Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 02:34 PM   #1
LYNNJ
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Default DX7 Pitch changes in st1 & st2

Ok guys I have a DX7 with ar6100 receiver and is set up according to the Jermo vids. All of my pitch curves are the same from 50% up but when I switch into st1 or st2 the pitch increases when the stick is above 50%. The pitch should stay the same right? I have watched it do it from the servo screen. Am I missing something or do I have something backwards. Thanks for any insight in advance!!!
__________________
To be old and wise you must first be young and stupid.
LYNNJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 02:41 PM   #2
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Did you inhibit the hover pitch? If not, you may have some hover pitch in Normal mode.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 03:04 PM   #3
beeflyer2
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,599
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

Trims are also different for each mode...
beeflyer2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 04:10 PM   #4
LYNNJ
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Default

Thanks for the input!!! I will clear the pitch and idle trim and see what happens.
__________________
To be old and wise you must first be young and stupid.
LYNNJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 04:23 PM   #5
jaywhy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,159
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beeflyer2 View Post
Trims are also different for each mode...
Oh wow .I didn't know that so I had to play with it. Sure enough, you can trim like crazy in NORM, but then st1 and st2 have their own set...

Is this so you can set trim in NORM mode to counter the `left-slide` (Translating Tendency , thanks SKIDDZ) to get a super easy natural hover (hands off) in NORM, but then your stunt modes that is cancelled - because you don't want that while doing acrobatics/3d?
jaywhy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 04:39 PM   #6
LYNNJ
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Default

That fixed it!!! Thanks guys for all of the help!!!!
__________________
To be old and wise you must first be young and stupid.
LYNNJ is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 05:01 AM   #7
beeflyer2
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,599
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Woodstock, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaywhy View Post
Is this so you can set trim in NORM mode to counter the `left-slide` (Translating Tendency , thanks SKIDDZ) to get a super easy natural hover (hands off) in NORM, but then your stunt modes that is cancelled - because you don't want that while doing acrobatics/3d?
I guess you could do that, but I am a believer in ZERO TRIM on helicopters. Just get the swash level and fly it.

And no, you definetely don't want to use trim in stunt modes. For example, if the heli was slightly nose heavy and you corrected with trim when upright, the problem would be exaggerated when inverted!
beeflyer2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 05:42 AM   #8
jaywhy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,159
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Default

Yeah - it's just that the longer I'm in the hobby, the more I realize I'll be using the NORM mode very little, so why NOT have NORM mode be a `auto-pilot` (sorry...) mode?

Norm is for take-offs and landings, why not take away the need for fighting the left tendancy, and even get the throttle trimmed up for as close to hands free as possible...

Just a thought...
jaywhy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 05:55 AM   #9
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

At least on the 9303 you can set the trims to be different or the same in each flight mode.

And one suggestion from JR is to start with Common trims (same for all flight modes) and get initial trimming done, then switch to Flight Mode trims (different for each flight mode) and it will keep the setting you got when initially trimming, and then you can modify from there.

More for planks than helis, because I agree, limited to no trim.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com