View Single Post
Old 03-25-2017, 04:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
A VIKING
Registered Users

Thread Starter Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgi UK View Post
Subscribed Martin! As an aero-engineer also, I've yet to figure out the loads you have designed the housing to expect? Hmmmmmmmm?!!

Thanks Georgi, I'll try to keep the entertainment level up!

Working with my models I do not apply math to figure out loading of structure and assemblies, for me, that's reserved for my full scale aircraft. When working out the loading details of my models, that's way too much work although it is the proper method.

For my models, when people aren't aboard, I have a masters degree in the applied science of "That Looks Strong Enough".

For my Velos cargo hook let me explain my approach.
First my observed limitations.
1. Although the Velos can lift a great deal of weight it does have limitations.
2. The structure I have the cargo hook designed into can support more weight on the hook than the Velos can lift.
3 The controlling servo has its own limitation in pulling the release pin. Too much weight from the load will bind the pin in its support, stalling the servo and preventing release of the load if needed.

I am betting that I will reach the limitation of the controlling servo before reaching any limitation of the airframe or drive train.
I want to be able to release the load in an emergency or just for fun so building the system to the max takeoff weight limit of the Velos is not what I am after, unless it works out that way.

So I need to figure this out and I don't want to fly the Velos for the experimentation portion of finding limitations, I want to know before the first takeoff with a load.

My approach to this is pretty simple.
I am going to take a sheet of plywood, cut a small round hole in it and position the cargo hook assembly over the hole.
I'll place the Velos next to the cargo hook/landing gear lower bracket to power the servo.