Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > E-Sky Helicopters > Belt CP


Belt CP E-Sky Belt CP


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-04-2008, 06:45 AM   #1
psilo
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,574
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, UK
Default Belt CP Setup - Content from tutelar3

A heli with proper linkage setup will have:

* no binding during movement
* a linear, mirrored response from the controls over the entire positive to negative pitch range
* zero pitch at mid-stick, and the equal positive and negative pitch
* blades that track well in the full +ve and -ve range


Part 1 - Prepare to set up the linkages:


1. unplug the motor
2. power on the transmitter and heli
3. align both Paddle Control Arms horizontal on the flybar, and the paddles horizontal to the Paddle Control Arms
4. ensure your trasmitter program pitch curve is programmed for zero pitch at center and is linear both positive and negative (usually one of your Stunt modes)(0, 25, 50, 75, 100)
5. move the throttle (left stick) to the center (mid-stick) position, where zero pitch will be set



Part 2 - Set Up the linkages:


1. remove the servo arm and rotate around each spline to set the servo arm as close to 90 degrees as possible; put the screw back in the servo arm
2. use [SUB TRIM] to get the arm exactly 90 degrees
3. adjust the linkage between the servo arm and the control horn to make the control arm parallel to the servo arm
4. complete this step for all 3 servos
5. adjust the 3 linkages to the swash to ensure the swash is level
6. adjust the linkage to each Bell Mixing Arm to make it horizontal
7. if your pitch is not zero, adjust all 3 links to the swash to raise or lower it until you have zero pitch (and the same positive and negative pitch in each direction)





Part 3 - Blade Tracking tip:

With wood blades, tracking can be difficult due to shape tolerance, distortion of the plastic holder, structural clearance, etc. To make tracking easier to accomplish:


1. make an ajustable Bell Mixer Pushrod link (blade to mixing arm); leave one side with the fixed-length linkage
2. setup zero pitch using the fixed-length linkage (see part 2)
3. use the variable-length link to adjust the blade for tracking
4. if you still seem to need a 1/2 turn, adjust the Swashplate to Bell Mixing Arm linkage; do not adjust it more than 1/2 a turn



Part 4 - Signs of a good setup:


1. throttle at mid-stick with zero pitch
2. Swash Plate is level
3. Main blade Clamp is horizontal (Pitch is zero)
4. Paddle Control Arms are horizontal
5. Bell Mixer Arm is horizontal



Thank you tutelar3 for sharing your info!!
__________________
T-Rex 500 µBeast, 450 Pro (soon to be µBeast) & a Compass 6HV
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

And a P51D plank......SSssssshhhhhhh!
BMFA & RCHA Member
[B][COLOR="Blue"]

Last edited by WillJames; 05-12-2009 at 10:17 AM.. Reason: sticking
psilo is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2008, 06:06 PM   #2
CodeB4U
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

Wow, i needed this when i first go my Belt. Awesome tips and photo's.

Edit: Just wondering, when i center my servo horns... Ok i have the TX on, have all trims centered, Do i want it in Normal mode or 3D mode? Also, do i want the throttle stick at it's lowest point or in the middle?

Edit: Never mind, i read a little more carefully. So it should be in stunt 3D mode, and set at mid - 0 pitch

Last edited by CodeB4U; 04-05-2008 at 01:20 AM..
CodeB4U is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 04:27 AM   #3
wibble
Registered Users
 
Posts: 158
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tahiti
Default

I ask myself that same question every time I set the head. That "switch" is soooo scary
wibble is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 10:22 PM   #4
merlin703
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,199
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Default

This is really good. What about the tail? I tried downloading the pictures to enlarge it and make it more visible but didn't work
__________________
JR X9303 TREX 500, TREX450, Joker 3 (almost ready),Typhoon3D, EZ* FPV, Stryker (Acromaster and EZG still in box)
merlin703 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 07:21 AM   #5
DierWolf
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,524
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Maarten Caribbean
Default

Tail setup is trial and error, keep radio trim centered and move the servo up and down the boom until it holds, tighten down the servo there.

Naturally if your using stock rate Gyro as your battery runs down you will lose hold on the tail, so when setting the tail try to do it with fresh batteries.

I have found the servo should be about 5-6mm from touching the boom block, put it there as a starting point.
__________________
Esky Esmart 600
EXI-450 with Scorpion Motor
Esky Belt CP with Direct to Swash Mod & Trex V2 Head/tail
Esky Belt CP with DTS Mod and full esky cnc head/tail
Esky Belt CP w/Airwolf Fuse (Sold) / Esky Lama V4 Full modifications.
Art-Tech Wasp V3 Heli & Art-Tech P-51D w/brushless motor.
DierWolf is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 03:29 PM   #6
TD1
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I need some help setting up my Belt cp on my JR 3810, I am using the receiver that comes with the heli, and just replaced the freequency.

But the ailerons and elevator seam to be crossed, I have swoped them around but I still get the same effect, and my radio is mode 1.
TD1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 08:50 PM   #7
Hix
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TD1 View Post
I need some help setting up my Belt cp on my JR 3810, I am using the receiver that comes with the heli, and just replaced the freequency.

But the ailerons and elevator seam to be crossed, I have swoped them around but I still get the same effect, and my radio is mode 1.
Go into the system menu and make sure the swash program is 3S 120deg....
Hix is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 08:01 PM   #8
helibubba
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2008
Default not enough pitch range?

Hey guys. I'm pretty new at this and trying to figure out if my Belt CP is set up right. It seems sluggish (requires a lot of control input) and drops when I do give it input. I noticed that it flies better just as the battery is running out and I have the throttle on max to hover. Also, it seems to do better when I turn the dial on the left of the controller all the way up.

I have it basically set up as shown on the first post, except for the adjustable Bell Mixer Pushrod link. I do have it at zero pitch at mid-stick.

I am noticing that it doesn't have as much pitch range as seems to be indicated in some threads and videos. My understanding is that it should max at +10 or +11 degrees. In idle-up mode the range is -7 to +8 degrees. In normal mode it's -2 to +6 degrees. Is this a problem? If so, how can I increase the pitch range?

I've heard it said that if I created two adjustable Bell Mixer Pushrod links and increased the length of them both equally, this would increase the pitch range. My understanding it that this is how it works on the Honey Bee King II. Is this correct and if so, where can I get the parts to make these linkages? Right now I have the EK10548 Servo Linkage Rod set and all of the rods are too long. Could I use the adjustable Bell Mixer Pushrod links from the Honeybee (EK1-0290 Push link set)?

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks
helibubba is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 11:02 PM   #9
rcaddik
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Question swashplate height

hi to all pilots here

i have a question, i think thats everyones in mind. can i asked what is the default height between the swash plate and correct me if im wrong main frame of the belt cp? i dont know how you call it, sorry but im hopping for a good reply thanks to all more power.
rcaddik is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:53 AM   #10
DierWolf
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,524
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Maarten Caribbean
Default

Height is determined automatically.

Please goto the finless vids in the main forum and watch his CCMP setup video.

In short, you need to set up your Heli in 3d Mode with throttle stick at 50%. at that point the Swashout arms are supposed to be flat and even with eachother, and when that is correct your swash will be at the correct height.

So in other words, your links to the swash will be adjusted to a length that brings the washout arms flat and level with eachother in Idle up mode (3d mode) while throttle stick is at midstick.

hope that explains it.

Look at the First picture in this thread, the Part just above the swashplate is the Washout Arms, notice how they are flat? thats what you need to get and then your swash will be correct height.
__________________
Esky Esmart 600
EXI-450 with Scorpion Motor
Esky Belt CP with Direct to Swash Mod & Trex V2 Head/tail
Esky Belt CP with DTS Mod and full esky cnc head/tail
Esky Belt CP w/Airwolf Fuse (Sold) / Esky Lama V4 Full modifications.
Art-Tech Wasp V3 Heli & Art-Tech P-51D w/brushless motor.
DierWolf is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 10:12 PM   #11
rcaddik
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Default

thanks dierwolf for help i will do what youve said
rcaddik is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 12:32 PM   #12
edhayd
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Default

I am new at this could someone explain to me where the sub trim is located? Thanks Ed
edhayd is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 01:28 PM   #13
DierWolf
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,524
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Maarten Caribbean
Default

There is no Subtrim on the Stock radio, thats for Computer Radio's all you have is regular Trim (slider adjustments next to each stick)
__________________
Esky Esmart 600
EXI-450 with Scorpion Motor
Esky Belt CP with Direct to Swash Mod & Trex V2 Head/tail
Esky Belt CP with DTS Mod and full esky cnc head/tail
Esky Belt CP w/Airwolf Fuse (Sold) / Esky Lama V4 Full modifications.
Art-Tech Wasp V3 Heli & Art-Tech P-51D w/brushless motor.
DierWolf is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 02:11 PM   #14
Gi11i5ui7
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Are the instructions for this setup for all transmitters or just for ones not using the Stock Esky Tx that came with their RTF package? If they are for the others, can someone provide similar info for the users with only a Stock Tx?

Thanks
Gi11i5ui7 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 03:46 PM   #15
Heli Yea!
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,465
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

This is the setup for any Tx(transmitter)
__________________
-Heli Yea!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Master of: the living room, stockTx, mechanical setup and, the obvious!
Belt'ish CP FBL, HDX 500 DFC, New V120D02S FBL, Mini CP FBL, Hirobo Shuttle ZX, 450 DFC, QR-X350PRO FPV, 450 FPV(in progress) DEVO 10 white 2km range!

Last edited by Heli Yea!; 07-09-2008 at 01:03 AM..
Heli Yea! is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:24 PM   #16
disney1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 16
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando, Florida USA
Default

Afternoon Everone:
For all of us that like to fly nice wood blades and our budgets and flying skills will won't let us fly CF blades.
I got a set of inexpensive wood blades for the Belt from US Hobby Supply.
They were only $8, and that is a good price as compaired to $10 to $12 for brand name blades, I flew them today, They were almost perfectly blalnced out of the package and tracked out nicely, and I am a stickler for tracking and balance.
They flew great.
Not a problem with them, Just the Pilot.
Give them a try.

Keep Her Flying
R N Sr
disney1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 03:30 AM   #17
Boddan
Registered Users
 
Posts: 493
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kungsbacka, Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disney1 View Post
Afternoon Everone:
For all of us that like to fly nice wood blades and our budgets and flying skills will won't let us fly CF blades.
I got a set of inexpensive wood blades for the Belt from US Hobby Supply.
They were only $8, and that is a good price as compaired to $10 to $12 for brand name blades, I flew them today, They were almost perfectly blalnced out of the package and tracked out nicely, and I am a stickler for tracking and balance.
They flew great.
Not a problem with them, Just the Pilot.
Give them a try.

Keep Her Flying
R N Sr
Sounds great mr. Disney

Please report back when you have flewn a few more times since my experience (quite limited but still) is that inexpensive blades can often last shorter. If they last - then I know where to buy my next blades
__________________
Boddan
"If at first you don't succeed - Try again and again and again..."

Belt CP (CRASHED): TP SG-90's, control arm mod, T-Rex 450 main shaft, EK1-0704a
T-Rex 500 CF: 5245 on cyclic, JR G770 3D gyro w. 3500G, DX7
Boddan is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 06:46 PM   #18
cpc7084
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Malaysia
Default

Hi,

I able to hover my Belt CP but I never try on my idle switch untill today ..and.. I did try it just now. this are the steps & what I found out:

1) Turned idle to up mode.
2) Turned On the transmitter.
3) Plugged in the heli batery ..and.. heard "bibi... bibi... bibi..."
4) Throttled up, throttle up, throttle up until full stick ...BUT...
5) Not things happen, the main rotor was NOT moving.

I wonder why? Is it some things not right with my Belt CP?
The "bibi..." sound shown that the heli was in break mode, is it where idle up mode should be?

Sorry to ask a lot because I'm a new flying alone pilot.

Thanks

Regards
CPC
cpc7084 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2008, 07:04 PM   #19
another_finn
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,419
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Finland
Default

You just had a lucky escape. In idle up, you have constant high throttle so the ESC went into programming mode. If it had armed, you would have stripped a main gear and possibly worse if the helicopter would have taken off. Never flick the switch until you're already up in a hover or around mid-stick and running light on the skids on the ground.

When you go to idle up to set your pitch, the very first step before you turn anything on is to disconnect the motor.
__________________
Mika
T-Rex 600NP, T-Rex 500 ESP, HDX500 SE V2, HDX450 SE V3, T-Rex/Outrage SE V2, EXI450, T-Rex 250, CopterX/Guru-Z hybrid, HBFP separates, Lama V4, 2 x Walkera 4#3B
another_finn is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 06:37 AM   #20
cpc7084
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Malaysia
Default

Thanks Mika.

Wa!Ha! what a big big shock!

Such important safety issue should have in the user manual, especialy for those beginners like me. Seeing that I have to find one experinced pilot to fly with me.

Thanks again.
cpc7084 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > E-Sky Helicopters > Belt CP


Belt CP E-Sky Belt CP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com