Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems > 3D Forum


3D Forum Discussions for 3D applications using CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix Digimix-3.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2007, 07:12 AM   #1
Wenlock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 165
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shropshire, England
Default Mounting CSM Cyclock on Logo 500 / 600

Has anyone found a neat and tidy way to mount all those little black boxes? I'm struggling to find places to mount everything.

So far the best layout I've found is:
Rx and Cyclock stacked next to elevator servo
Tail gyro (401) underneath tail servo (hope I never need to get at the Limit pot)
Roll cyclic gyro (SL720) on bulkhead next to tail servo - very close to tail gyro
Pitch cyclic gyro (SL720) looks like it'll have to go behind the elevator servo on a custom bracket

And the wiring, when I get it all plugged in, is going to look like an explosion in a spaghetti factory.

Has anyone come up with a better solution to this 3D puzzle?
Wenlock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 07:28 AM   #2
Eyon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 596
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cambridge, UK
Default

V-Bar
__________________
Ian Watson
Avant Aurora, YS91 SR, Hatori SB19, GY611, V-Blade 690 smooth extremes
Logo 600 3D, V-Bar, Hacker ElectricTurbine A50-12L-8P-ET, Flightpower 10s1p 5350 EVOLITE, 600mm V Extremes
Eyon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:08 AM   #3
Wenlock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 165
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shropshire, England
Default

I know, but then what would I do with all those spare gyros?
Wenlock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 11:17 AM   #4
OICU812
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,796
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Edson, Alberta, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wenlock View Post
I know, but then what would I do with all those spare gyros?
Liquidate for price of V-Stabi j/k man,, I dunno. I have not heard of anyone who has run the Cyclock period on a Mikado machine, simply because the V-Stabi is out and works so well on it.
__________________
...Once upon a time there were Nitros, flybars & frequency pins...Shawn
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


OICU812 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 02:00 PM   #5
Ticidytoc
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: KVNY
Default

Quote:
And the wiring, when I get it all plugged in, is going to look like an explosion in a spaghetti factory.
Exactly the reason why I have the V-stabi in mine.
__________________
A Helicopter, Brushless Motor, Esc, Battery, Servos, RX
Ticidytoc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 05:12 PM   #6
stevehonn
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Halesowen, UK
Default

Th Cyclock works pretty well on my 500. The aileron gyro is just behind the mainshaft fixed to the vertical surface in front of the elevator servo, it's a little tight but it's out of the way. The elevator gyro is fixed to the side of the elevator servoand the cyclock unit is behind the elevator servo, it all manages to fit inside the canopy.
__________________
Steve H

Trex 600N Sport, 700N , Trex 250, Beam E4, Trex 550E, Raptor E550, Mikado Logo 500 3D, now a happy user of Futaba 10CG
stevehonn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 07:37 AM   #7
Wenlock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 165
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shropshire, England
Default

Aha, good thinking Steve! I never thought of using that bulkhead in front of the mainshaft.

You don't get any vibration problems from mounting a gyro on the elevator servo?

Thanks for the great idea, I'll go and have another shot at it.

Ian
Wenlock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 06:04 PM   #8
stevehonn
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Halesowen, UK
Default

Not vibration problems at all, I actually got this layout from Tean who posts on Heliaddicts and Runryder. I've not tried a V Bar setup athough I've seen plenty as the whole Mikado team was using them at 3D Masters but comparing flight performance with the CSM setup I can't justify spending the extra cash just to save a bit of space
__________________
Steve H

Trex 600N Sport, 700N , Trex 250, Beam E4, Trex 550E, Raptor E550, Mikado Logo 500 3D, now a happy user of Futaba 10CG
stevehonn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 07:21 AM   #9
Wenlock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 165
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shropshire, England
Default

I have to agree, the V-Bar gear may be tidy but the price is a bit too salty!
Wenlock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 07:32 PM   #10
Doug101
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Default

I don't understand the price problem. In the USA a cylock and 3 sl 720's would be about $650.00 if bought in a package. Much more seperately. The vStabi electronics are $699.00. A $50 saving doesn't seem like much to me.
Doug
Doug101 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 02:51 AM   #11
Wenlock
Registered Users
 
Posts: 165
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Shropshire, England
Default

If you're starting from zero, then the difference in price isn't too much, but I already had a 401 lying around to use on the tail. In the UK a V-Bar system (without air pressure sensor) costs the equivalent of $1000. A complete CSM package with 2 SL720s costs the equivalent of $600, so the saving was around $400, not $50.

It's looking more likely that I'll give the V-Bar a try on the next build.
Wenlock is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 04:25 PM   #12
Doug101
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Upstate NY
Default

If you already have the tail gyro then of course it is cheaper. At $1000 for the vStabi without pressure sensor I sure would consider ordering from the USA. It;s funny how these things are priced for different markets. Sometimes in the past I have ordered things from England or Europe. Nowadays with the devalued US dollar it generally does not pay.
Doug
Doug101 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flybarless Helicopter Systems > 3D Forum


3D Forum Discussions for 3D applications using CSM Cyclock, Helitronix Multi-mixer, Spartan AP2000i, Firmtronix Digimix-3.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com