Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect
START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2008, 01:23 PM   #1
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default Where to buy dx6i parts?

My thumb wheel broke today. I can't find any parts doing a search. The radio section of this forum seems to mimic that. Does anyone know if we can get parts anywhere?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:27 PM   #2
george0079
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Terra Firma
Default

Nope. The only part that you can buy for it is the antenna.

You're gonna need to send it in to Horrizon
__________________
If, at first, you don't succeed, then skydiving is probably a bad idea for you.
george0079 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:29 PM   #3
RMG2
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,001
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oregon, USA
Default

My trim lever (rocker) broke on my DX6i and it is a simple fix but Horizon would not sell me the part! They insisted I send the TX back to them at my expense so they could spend 1-minute doing the repair and send it back to me at my expense! I just CAed the broken lever/rocker and built CA gussets and so far holding fine.

I was told all parts and repairs must be sent to Horizon!
RMG2 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:34 PM   #4
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default

What's a gusset?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:59 PM   #5
george0079
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,610
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Terra Firma
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzee1 View Post
What's a gusset?

An added re-enforcement piece.
__________________
If, at first, you don't succeed, then skydiving is probably a bad idea for you.
george0079 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:28 PM   #6
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default

I'm thinking I'm going to cut a hex wrench and use that piece to fix it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 03:04 PM   #7
ginnz
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Default

my thumbwheel broke a couple months back also....! the dang thing is plastic! i ca'd it back together, and its been holdong up fine, im just real easy on it....

i emailed horizon about this, and asked them to just send me the whole board that the wheel is attached to, they said they couldn't. i didnt want to lose my radio for any amount of time, so ill send it in around dec. as its too cold to fly here, and ill request the throttle gimble be looked at as its kinda loose, and get a new selector wheel put in..... basically do a re-build.

im seriously considering getting a spare Dx6i, for when this stuff happens.....

heck, ill prolly get a Dx7 used, and keep my 6i as a backup.....
__________________
MSR/Trex250/3-Hoss X4E/Flasher 450/BlackHawk500SePro/Trex500CF/HossX5R/Hurri550 Scale Jet Ranger/Trex600E/Dx7!
ginnz is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 03:10 PM   #8
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default

I figure after my mod, I'll never have a problem again! (at least not with that specific part)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 08:05 PM   #9
Flying Foot Doc
Registered Users
 
Posts: 348
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Jupiter in Beautiful South Florida
Default

I had the thumbwheel break on mine too. Also had it stop sending on the aileron channel once and the rudder channel once. I've sent it back to Horizon for a second time under warranty, so I'm waiting to see what they have to say. Hopefully they'll replace it. I wonder if the DX7 has issues? Andy

Last edited by Flying Foot Doc; 10-06-2008 at 12:05 AM..
Flying Foot Doc is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 09:31 PM   #10
Pagoda
Registered Users
 
Posts: 276
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Olympia, WA
Default

I had to fix a DX7 trim button with CA. The plastic inside for this control is very flimsy.
Pagoda is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 11:11 PM   #11
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default

I tried the CA, didn't work for me. I'll post this in the forums, but here's my mod.
http://www.helifreak.com/showthread....897#post900897
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:11 AM   #12
newpoppy
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA, Indiana, Nappanee
Default Replacement part

Here is a site that sells a replacement.
http://www.eastrc.org/estorerollerbutton.htm

You can make the repair your self like I did by using a small piece of aluminum tubing that the ID is the same as the broke off part.
First drill out the roller from the other end using drill bit that is the same size as the OD of tubing. Glue the broke off plastic piece into the Alum. tube using a very small amount of CA glue being careful not to get any on the hex end that must stick out far enough to insert into the adjusting control. Then slide the tube into the drilled out roller knob making sure to leave it stick out only 6 mm to the tip of the hex end.
I made the repair and it works just fine. I did order the one made of all Aluminum that is available from the link I listed above also just for a spare incase my fix doesn't work.
newpoppy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:03 AM   #13
Nade
Registered Users
 
Posts: 45
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Southampton, Ma
Default

Thanks much newpoppy for providing the wheel link. Thought I had an isolated problem. Ordered mine as soon as I found your link. Looks like Spektrum has a design issue they need to correct.
__________________
Heli-max MD-530, Blades CP, CP+, CP Pro, CP Pro 2, Walkera HM 4F4200LM, Heli-max Blackhawk, Goblin 630, Goblin 770
Nade is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:14 AM   #14
alhuggy
Registered Users
 
Posts: 71
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: uk Wiltshire
Default

the menu select stopped working, scrolled ok, email horizon and they told me to phone the service department and I ordered a replacement wheel and board for the costly some of 4.20 delivered. should be here Tuesday. No trouble at all very helpful
__________________
Trex 450 pro FBI clone
Blade MSRX
450 v2
450 dfc dx6i
alhuggy is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:08 AM   #15
tango 9
Registered Users
 
Posts: 36
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: U.P. Mich
Default thumb roller

East RC has the thumb roller
tango 9 is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:44 AM   #16
kheinink
Registered Users
 
Posts: 614
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: phoenix/peoria AZ
Default

back when I flew fb helis my rudder trim switch broke on my dx6i, my fix was swap it with the throttle trim switch that was never used
__________________
mcx/msr/mcpx/trex 550e super combo/600esp dfc conv ama#1037612
kheinink is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 01:46 PM   #17
CompleteDestruction
Registered Users
 
Posts: 660
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arizona
Default

My LHS has fixed my dx6i in the past. The get there parts from spektrum.

They have replaced switches and adjusted the sensor things inside for me.

OP, pm me and I will give you there info if you want. I don't want to post there info, in case they are not supposed to do this.
__________________
Keep your skids up!
TEAM FLYBAR
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ProtoX, 130x, 250se, 450 Pro, 500 ESP, 600 Nitro, 450 size quad, a few planes, DX7
Sold/Traded: SR, 120SR, MCPX, trex 250se, 450 Pro belt driven tail, 500e, Raptor 30, DX6i
CompleteDestruction is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 02:56 PM   #18
rosinx
Registered Users
 
Posts: 470
 

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: CANADA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benzee1 View Post
What's a gusset?
Search it up on google images!
__________________
Nano CPX dfc~ Dx6i ~ Phoenix~
Gaui X3 - In progress
-------------------------------------------------
"Let's see them do that with a plane!"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
rosinx is online now        Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 06:23 PM   #19
aerocal
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,786
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central California
Default

Click on top and roll on the bottom and you wont break it.Its like trying to push a door open from the hinge side if you try to click it near the pivot.Uber loads are placed on the pivot.
__________________
Too many helis & Too many planks
Lots of DX radios & A couple Futaba radios
AMA member & Full scale plank driver
HELIFREAK !!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
aerocal is offline        Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 07:28 PM   #20
benzee1
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,307
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cedar Vale, KS
Default

I can't believe my old posts still get hits lol. I wound up coming up with a mod and fixed it myself. Eventually, I got a dx7. Now I don't have any helis except my cx2.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

HeliSimRC
Spektrum DX7, DX6i
TREX 450, Blade 400, Blade CX2
Myspace.com/heliwhore
benzee1 is offline        Reply With Quote
Reply




Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Copyright © 2004-2011 - William James - Helifreak.com