Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > E-Sky Helicopters > Belt CP


Belt CP E-Sky Belt CP


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2014, 11:24 AM   #9041
sutty
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

I thought I'd heard that, but still not clear on how it does it. Sounds very cool. So how the hell do they make a full featured radio, any protocol, 2km range, looks the business, hear good things about them, and all for 150 bucks? Amazing.

Oh well congratulations on your treat, and of course on your birthday.
__________________
Regards, Sutty
BeltEXI, mCX, mSR, 4G3, FBL Trex250SE B, FBL Trex450Pro B,
FBL Trex550e VX1, FBL Trex600ESP B, Parkzone P51D
sutty is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 12:40 PM   #9042
Heli Yea!
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,531
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

To use any protocol you must use the Deviation firmware. It is not Walkera affiliated it is basicly a hack. The FW is free and has been offically released not beta testing. For the last 5 yrs or so Walkera has put all of their eggs towards FPV, GPS, quads, and TX development. They basicly took the best JR, Futaba, and Spektrum features and packed them into 1 TX. The Devo 10 is LCD but the 8s & 12s are full color touch screens but a bit pricier. YEP VERY good radios on the cheap.
__________________
-Heli Yea!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Master of: the living room, stockTx, mechanical setup and, the obvious!
Belt'ish CP MG90's,704A/S3114,CX head,HDX3550/Align 35G/HDX 500 SAH:-) HS-82MG's,G401B/BMS-631MG,HDX850/Align 60G,6s lipo /Hirobo Shuttle ZX .30 /Walkera 4#3B/Falcon40/Lama V3 DX6iThank you kind gents! :-)
Heli Yea! is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 02:15 PM   #9043
copterboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,695
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

@Cyprus Dave..Cheers for tip about the cat5 cable. Will just be careful not to kink it

For now, I just decided I will order a new servo and work on this busted one later. Following Sutty's advice to get back in the air quicker, and save for what I want. Maybe I'll get the Hi-Tec programmer/tester at some point later. Wasn't totally sure I was going to stay with HT servo's long term anyway.

Was thinking about a servo upgrade when I convert to FBL (maybe one with metal case!). Seem to have had nothing but trouble with the servo's since I moved to the PRO frame. Think I've busted 2 servo's in each crash, for the last 3 crashes. So maybe when I pull the align one's off I should offer them up here, or ebay them off to raise funds for the FBL conversion. I will stick with the Hi-tec's for the foreseeable, but I always wanted these for the FBL future....kerching though!!

http://www.fast-lad.co.uk/store/comb...o-p-13457.html

Hoping they won't break as much, therefore will save on re-build time. Have also read advice about good servo installation, so will check for screw hole alignment etc when the Hi-Tec's go back in.

Remembered another reason why I didn't stock up on shafts etc. I've now ordered some new tail output shafts with my servo, but I'm not getting any main shafts or feathering shafts. When I do convert to FBL, I could be using a different main and feathering shaft, so there's no point investing in spares I probably won't need. My plan is, just get back in the air asap, get a few flights in, take it easy, convert to FBL as soon as I can afterwards. Back to the waiting game for now

After I realised I killed the servo, I did strip some of the AWG10 wire and managed to tin it with the 4mm flat tip that I got with the new soldering iron station. Got the 6mm tip in reserve, plus I treated my dad's soldering iron to new tip also. So, I now have two soldering irons at my disposal, should I need to boost the heat when doing the connections to the PSU with the thick wire Oh, I forgot to mention I treated myself to one of those workbench clamp and magnifying glass things too. Even when I use pliars with a rubber band on, and weight them down, they still manage to slip around the workbench somehow, so this will also make life alot easier at the soldering stand -completing outstanding current projects, and future plans
__________________
COPTERBOY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DX6i, mSR (SOLD), BeltCP (SOLD), mCPx w solid boom and Rakon Heli Head

T-Rex450V2 w.PRO head, Scorp-8 & 45A V2 ESC, CSM4200/S9257, 3xHS65MG
E-Flite CX2 - All Microheli/Extreme CNC CF Upgrades
TRex600N, Kasama Head, OS50SX
copterboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 08:14 PM   #9044
copterboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,695
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

Cat5 cable ordered. Will have that sat there for next time I have a spare day to do the digging and drill through.

Nylon screws, washers and bolts ordered. Constuction can re-commence on the fan covers and mounting PSU's inbetween and after the 450 re-build.

Got the servo, another spare case and tail output shafts ordered.

Couldn't do anything else on the 450, so I got stuck into the charging station. Just to re-familiarise myself with the plans, and also to get some soldering practice in!! Wasted about 4 connectors getting the procedure right. But got it down to a T, so the rest should go smoothly.

First job was to make the AC power cables that run to each PSU, and a positive connector cable for the back of the main switch. Very fiddly work indeed!! Next is to make the extra cable to go from the switch that turns on the 2nd PSU to give the power boost from 12v to 24v. Will make that tomorrow, and then run some tests on the switches and wiring before I start to fix things down later this week.

After reviewing the plans, I think I will simplify the DC output arrangements until I have the funds for the new charger. For now, I can just leave it with a 12V output to the banana connectors, and I'll mod it to add in the 24V output later. So a re-build seems inevitable when the new charger or chargers are added. Initially, I set out avoid this, but hey, you can't have everything your own way!!

Happy with some progress at least
__________________
COPTERBOY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DX6i, mSR (SOLD), BeltCP (SOLD), mCPx w solid boom and Rakon Heli Head

T-Rex450V2 w.PRO head, Scorp-8 & 45A V2 ESC, CSM4200/S9257, 3xHS65MG
E-Flite CX2 - All Microheli/Extreme CNC CF Upgrades
TRex600N, Kasama Head, OS50SX
copterboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2014, 11:14 PM   #9045
Heli Yea!
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,531
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

Good deal Den. Now about the 450. You could get the same head as me $10 Micro Beast V2 clone $50. You would use the same shafts cause the main head is the one you already have. The conversion is simple and FBL is really fun to fly.

Have a look this is the 3D-H V2 it is a perfect clone and works great I have one on the Belt and one coming for my 500 now too!

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...e_Support.html


Here is the 450 FBL conversion kit

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...450_HK450.html


I can help you if you run into any issues with either or. Also the Beast X forum is exactly the same info.as the 3D-H V2 Infact HK's "updated" manual for it IS LITERALLY the Micro Beast V2 manual which is all the correct info. Sutty will vouch for the MB and this is the same shit different factory and 1/4 the price Ill vouch for it. You wont be disapointed and if you are I'll pay you full price for it.
__________________
-Heli Yea!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Master of: the living room, stockTx, mechanical setup and, the obvious!
Belt'ish CP MG90's,704A/S3114,CX head,HDX3550/Align 35G/HDX 500 SAH:-) HS-82MG's,G401B/BMS-631MG,HDX850/Align 60G,6s lipo /Hirobo Shuttle ZX .30 /Walkera 4#3B/Falcon40/Lama V3 DX6iThank you kind gents! :-)
Heli Yea! is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:29 AM   #9046
copterboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,695
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

Cheers for the heads up Chad

I maybe inline for a 2nd hand deal on a MB, but if it's no longer available (because it got put on a belt-cp for a FBL test ) the HK clone could be my second choice then. The head I could definately go for, but I was leaning towards a DFC type head, as I prefer the lower profile look. Maybe I'll do some more research on it later, see if there is a DFC clone

For now I've spent enough, and need to spend on other things and keep a little for any emegency bits that can crop up. I'll give myself a break on spending for a couple of weeks now, whilst I catch up on current projects and work to build up some more excess cash.

Once I get the 450 and charging station finished then I'll look at it again and as always check with you guys first
__________________
COPTERBOY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DX6i, mSR (SOLD), BeltCP (SOLD), mCPx w solid boom and Rakon Heli Head

T-Rex450V2 w.PRO head, Scorp-8 & 45A V2 ESC, CSM4200/S9257, 3xHS65MG
E-Flite CX2 - All Microheli/Extreme CNC CF Upgrades
TRex600N, Kasama Head, OS50SX
copterboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:38 AM   #9047
Heli Yea!
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,531
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

Yep they have those for $20-30 Im puttin a dcf on my 500.
__________________
-Heli Yea!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Master of: the living room, stockTx, mechanical setup and, the obvious!
Belt'ish CP MG90's,704A/S3114,CX head,HDX3550/Align 35G/HDX 500 SAH:-) HS-82MG's,G401B/BMS-631MG,HDX850/Align 60G,6s lipo /Hirobo Shuttle ZX .30 /Walkera 4#3B/Falcon40/Lama V3 DX6iThank you kind gents! :-)
Heli Yea! is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:44 AM   #9048
CyprusDave
Registered Users
 
Posts: 904
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangor, N. Ireland
Default

There is also this one, and it's in the UK warehouse (8 left)
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=54653

I have the one Chad linked to, it's fine, but saw this other one while looking for something else, and of course bought one. Assembled it but not actually fitted yet, but much nicer Not DFC, but lower profile. Pretty sure HK do DFC clones for 500 and 600, but not sure about for 450.

EDIT: Well, yes there is, just checked:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Assembly.html
__________________
Belt CP: stock frame, motor, ESC (with UBEC) and boom - all else upgraded! Mini Titan: kit w/ AH-1W Cobra conversion, custom painted. EXI 450: kit with various electrics. HK500-GT: w/ scale AS350 fuselage. Walkera 5G6: custom sport tail. Blade mSR
CyprusDave is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:19 AM   #9049
sutty
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,599
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

Yep, so much of a clone I don't know how they can even forshame. Actually it makes me think that there must be an actual licensing deal in place, or no matter where they base themselves they would get their arses sued off. If no deal in place then it's a crying shame!
__________________
Regards, Sutty
BeltEXI, mCX, mSR, 4G3, FBL Trex250SE B, FBL Trex450Pro B,
FBL Trex550e VX1, FBL Trex600ESP B, Parkzone P51D
sutty is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:46 AM   #9050
Heli Yea!
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,531
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Default

Good point. The MB V3 comes out and next 3DH V2... Hmmmm seems like factory extras of the MB V2. This way they can sell a bunch of "old" units while having only the latest MB version for sale a the standrd retail cost. Take note BeastX no longer sells the V2, only the V3.
__________________
-Heli Yea!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Master of: the living room, stockTx, mechanical setup and, the obvious!
Belt'ish CP MG90's,704A/S3114,CX head,HDX3550/Align 35G/HDX 500 SAH:-) HS-82MG's,G401B/BMS-631MG,HDX850/Align 60G,6s lipo /Hirobo Shuttle ZX .30 /Walkera 4#3B/Falcon40/Lama V3 DX6iThank you kind gents! :-)
Heli Yea! is offline        Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:07 PM   #9051
copterboy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,695
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Manchester, England
Default

Thanks again Dave and Chad, thats the head I saw people using on the 450PRO forum, so maybe that head and the 2ndHand MB, or the 3DH V2. I'm sooooo tempted, but my trigger finger is still aching from last night, and I need to hold out to keep an emergency fund!! Plus buy more gas for home and pay my phone bill, so I must resist For now

Had some news on the van claim today, and it should payout. As suspected, if they book it in for a wheel alignment test, they would simply class it a total loss and payout. Have the option to buy back and scrap or repair it, but then I'm without a van, or back to square one. So I'm thinking, get a lesser run around to release some capital, see how the next 12 months go with new employer and then either we buy a new van (paid for by the company) or I leave and sell up. Good get out plan if I need it, and still got the commercial avenue to explore if I must. The last week has been hectic, but my organisation has impressed him so I think he's starting to trust me. This job's well on track, even after another bad start once I landed back on it. Old habits (as Jerry warned) will die hard, but I think he is starting to listen!! Last few days have been better. For now, the work is coming in, and we just got another contract, so it has got potential to get better and better if we can iron out the teething problems.

Not sure what to do tonight, been questioning if the wires I made are substantial enough. Hoping my maths are ok on this!! The AC flexi wire I had leftover from a job at work is only 1.0mm2, I think rated 10A/240VAC. Therefore, would equate to 10x240=2400W. Now if I had 2 PL6's at 1000W each, that would be 2000W maximum load on the system, but including the 10% losses from the PSU's, I would be running almost on the max load of the wires, and could get over heating problems, as I start to get close to maximum load. I can certainly live with it for now, whilst still on 3S setup. The thought of re-doing it is less daunting after last weekends soldering acquisition's . So, as a precaution, I will plan to swap them to 16A/240VAC flexi wire when I add the 24V output.

Least I can do a bit more, whilst I wait for the servo Didn't get dispatched today, so won't be here till Friday earliest. Own fault for doing a manual payment to qualify for the 3% discount!!
__________________
COPTERBOY
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DX6i, mSR (SOLD), BeltCP (SOLD), mCPx w solid boom and Rakon Heli Head

T-Rex450V2 w.PRO head, Scorp-8 & 45A V2 ESC, CSM4200/S9257, 3xHS65MG
E-Flite CX2 - All Microheli/Extreme CNC CF Upgrades
TRex600N, Kasama Head, OS50SX
copterboy is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > E-Sky Helicopters > Belt CP


Belt CP E-Sky Belt CP

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com