View Single Post
Old 12-09-2016, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Tomy.
Registered Users

Thread Starter Thread Starter

Default Some details...

So you're still reading this thread? OK, then here are some details. Ah, and an ASK too at the end .

After running (and winning) the under-500 class at RCHN3 I also was bitten (at least a little) by the speed bug. I have not been very active in speed, but recently I started to build a dedicated bird, and I was thinking, how could I use GPS data to improve my performance, technique, as well as give me a fairly precise speed indication (that is, AVERAGE through the course, not max).

So, since I'm a software dev by treat, I spent some of my free time in the past 2 months with an application that can take GPS telemetry data and turn it into useful and visual, human-digestible form. What started as a simple little powershell script, grew into a more serious Windows app (sorry Mac guys ). And it's getting ready for mass-consumption!

This is what the app can do:
  • Load GPS data. Since I'm using Spektrum (stop laughing) I only have my own Spektrum GPS files that I used to write one import plugin. This is where you guys come in, but more about that later.
  • Filter/refine the data. I implemented a Kalman filter generally used in GPS applications, communications, space program and other areas for high quality filtering and data smoothing. The crappy Spektrum GPS data suddenly looks beautiful . If you have a very reliable GPS data source, this can be turned off in settings.
  • Find the flight location and get actual ground altitude data online from the Google Maps API to adjust the GPS' altitude readings. I found that the Spektrum altitude data can be off by 15-20 feet, so the program can recalculate the altitude data from matching the take-off altitude with that location's actual ground altitude. Neat stuff.