Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 09:42 PM   #1
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,902
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default Some Kosmik and Logview Setup videos

Have spent quite a bit of time figuring out Kosmik and Logview so thought I'd put together a few vids on their usage. Logview can be downloaded here and various .ini files and Stephan's brilliant .ini generator can be found here.

Video1 - How to setup Logview to use the Kosmik - mp4 97MB

Video2 - Importing data into Logview - mp4 125MB

Link to .ini generator

Link to Logview download

It is essential to put the .ini file in the right directory - contrary to expectation this is not in program data (C:\Program Files (x86)\LogView V2\OpenFormat) but in the users folder as in this example: C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\LogView\Gera ete\Openformat

THEN YOU NEED TO IMPORT THE .DAT FILE - NOT OPEN IT !
__________________
John

Last edited by Mercuriell; Yesterday at 04:47 PM..
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:42 PM   #2
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,902
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default Some gotchas on Kosmik

1) Need to set reverse channel on throttle for Futaba radios
2) Polarity signs hidden for battery
3) Master/Slave chamfers upside down
4) Progdisc male lead does NOT go into Kosmik, female does!
5) Trying to update non-modded early Kosmiks bricks the ESC
__________________
John

Last edited by Mercuriell; 01-28-2013 at 05:01 AM..
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 12:45 AM   #3
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Thanks heaps! Now I can use the logging of the Kosmik!
__________________
Thunder Tiger Raptor G4.1, Futaba BLS-255/256, Silverline V-bar, OS105HZR, Hatori, Pushglo
205
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:12 AM   #4
malc1
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: EVESHAM,UK
Default

Thanks John but for some reason can't get the 'Streamvideo' link to do anything.
__________________
---- Minicopter Diabolo Pyro750-56 Kosmik200 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Whiplash 90N Vbar v5.3 YS120 ---- T Rex 600N YS60 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Spectra `G`----- T Rex 500 Gyrobot 700 ---------- Vario Sonic ----
malc1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:14 AM   #5
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,902
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malc1 View Post
Thanks John but for some reason can't get the 'Streamvideo' link to do anything.
Left click onto the link, then when the video page comes up right click on the download and save or left click on the stream link
__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 01:19 AM   #6
malc1
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: EVESHAM,UK
Default

Yeah the usual thing but for some strange reason left clicking on stream or download file doesn't do anything and right clicking doesn't give me an option to save the file only the link to it.

Bit weird that.

Edit - I can get other Helifreak videos to work OK.
__________________
---- Minicopter Diabolo Pyro750-56 Kosmik200 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Whiplash 90N Vbar v5.3 YS120 ---- T Rex 600N YS60 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Spectra `G`----- T Rex 500 Gyrobot 700 ---------- Vario Sonic ----
malc1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 02:27 AM   #7
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,902
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by malc1 View Post
Yeah the usual thing but for some strange reason left clicking on stream or download file doesn't do anything and right clicking doesn't give me an option to save the file only the link to it.

Bit weird that.

Edit - I can get other Helifreak videos to work OK.
The links are OK - just checked them with another computer - must be something your end !

Anyway here are the Youtube links


__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 05:07 AM   #8
malc1
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: EVESHAM,UK
Default

Ok John thanks for checking.

They work on my works PC as well. I'll check it out later on if I get 5mins.
__________________
---- Minicopter Diabolo Pyro750-56 Kosmik200 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Whiplash 90N Vbar v5.3 YS120 ---- T Rex 600N YS60 Vbar v5.3 ----- MinAir Spectra `G`----- T Rex 500 Gyrobot 700 ---------- Vario Sonic ----
malc1 is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 09:15 AM   #9
mtymyk
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,550
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Default Some Kosmik and Logview Setup videos

Thanks Mercuriell, great of you to take the time, this will be of great help to me .


Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk
__________________
Goblin700, 700C, 500, Trex700N, Synergy N7
Team Rotorquest/ SAB Heli Canada
mtymyk is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 03:39 PM   #10
Johnda
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Default

Whilst the videos are great, I still cann't get it to work.

Ive followed them exactly, however when I've created the in. file in the opend folder I go to choose a device and port, there is no open folder listed, but there is the kosmik int. file selecting tht does nothing.
Johnda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:58 PM   #11
Mercuriell
HF Support
 
Posts: 10,902
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: QLD, AUSTRALIA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnda View Post
Whilst the videos are great, I still cann't get it to work.

Ive followed them exactly, however when I've created the in. file in the opend folder I go to choose a device and port, there is no open folder listed, but there is the kosmik int. file selecting tht does nothing.
What version of windows are you using and what directory are you putting in the .ini file ? You need to put the .ini file in \appdata\logview\geraete\openformat directory and then you will find it in device select list at the bottom of the list.
__________________
John
Mercuriell is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:14 AM   #12
Johnda
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Default

Thanks for the reply John, I think I'm going wrong is the 'appdata' just can't seem to find it even with search, I shall have another go this evening
Johnda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 02:23 AM   #13
jamin_00
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,148
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Essex, UK
Default

If you need to Johnda, I'll send you my phone number so we can talk it through. Im using Windows 7 and it was as John described above.
__________________
Sponsored by
Optipower

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jamin_00 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 04:24 AM   #14
Johnda
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamin_00 View Post
If you need to Johnda, I'll send you my phone number so we can talk it through. Im using Windows 7 and it was as John described above.
Thanks Ben, I'll have another play around with it this evening and see if I can sort it
Johnda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:44 AM   #15
PHANTMXR6
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,455
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Broome, Western Australia, Australia
Smile

Thanks again John.
I managed to get Logview installed and working and my ini fil eis all good as well.
I even managed to get the Kosmik jpg sorted as well.

Awesome piece of software as well. Thanks to the blokes who developed it and made it available to the masses.
__________________
Trex family.....100, 450L, 550E 3GX, 700E 3GX. Goblin 770. Goblin 500. 700 in the box waiting to be my speed machine.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

JR X9503.
PHANTMXR6 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 01:25 AM   #16
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

What do I type in the generator for:
Pinion
Main gear

The goblin 700 has a weird system of gears and pulleys.....so is it different??

Cheers
__________________
Thunder Tiger Raptor G4.1, Futaba BLS-255/256, Silverline V-bar, OS105HZR, Hatori, Pushglo
205
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:31 PM   #17
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,586
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

The Goblin 700 main gear you type in 204, and for the pinion you type the teeth on the motor pulley.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 01:27 AM   #18
rebeltrousers
Registered Users
 
Posts: 785
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Default

Awesome thanks!! SOOOO much info to look at now!
Funny that my headspeed is about 100rpm below where the calculator said it'd be.
Could that be down to the motor KV being lower than advertised??
__________________
Thunder Tiger Raptor G4.1, Futaba BLS-255/256, Silverline V-bar, OS105HZR, Hatori, Pushglo
205
rebeltrousers is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2013, 09:51 AM   #19
jhheli
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,586
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: maryland
Default

No problem and yes, sometimes the motor kv is not pin point, but also the packs you use in mode 4 make a difference also and can effect headspeed....No problem.
__________________
Justin Harris It is better to measure 10 times and cut once, than to cut 10 times and measure once.
Sponsored by :
KONTRONIK, OPTIPOWER, SAB USA , PRC, CANOMOD
jhheli is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2013, 01:19 PM   #20
RyanW
Registered Users
 
Posts: 652
 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Default

Thanks John!!!
RyanW is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com