Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 10:03 AM   #1
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default Spektrum AR7100R Overview and Setup

OK I just had to do some video on the new Spektrum AR7100R that I got for the T700 and the Aurora. Big thanks to Spektrum for sending me these for the vids!

This product just rocks! I cannot say enough about it. Spektrum just keeps kicking out great technology for our hobby and this one is top notch!

Anyway here some vids I shot to help people understand what it is about, how it works, and how to setup.

Video Link ->Overview of the 7100R (34 Megs)

Video Link ->Connections of the 7100R (46 Megs)

Video Link ->How to calibrate the Rev Limiter (41 Megs)

Video Link ->How to use the Rev Limiter and your Radio (72 Megs)

Enjoy!
Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:42 AM   #2
Super D
Registered Users
 
Posts: 318
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Chandler, AZ
Default

Sweet Thanks Bob!!!
__________________
Fly it like you stole it!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Super D is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 10:48 AM   #3
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,753
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Can you still run a full governor? I haven't watched the videos yet (I'll do that at home), so I don't know if that subject is covered, but I see from the Spektrum website that the 7000R uses a backplate sensor, so I would presume you could run both, with the rev limiter set higher than the governor.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:15 AM   #4
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBum View Post
Can you still run a full governor? I haven't watched the videos yet (I'll do that at home), so I don't know if that subject is covered, but I see from the Spektrum website that the 7000R uses a backplate sensor, so I would presume you could run both, with the rev limiter set higher than the governor.
There would be no need to do that! Set your idle up curve to 100% flat and the rev limiter will always be on and working more like a gov! It works GREAT this way.
Make sure you set up a normal curve so should the sensor fail you can switch into normal and land or just hold and auto in.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:32 AM   #5
mlucia
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vermont
Default

Good stuff Bob.

Quote:
"2150 for me on a 90 is a little scary. I gotta tell ya."
...lol

Yes, yes indeed.
__________________
http://madcow-productions.com/mluciaheli
mlucia is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 11:49 AM   #6
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,753
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
There would be no need to do that! Set your idle up curve to 100% flat and the rev limiter will always be on and working more like a gov! It works GREAT this way.
Make sure you set up a normal curve so should the sensor fail you can switch into normal and land or just hold and auto in.
I thought one of the advantages of a full governor is that you could have a reasonable throttle curve to back up the governor in case the sensor failed. It seems to me you could overspeed the engine and possibly damage it if the sensor failed and you weren't quick enough to recognize it and switch to Normal.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:29 PM   #7
huskynox
Registered Users
 
Posts: 915
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Great Vid Bob, thanks!

Question - if your maximum head speed you wanted was 2150 @ 71%, why wouldn't you set you throttle curve in ST1 & ST2 to a flat 71%? Or even say 75%. Wouldn't this be a safety feature if the sensor does fail...?

Would doing this limit your throttle to 71% or 75% in a full pitch climbout? Or does the governor see the original 100% full throttle calibration?

Thanks again.
__________________
500CF - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Stock ESC, Stock Motor, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
PROTOS - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Scorpion 3026-880, ICE Lite 100, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
600E - 8717's, 8900G, Spartan, Scorpion 4025-890, CC HV85, TP Pro Power 8s 3850mAh
Kasama Srimok - 8717HV's, 8900G, AR7100R, Spartan, YS 91SR, Hatori SB19
huskynox is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:30 PM   #8
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBum View Post
I thought one of the advantages of a full governor is that you could have a reasonable throttle curve to back up the governor in case the sensor failed. It seems to me you could overspeed the engine and possibly damage it if the sensor failed and you weren't quick enough to recognize it and switch to Normal.
While that is an argument there are a lot of other things that can happen that can over speed the engine. Remember on a gov you read magnets on the fan. Suppose the motor starts slipping on the fan? It will over speed even with curves. Or your clutch could fail and curves or not your going to over speed. This is why every pilot needs to have trained themselves (Nitro or Electric) to be ready to hit hold at the first sign of a problem.

Also I have had rev limiters and the sensor fail (magnet departed) and because you have a load on the engine it is not a GIANT instant jump in RPM. You have plenty of time to hit hold or go into normal mode. Again while many think that having a backup curve is SAFE it is not always 100%. I am not arguing that it is not a good idea only that I am not worrying about it.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:46 PM   #9
TheBum
HF Support
 
Posts: 32,753
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: McKinney, TX, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Universe
Default

Please bear with me, Bob. I'm still a newbie at this nitro stuff and there's a lot of misinformation I have to sort through.
__________________
Alan (just call me "Bum"; no need to be so formal)
HeliFreak Support
Compass Atom 500 (V-Bar), Compass 7HV (V-Bar), Stingray 500

Experience is something you obtain only after you need it.
I wouldn't mind social media so much if it didn't involve people.
TheBum is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 12:58 PM   #10
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huskynox View Post
Great Vid Bob, thanks!

Question - if your maximum head speed you wanted was 2150 @ 71%, why wouldn't you set you throttle curve in ST1 & ST2 to a flat 71%? Or even say 75%. Wouldn't this be a safety feature if the sensor does fail...?

Would doing this limit your throttle to 71% or 75% in a full pitch climbout? Or does the governor see the original 100% full throttle calibration?

Thanks again.
The idea of having a normal curve is to be able to switch into normal and land the heli if for instance the sensor fails. If you have a flat 71% normal curve you have no way to land except hitting hold and auto'ing in.

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 01:27 PM   #11
huskynox
Registered Users
 
Posts: 915
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Finless View Post
The idea of having a normal curve is to be able to switch into normal and land the heli if for instance the sensor fails. If you have a flat 71% normal curve you have no way to land except hitting hold and auto'ing in.

Bob
Hi Bob,

I think maybe I was misunderstood. I'm not saying running a flat curve of 71% in "normal" mode. I was saying running a flat 71% curve in "ST1" and/or "ST2".

I guess my question is, would the rev limiter still allow the throttle servo to go to 100% under a full pitch load, but still not go over 71% if the sensor fails.

Thanks
__________________
500CF - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Stock ESC, Stock Motor, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
PROTOS - 3650's, 3500G, Spartan, Scorpion 3026-880, ICE Lite 100, TP 6s Pro Power 2700mAh
600E - 8717's, 8900G, Spartan, Scorpion 4025-890, CC HV85, TP Pro Power 8s 3850mAh
Kasama Srimok - 8717HV's, 8900G, AR7100R, Spartan, YS 91SR, Hatori SB19
huskynox is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 02:25 PM   #12
Finless
Team Taco VP
 
Posts: 34,210
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Stanton, Ca. USA
Default

Per the manual.... If the throttle curve is at least 50 over the RPM limit setting then it is always on the rev limiter.... So yes you could do that for a margin of safety and instead of running 100% flat run say 80%. Good point!
I went with what the manual explained and it says:

"During initial flights, a slightly elevated throttle curve that will give a head speed of approx. 50 rpm above the target RPM is recommended. After operation is verified, some pilots use a 100% throttle curve in stunt mode and allow the Rev Limiter to fully regulate the engine RPM. Remember that flipping into normal mode and low throttle will deactivate the limiter should an issue occur."

Bob
__________________
"Don't Taco My Pack Dude!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Finless is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 04:56 PM   #13
WillJames
HF Support
 
Posts: 40,588
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Western, NC
Default

S-W-E-E-T Vids Bob.

This is the perfect RX for me, I fly the X9303!!

Yea Baby!!
__________________
William James

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

If you fly you are going to crash.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Not again!!!
WillJames is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 06:49 PM   #14
warpspeed
Team Tostada Member
 
Posts: 2,043
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CO. But I'm moving to a teepee in Montana
Default

Dangit, I need a Finless fix, but everytime I click the linky all I get is "Cannot make directory email systems adminsitrator"

Whazzat mean?
__________________
The name's Doug. I carry a gun 'cuz a cop is too heavy
warpspeed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 06:52 PM   #15
rexingtheair
Registered Users
 
Posts: 353
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A.C.T. Aust.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warpspeed View Post
Dangit, I need a Finless fix, but everytime I click the linky all I get is "Cannot make directory email systems adminsitrator"

Whazzat mean?
same here- help
__________________
TREX 600 NEU 1910H/1Y CC HV85 3X HG-D760MG V-BAR /S9254 TAIL AR7000 8S LIPO
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


TREX 450 HACKER A20-6XL QUARK 33A 3X HS65MG GY401 /S9257 AR6100 3S LIPO
DX7
rexingtheair is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 06:54 PM   #16
ShinOBIWAN
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Bob is there any chance you could do a quick video for setting the revlimit functionality on the DX7 radio?

I think that's what most people, including myself, will be using with this new receiver. I'm a bit of technical Luddite and would really appreciate any input you have.
ShinOBIWAN is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:02 PM   #17
warpspeed
Team Tostada Member
 
Posts: 2,043
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CO. But I'm moving to a teepee in Montana
Default

Nevermind, working now.

Bob, one question. What the heck is the glow plug for in this pic?

__________________
The name's Doug. I carry a gun 'cuz a cop is too heavy
warpspeed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:06 PM   #18
ShinOBIWAN
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warpspeed View Post
Bob, one question. What the heck is the glow plug for in this pic?
Its a remote glow adaptor to save taking your canopy off when starting.
ShinOBIWAN is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:08 PM   #19
warpspeed
Team Tostada Member
 
Posts: 2,043
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CO. But I'm moving to a teepee in Montana
Default

Thanks Shin!
Sorry for the hijack guys-thought it was part of the new rx setup.

Carry on....
__________________
The name's Doug. I carry a gun 'cuz a cop is too heavy
warpspeed is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2008, 07:13 PM   #20
gr8t1dini
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

You forgot to mention, If you botch an auto and flick out of hold your limiter will go full bore to get the head speed up. Your gyro won't have time to react fast enough and that could make for a very interesting recovery.
gr8t1dini is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room


Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room Finless Bob's Helifreak Tech Room - Tips and how-To Videos

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com