test flew it, it was about 20' from where i hit the gps button and it would have for sure kept going but i flew it back.
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:41 PM   #7
JGrn
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NJ
Default

Sounds like the gps may be bad. Contact the retailer maybe ?
JGrn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:08 PM   #8
Pozzix
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Italy, Rome
Default F450 Naza GPS help

Maybe do you have some subtrims on tx?
And then have you right calibrate gimbals course of your tx in assistant sw, such as in mid stick should have green line indicators?


Sent from my IPhone using Tapatalk
Pozzix is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:12 PM   #9
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JGrn View Post
Sounds like the gps may be bad. Contact the retailer maybe ?
I think i just noticed a possible issue. Ive noticed that the naza itself may be facing the wrong direction according to the software and the arm colors. Software shows red arms as "nose". And the naza motor(esc) ports are facing the whites. I wonder if the original owner had issues. I just assumed the red arm were the "nose" and thats how i mounted the gps since i added it myself. I didnt even think or noticed when i plugged in the gps module. I will change mounting settings and my reversing and recalibrate....
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:14 PM   #10
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pozzix View Post
Maybe do you have some subtrims on tx?
And then have you right calibrate gimbals course of your tx in assistant sw, such as in mid stick should have green line indicators?


Sent from my IPhone using Tapatalk

Nope no subtrims or trim.

My previous post i found a possible issue the way the previous owner mounted it. Hopefully it didnt mess anything up.
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:27 PM   #11
nuttzzy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 504
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Midland, Tx
Default F450 Naza GPS help

Ok the Naza MC the motor ports face forward also the arrow on the GPS faces forward. You have to make sure of this. I don't think it will be a COG issues as I've changed my orientation several time and never changed the distance of COG in the software. And mine still hovers fine and RTH works. I'm not talking barly changed the set up. I'm talking major changes. From hex to quad and different spot for GPS and MC still never changed my COG in the software and no issues. So I would make sure the mechanical part is right first. Front of Naza and GPS forward as per the software states. Wether your flying X or +


Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead
__________________
Don't Judge me, You don't know my life..
nuttzzy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:34 PM   #12
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttzzy View Post
Ok the Naza MC the motor ports face forward also the arrow on the GPS faces forward. You have to make sure of this. I don't think it will be a COG issues as I've changed my orientation several time and never changed the distance of COG in the software. And mine still hovers fine and RTH works. I'm not talking barly changed the set up. I'm talking major changes. From hex to quad and different spot for GPS and MC still never changed my COG in the software and no issues. So I would make sure the mechanical part is right first. Front of Naza and GPS forward as per the software states. Wether your flying X or +


Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead
I got this from another member and i noticed the naza mc is facing the wrong direction, facing white arms and not red(atleast according to the software as "front/nose"). Which meant when i installed the gps facing the "front/nose" it was actually facing the "rear/tail". I redid my software setup and numbers and got my reversing correct. Ill go outside in a bit and recalibrate the gps module.
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:47 PM   #13
nuttzzy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 504
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Midland, Tx
Default F450 Naza GPS help

Ok man. It doesn't have to be to the red arm. As long as they both face the same and software agrees and motors turn the right way as met orientation of the MC GPS and software. Basically all i said was color of arm doesn't matter lol.


Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead
__________________
Don't Judge me, You don't know my life..
nuttzzy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:02 PM   #14
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuttzzy View Post
Ok man. It doesn't have to be to the red arm. As long as they both face the same and software agrees and motors turn the right way as met orientation of the MC GPS and software. Basically all i said was color of arm doesn't matter lol.


Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead

I understand this. But im admitting I didnt look or check, and i just assumed...
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:20 PM   #15
daneger21
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,035
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wooster, OH
Default

Just got back in from a test fly after correcting the gps arrow direction. Add also the mounting measurements in the software accordingly for that correction. I assumed the red arms were forward from references in the software, but the previous owner had it setup as white being the nose. My mistake for not noticing. I also had to switch back some reversing on elev and ailer channels in my tx since the orientation is not opposite. This is my first quad and figuring things out.

But after the test fly shes working great now! I didnt test the failsafe because it is dark out right now lol

Thanks guys for helping me weed out issues until i found; ME pretty much being the issue!
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:31 PM   #16
psylence519
Registered Users
 
Posts: 912
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nebraska
Default F450 Naza GPS help

Awesome, always good when it's a simple problem!
__________________
X5 / Goblin 500 / Goblin 700
psylence519 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:03 PM   #17
nuttzzy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 504
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Midland, Tx
Default F450 Naza GPS help

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneger21 View Post
Just got back in from a test fly after correcting the gps arrow direction. Add also the mounting measurements in the software accordingly for that correction. I assumed the red arms were forward from references in the software, but the previous owner had it setup as white being the nose. My mistake for not noticing. I also had to switch back some reversing on elev and ailer channels in my tx since the orientation is not opposite. This is my first quad and figuring things out.

But after the test fly shes working great now! I didnt test the failsafe because it is dark out right now lol

Thanks guys for helping me weed out issues until i found; ME pretty much being the issue!
No problem man I was same way. Still am!! I'm still knew to quads. Just know a bit. Glad it worked its mostly simple stuff most the time. Get the flight worked out then worry bout fail safe. That's what I did now working on course modes and OSD..


Beep, Beep, Honk, Honk, Over and Out Rotorhead
__________________
Don't Judge me, You don't know my life..
nuttzzy is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > General Multirotor Support


General Multirotor Support General Multirotor Support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com