Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Eagle Tree Systems


Eagle Tree Systems Onboard data loggers, telemetry, and OSD support


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2008, 07:26 PM   #1
Dynamic
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kelowna
Default Eagle tree on a linux system...working

I've had my eagle tree for a while and was dissapointed that I couldn't get it or my castle link to work on my linux laptop. I still had a windows desktop (for G4 flight sim) and I could use it but I couldn't use my lappy for flight data or programming at the feild.

Well I got fed up and put my mind toward making it work. As all the API's are windows based and emulators such as cedega and wine do not have usb support I wasn't having much success.

As a last ditch effort I installed innotek's virtualbox. (its kinda like vmware but free). through a copy of XP into it. Enabled USB support (not enabled by default) and now I can work on my heli at the feild without having to change my base OS to windows.

Pretty happy to have the functionality of logging and programming that I can bring to the feild. The driveway test flights were getting kinda sketchy.

Just thought I would make a post in case any other linux users needed a confirmed working way to do this as I had not previously seen any.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Eagletree.in.linux.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	45647  
__________________
-=<Codename: Kratos>=-: Logo 600 3D V-bar 1910/1/Y 4270 Evo Lite V-blade mains and tails
Mikado: Lighter Stronger Faster
Dynamic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2008, 08:52 PM   #2
xptical
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,003
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Robins AFB, Georgia
Default

VMWare is cheating.
__________________
She felt like someone of an ambiguous age that even neilg would approve of...
xptical is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 01:18 AM   #3
Dynamic
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kelowna
Default

If they would open source the API's then I'd have a better chance of doing it without "cheating"
__________________
-=<Codename: Kratos>=-: Logo 600 3D V-bar 1910/1/Y 4270 Evo Lite V-blade mains and tails
Mikado: Lighter Stronger Faster
Dynamic is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 05:26 AM   #4
PaulH
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Default

Similar is true of the Mac: You can use VMWare Fusion, Parallels, or VirtualBox for things like the CastleLink or EagleTree. All of those products will pass USB through to the virtual machine.

Use XP in the VM and not Vista! The hard drive image for XP is around 6GB where Vista is double that and a lot slower.
__________________
Paul

Blade mCX
Trex 450XL HDE / Astro 803T / CC35
Bergen Intrepid Gasser x 2
PaulH is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Eagle Tree Systems


Eagle Tree Systems Onboard data loggers, telemetry, and OSD support

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com