View Single Post
Old 12-31-2016, 02:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
dunkonu23
Registered Users

Thread Starter Thread Starter

Default The Compass EXO 500 Build Thread Starts Here!!

Okay folks, here we go with my Compass EXO 500 Build Thread.

First, a little background information.

Many of you know that I was involved in testing (not because I'm a great pilot or anything like that, I just live close to Steve McFall of Experience RC) the "zero" build of the Compass EXO 500. I learned a lot of things about the model during that build. I'm going to pass every tip I have to you during this build.

I hope you find this thread useful. I will be very thorough as I have in other builds here on HeliFreak. Having the experience of building an EXO before, I do not expect this thread to be as long as that as the Chronos 700.

So, with that out of the way, let's get going!

From time to time, I'll be taking pictures of the manual to better illustrate what is going on with a particular step.

These are the electronics I'm going to be using for my Compass EXO 500. From bottom left to bottom right they are:

Hobbywing programming box;
MKS 9780 High Voltage Tail Servo;
MKS 9767 High Voltage Cyclic Servos (three, each);
Scorpion HKIII 4025-1100 Brushless Motor;
Hobbywing Platinum 100 V3 ESC; and
Spartan Vortex VX1e

From my experience building the test model, I recommend setting servo centers first. This is because installing the post screw will be very difficult if you wait to do this step later. Plus, if you do it now, all you have to do is attach the balls to the arms when your kit arrives. As of right now, my kit is in the Pontiac, MI post office.

NOTE: This part assumes you have programmed correct servo frequencies into your FBL unit, basic ESC setup, and assumes you have performed basic transmitter setup for your model. If you haven't done that yet, please do it now.

So now, we start centering the servos!