Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Main Forum - Helicopter Talk

Main Forum - Helicopter Talk R/C Helicopters and the people who fly them. VENDOR TOPICS DO NOT GO HERE. Full Scale Heli threads go in OT please

Old 11-13-2007, 08:47 PM   #1
jimmyv138
Registered Users

Question Gyro/Rudder Servo "Creeping"

I am pretty new to the hobby, but I'm hooked. It didn't seem to take long to start building my collection of heli's and spending WAY too much money in the process. I picked up an old Raptor 30 from a friend and it was equipped with a JR G410T gyro. I have tried everything I can think of to set it up straight, but no matter what I do, the rudder servo still "creeps". When I turn the gain up, it creeps to the left, however, when i turn the gain down, it creeps to the right. I put a 401 on it for now, but I hate to throw a good gyro away if it's not broken. I feel like i'm missing something, but I'm not sure what else to do. When you spool it up and start to lift off, the tail will just take off. I've checked the reverse switch, and it set up correctly on the gyro. Anyone have any idea's?
jimmyv138 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 10:59 PM   #2
Danal Estes
Registered Users

My HF Map location

If the gyro is in Heading Hold, it is normal for the servo to "creep" when the heli is sitting still. With gyro in rate mode, servo should center.

By "...just take off..." do you mean the heli spins? This, of course, is not normal. Have you carefully checked for proper tail rotation (the belt could be twisted the wrong way), proper tail blade orientation, proper tail blade movement when TX stick is moved, and proper tail blade movement when the heli is moved? Another set of eyes really helps with these checks...
Danal Estes is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 11:28 AM   #3
istandalone
Registered Users

My HF Map location