Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2008, 09:07 PM   #1
billbill242000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,101
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milford,OH
Default What lap top??

Just ordered a Phoenix tonight. Downloaded the demo and it won't even open on my lap top(it's an old Toshiba).
So people better with computers than me...what are my options for a lap top that will run Phoenix good while on line?? Not worried about the desk top at home it will run it!!:o
All comments/suggestions welcomed!!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 529994,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 3212
All I can say is "WOW!!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EVERYone needs a V-Bar!!

billbill242000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 09:20 PM   #2
bflores
Registered Users
 
Posts: 816
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Tx.
Default

Perhaps these might help?

What Laptop to buy for Real Flight sim?
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=70590

Phoenix runs on XP in Parallels!!!!!!
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=74322

sim not smooth ?????
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=50598

Phoenix on partable computer
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=67426

Problems with Phoenix
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=32206

Anyone running G3.5 on a dual core Intel Mac?
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=27051

What Graphics Card ?
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=88243

In short.. you have about 5 billion notebook choices and many OS options! Good luck on your venture!
__________________
BRIAN FLORES
TREX 500: FP EVO25 6S ▪ Spartan DS760 w/S9257▪ HS-5245MG ▪ CC80
TREX 450 V2: KP 3S 25C ▪ Spartan DS760 w/9257 ▪ HS-65MG ▪ CC40
TREX 250: Outrage 800 25C ▪ Spartan DS760 w/290G ▪ HS-65HB ▪ CC25
OTHER: Spektrum DX7 ▪ AR 6200 ▪ CellPro 10S
bflores is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 09:48 PM   #3
billbill242000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,101
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milford,OH
Default

Thanks for the links! i did a search for " Phoenix lap top" and got nothing!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 529994,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 3212
All I can say is "WOW!!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EVERYone needs a V-Bar!!

billbill242000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2008, 08:31 AM   #4
Pinecone
Registered Users
 
Posts: 18,336
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Maryland
Default

Maybe because most people spell it laptop, one word instead of two.
__________________
Terry
AMA#47402, IRCHA # 3395
Blade CP "Pro", Trex 450SE, PiccoZ, Quick of Japan EP8v2 EX, Hurricane 550, Hurricane 200, JR Vibe 50, Blade mCX, Bergen Intrepid Gasser, Pantera 50, Blade mSR, Novus CP
Pinecone is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 08:45 PM   #5
billbill242000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,101
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milford,OH
Default

Never said I could spell!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 529994,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 3212
All I can say is "WOW!!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EVERYone needs a V-Bar!!

billbill242000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2008, 08:55 PM   #6
bflores
Registered Users
 
Posts: 816
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Tx.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by billbill242000 View Post
Never said I could spell!
no worries mate- Did you get a notebook?
__________________
BRIAN FLORES
TREX 500: FP EVO25 6S ▪ Spartan DS760 w/S9257▪ HS-5245MG ▪ CC80
TREX 450 V2: KP 3S 25C ▪ Spartan DS760 w/9257 ▪ HS-65MG ▪ CC40
TREX 250: Outrage 800 25C ▪ Spartan DS760 w/290G ▪ HS-65HB ▪ CC25
OTHER: Spektrum DX7 ▪ AR 6200 ▪ CellPro 10S
bflores is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 03:46 PM   #7
Big Fil
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,655
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Default

I've got two laptops that I run with good results

Macbook Pro and an HP 8510p. The MacbookPro edges out the HP with all graphics options turned on but turning down the shadow detail on the HP makes it run just the same. Both have graphics cards in them. If you go shopping for a laptop i'd look for one with a seperate graphics card installed (it's still inside the laptop just not integrated onto the motherboard)
__________________
Mikado Model Helicopters
Edge Blades

Big Fil is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 07:48 AM   #8
woodmandan2
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Grosse Ile, Michigan
Default

If you get a laptop get one with at least 2gb ram, Nividia Graphics, Nvidia 8400 would be a good choice. I have a black macbook for school and a HP that i got with a 8400, 2gb ram, and a dual core 1.8 ghz proceessor that i got for 800, doesent run well on macbook w/ bootcamp but great on the hp as well as this card will run almost all new games besides Crysis...
__________________
Woodmandan2

T-Rex 450SE GF, 430X, BL35X ESC, GY401/S9257, HS-65MG, DX7/AR7000
woodmandan2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 08:28 AM   #9
Rototerrier
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,289
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA - USA
Default

I am running a HP Pavilion dv9000t which is 2 years old. It runs the app perfect at high quality and even runs it on my 50" flat panel with everything on but shadows.

Any dv9000 or dv7t series multimedia notebook will be way more than enough to run phoenix.

As nice as phoenix looks, it still doesn't hold a candle to some of the 3d shooters out there and these notebooks push those fairly well also.

I am lucky though, I get my notebooks supplied by my company and always get tip top of the line. I don't expect the average person to be dropping 3 grand on a notebook so my opinion might not be worth much on this one.

FWW, i upgraded in december and sent it back because it wasn't any faster than my old and still current notebook. They haven't gotten any faster in several years. You might want to look into used.
__________________
TREX 700 Helibug GASSER 20t | VBar Silverline | Hanson 29 3D Max
HeliX 700 | VBar Silverline | TRM275TT Coming Soon!
TREX 550 V2 DFC | µBeast | CC Ice 100 | CC BEC Pro
Rototerrier is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 06:58 PM   #10
billbill242000
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,101
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Milford,OH
Default

I ended up getting an HPI Pavillion dv6000 from a friend for $500. have Phoenix on it and it runs(with everthing at highest settings) at about 30fps. Seems to be just fine now if I can just get my settings in my trasnmitter tweaked to my liking i will be all set.
Thanks for everyones suggestions!!!
By the way it has an NVIDIA 8400M with 256MB dedicated memory
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 529994,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
# 3212
All I can say is "WOW!!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EVERYone needs a V-Bar!!

billbill242000 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com