Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > HELI-X Flight Sim


HELI-X Flight Sim HELI-X Flight Sim for Mac, Windows, Linux


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-25-2008, 09:40 AM   #1
Tombo
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: German
Thumbs up Heli-X - New Free Sim - ready for download ...

Hi all,

the new free R/C Simulator Heli-X is online:

http://www.heli-x.info/download_e.shtml

Cheers Thomas
Tombo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 09:44 AM   #2
Burg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 242
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Default

Hi Tombo,

Great! I'm on it. Downloading now...

Can't wait to try it out.
Burg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 09:55 AM   #3
terrybeb
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,252
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Default

Downloading, I don't have an adaptor for my DX7 radio, I do have realflight 3 will their controller work? If not what adaptor would I need to get?
__________________
Terry
MAAC#78357 IRCHA#3269
AlignT-Rex 450 SE V3 2221-8/ Align T-Rex 600N,OS55HZ /
Align T-Rex 600E 12S A123's / Align T-Rex 700N YS91SR/
Bergen Intrepid EB Zenoha 260/
terrybeb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 09:57 AM   #4
Tombo
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: German
Default

Yes it works great with the RF Interface!
Tombo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 09:58 AM   #5
terrybeb
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,252
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Default

beautiful, Vielen Dank fur alles.
__________________
Terry
MAAC#78357 IRCHA#3269
AlignT-Rex 450 SE V3 2221-8/ Align T-Rex 600N,OS55HZ /
Align T-Rex 600E 12S A123's / Align T-Rex 700N YS91SR/
Bergen Intrepid EB Zenoha 260/
terrybeb is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 11:20 AM   #6
Burg
Registered Users
 
Posts: 242
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Default

I've downloaded both versions and both of them start up and as soon as I see the flying field it shuts itself down?!?
Burg is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 12:28 PM   #7
jaywhy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,159
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Default

Just tried it for a little bit with Realflight/Interlink controller and it looks/feels pretty good so far! Thanks!
jaywhy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 07:58 PM   #8
racin06
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Westfield, IN
Default

My heli just sits there...no motor/engine running, no blades rotating...no nothing. I've calibrated my controller and assigned the correct axes. Heli-X sees my controller inputs just fine, but still no movement from the heli. I've also assigned a key to IdleUp1. Any solutions to my problem?
racin06 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 11:51 AM   #9
Roadbiker3
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wellington, CO
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burg View Post
I've downloaded both versions and both of them start up and as soon as I see the flying field it shuts itself down?!?

Same thing here? Downloaded both, and get the same result I am running vista not sure if that is what is messing it up or not.
Roadbiker3 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 01:09 PM   #10
kaan.gok
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Istanbul,TR
Default

Happened to me until I assigned keys f1 and f2 to idle up 1 and idle up 2. Normal mode does not start the rotor, idle up modes work fine. Maybe it's by design. Pretty good sim btw. Thanks
kaan.gok is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 04:00 PM   #11
jaywhy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,159
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Default

Very good sim if you consider the competition and prices! Hard to beat free.
jaywhy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 06:49 PM   #12
racin06
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Westfield, IN
Default

I'm not about to give up my Phoenix RC; however, I will say that Heli-X is light years ahead of FMS and Clearview regarding flight characteristics. It's pretty good and I am looking forward to future tweaks to this nice free sim.
racin06 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 06:55 AM   #13
serendpt
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaan.gok View Post
Happened to me until I assigned keys f1 and f2 to idle up 1 and idle up 2. Normal mode does not start the rotor, idle up modes work fine. Maybe it's by design. Pretty good sim btw. Thanks
Yeah, it's in the readme file, you have to assign idle-up1 to a button or a key.

4. You HAVE to assign Idle-Up1 to a switch or a key. Otherwise the engine will
not start.
serendpt is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2008, 05:51 PM   #14
x RayoVac x
Registered Users
 
Posts: 120
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bremen, Indiana
Default

I tried this with a USB game controller, it was not recognized. I don't have an RC controller yet as I am just starting into the hobby. Should it work with a USB gaming controller? The controller is recognized by windows and works with other Sims.

Thanks,

Rayo
x RayoVac x is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 01:23 PM   #15
bassplayinDude
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Default

You may need to select it. If you're getting a "No Controller Found" message on startup then that could be a bigger issue.

To the people who made this sim, thank you very much. It's taught me that I am not ready to fly a CCPM heli in real life yet. Of course that didn't stop me from trying or anything because I thought my bird would behave differently. How wrong I was...
bassplayinDude is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2008, 10:37 PM   #16
x RayoVac x
Registered Users
 
Posts: 120
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bremen, Indiana
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bassplayinDude View Post
You may need to select it. If you're getting a "No Controller Found" message on startup then that could be a bigger issue.

To the people who made this sim, thank you very much. It's taught me that I am not ready to fly a CCPM heli in real life yet. Of course that didn't stop me from trying or anything because I thought my bird would behave differently. How wrong I was...
Yes I am getting the No Controller Found message. Its O.K., for now HeliSimRC is working fine. I hope to make a decision on a TX soon so that I can get away form bad habits I am sure I am forming with the Game Controller.
x RayoVac x is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 12:32 PM   #17
bigairhonda
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Default

When I open the sim there is only a black screen displaying??? Do I have to load in one of the scenes????I cannot get this SIM to work at all It's only a black screen. NEED HELP ASAP.

Last edited by bigairhonda; 02-10-2008 at 07:04 PM..
bigairhonda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2008, 12:31 PM   #18
bgagnon
Registered Users
 
Posts: 121
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec City
Default

COOOOL!!!

I will also download the tool to generate sceneries and give it a try. I will report back

Thanks Tombo,
__________________
Bruno
Mini Titan E325, Stock, 2100T Gyro Combo
No! No! it's not how it looks, My flying gets better
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
bgagnon is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 05:22 AM   #19
n3m1s1s
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: bucks U,K
Thumbs up

thanx

Last edited by n3m1s1s; 02-22-2008 at 05:54 AM.. Reason: thought it was helisimrc not heli-x
n3m1s1s is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 12:43 PM   #20
worldofmaya
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,862
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Graz, Austria
Default

Hi all!
The main problems with Heli-X are bad graphics card driver. You need a working OpenGL driver. Most of time there are problem with ATI drivers. Check their Omega drivers for your ATI cards. If there's a problem with Nvidia card, try an older driver.
You can use nearly every input device which identifies to windows as joystick. Interfaces from Realflight, Reflex and others should work too.
Check permission settings if you're running Heli-X under Linux. Sometimes there are troubles because of permission...
Creating models for Heli-X is pretty easy. Much easier than Realflight or others... check the developer section for a creation guide.
Updated and new models are available via link in the download section. Have a look at it, it's really worth a try!
Hope that helps,
klaus
worldofmaya is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > HELI-X Flight Sim


HELI-X Flight Sim HELI-X Flight Sim for Mac, Windows, Linux

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com