Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Eagle Tree Systems


Eagle Tree Systems Onboard data loggers, telemetry, and OSD support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2007, 08:51 AM   #1
wren1702
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,107
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wren, Mississippi
Default Which Data logger? Eagle Tree? Others?

Thought I might drop a hint to Santa.....

Which Data Logger are you guys using?
__________________
Alan Haney
T-Rex 600E in 500E Hughes
Swift 16 Flybarless in Approach Cobra
Outrage 550..........Outrage G5........Phazor 600
In memory of: James Archer
wren1702 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:05 AM   #2
catfight
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Default

wren,

I use the Eagletree system with the builtin Dean's connectors. Makes it a breeze to move from heli to heli. Just plug and play all the way. I ShoeGoo the sensors (I like magnetic RPM sensors) into each heli and leave them there. Inexpensive and eliminates optical tach expense. Excellent
__________________
Cheers,
Rusty
catfight is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:34 AM   #3
skeppley
Registered Users
 
Posts: 867
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lake Wynonah PA
Default

Eagletree here too!
Brushless RPM sensor and 2 temp sensors (lipo and motor) and all is well
I only use it to setup a new motor, pinion, headspeed, check the amps and temps are good, and then it's done until the next change.
skeppley is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:39 AM   #4
wren1702
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,107
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wren, Mississippi
Default

What does it do when you peak over 100 amps? Does it go off scale or does it still record the peak amps?
__________________
Alan Haney
T-Rex 600E in 500E Hughes
Swift 16 Flybarless in Approach Cobra
Outrage 550..........Outrage G5........Phazor 600
In memory of: James Archer
wren1702 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:45 AM   #5
skeppley
Registered Users
 
Posts: 867
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lake Wynonah PA
Default

It shows:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Align 600A.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	133.6 KB
ID:	31780  
skeppley is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 10:04 AM   #6
wren1702
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,107
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wren, Mississippi
Default

Thanks!
__________________
Alan Haney
T-Rex 600E in 500E Hughes
Swift 16 Flybarless in Approach Cobra
Outrage 550..........Outrage G5........Phazor 600
In memory of: James Archer
wren1702 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 02:06 PM   #7
th3tick
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,411
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Colorado
Default

EagleTree E-Logger here as well, but with wire leads. For bigger helis, it just gives you more options on where to mount it. That's critical, since you have to plug the pack into it. The only one that I put the Dean's direct version on was my 450.

John
__________________
Logo 600 3D V-Bar, Jazz 55-10-32, Tango 45-7, 0.7/13T, BLS451/BLS251, JR R921, Maniac623
Logo 500 3D V-Bar, Jive 100+LV, Scorpion HK-4020-1100, 0.7/15T, S9452/S9256, AR7000, RT560
T-Rex 600 CF, Jazz 80-6-18, Neu 1515/2.5D/F/H, 11T, S9451, ds760/S9254, AR7000, Radix600
T-Rex 500 CF, stock ESC/motor/rotors, 13T, HS-5245MG, ds760/S9254, JR R921
th3tick is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 02:50 PM   #8
catfight
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Default

I never had a problem mounting because just like skeppley its just for setup or testing. Move it from 600 to 450 as needed.
__________________
Cheers,
Rusty
catfight is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 06:00 PM   #9
0636
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: US
Default

I have one with build-in deans. Well, couple days ago I have used it on my Trex 600 CF.

30 sec in flight on idle up 1... around 2000 rpm, 15 feet altitude... over sudden motor loosing power... I thought, oh well that might be 600XL infamous shaft (but there was no wining sound). I was able to auto heli more or less. It turns out that lipo connector come off from eagletree one.

I was lucky this time. Spring in dean connector become too flat (I fixed it back)... but I think I need to come up with some way to secure this for future.
0636 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 11:38 PM   #10
flyingtanks
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Default

I have the EagleTree with wire leads (added my own Deans). Love it. Don't bother with the PowerPanel. I thought it was cool but in practice I basically never actually use it.
flyingtanks is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 11:58 PM   #11
DominicD
The Capi
 
Posts: 24,267
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Toronto
Default

The eagletree uses an Allegro hall sensor. It's not a shunt so if you go over 100A no damage is done.
__________________
Spreading capibara awareness since 2006
DominicD is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 02:49 AM   #12
xStatiCa
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,864
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Default

Good info HFG. I was wondering about that myself. The only issue is the amp rating of the deans connector at some point.
xStatiCa is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2007, 01:04 PM   #13
bugdozer
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,139
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: La Crescenta, CA
Default

I have the EagleTree version 2 but they are coming out with a version 3 that has more inputs and more memory. They also have a 150AMP option if you need it.
bugdozer is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Eagle Tree Systems


Eagle Tree Systems Onboard data loggers, telemetry, and OSD support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2015 by RCGroups.com, LLC except where otherwise indicated. The HeliFreak.com logo is a trademark of RCGroups.com, LLC.