Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 250 Class Electric Helicopters


250 Class Electric Helicopters 250 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2009, 11:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Sudden loss of power?

Hi all,

I need some help. I have the stock ESC and motor settings:

Brake disabled
Mid Timing
High cutoff voltage
Slow start+gov
Quick speed
5.5 V

When i fly it would intermitantly cut the motor for about a second then power up again? Range is perfect, no iterferences, throttle curve Norm(0-50-100-100-100),Idle(100 straight).

Any help appreciated, maybe my ESC setting are wrong?

Thanks

Last edited by Erozion; 05-08-2009 at 02:34 PM..
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-08-2009, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,184
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default

No brake!!!!
ferret30 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 01:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 120
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Default

Mine did that at first. Motor would just briefly drop power intermittantly. I was using Futaba fm tx and rx that I took from one of my nitros that I THOUGHT was working fine. I changed settings, tried another esc etc. Broke my landing gear. Drove me nuts for 2 days I contacted the mfg and they said that the tx or rx could also cause it.
HUH but the tx,rx worked on my other heli. I switched over to a Spektrum DX6 and the problem was gone... Interference? IDK. Any idea guys??? Should I send the Futaba tx,rx in for a checkup?
d4wheelin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Sorry i meant brake disabled
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 174
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erozion View Post
Hi all,

Brake DISabled
Mid Timing
High cutoff voltage
Slow start+gov
Quick speed
5.5 V

Thanks
I run this setup except without the GOV. Maybe that is cutting the power instead of reducing?

Other problem may be battery going bad. I see this happen with my older eflite batt's from my cpp when I run them on the bench too long. Can't fly with them at all.
__________________
jck

Last edited by johnckendall; 05-08-2009 at 02:21 PM.. Reason: change brake setting
johnckendall is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

John i tried with and without GOV and still does it, im using the Align 850 batteries,got 4 and does it with all 4. Using 35mhz, but it will loose power right infront of me so not sure there interference.
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 174
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erozion View Post
John i tried with and without GOV and still does it, im using the Align 850 batteries,got 4 and does it with all 4. Using 35mhz, but it will loose power right infront of me so not sure there interference.
Hrm. Is the ESC close to the receiver? Post some pics of your setup...
__________________
jck
johnckendall is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

The ESC is on the bottom and receiver on the right side of the heli. i dont have a camera to post pics.
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 174
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Default

Does it start cutting out at the beginning , middle or end of the flight?

Can you re-create the cutout on the bench?
__________________
jck
johnckendall is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I would say more to the middle and end of the flight, i checked temp of ESC and motor both ok, i havent tried recreating it on the bench i will give it a go.
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 281
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Any chance you're going below 50% in normal mode when it happens? Can you also make it happen in idle up?
Rotorjunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 02:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

Rotorjunkie it only seems to happen in idle.
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 03:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 929
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Default

Those align esc's are hit and miss. Bought 2 kits, replaced them both in a month. Try not using a high cutoff voltage. If your system draws too much, it will shut down for a second then power up again.

Last edited by Rollin_3z; 05-08-2009 at 03:34 PM.. Reason: spelling
Rollin_3z is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-08-2009, 03:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 281
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollin_3z View Post
Those align esc's are hit and miss. Bought 2 kits, replaced them both in a month. Try not using a high cutoff voltage. If your system draws too much, it will shut down for a second them power up again.
Good idea. It could be your pack voltage sagging under load and tripping the voltage cutoff.
Rotorjunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2009, 09:55 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I have tried all the settings on the heli and it still turns off for a second then powers up again. Do you thibk i should replace the ESC?
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2009, 12:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 281
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2008
Default

The only things I can come up with that could cause this are:
* losing signal briefly causing the receiver to go into failsafe
* triggering voltage cuttoff in the ESC
* bad electrical connection
* bad servo
* bad ESC

Do any of your electronics get hot (servos, ESC, motor)?
Have you been able to reproduce this on the bench? If so, try unplugging all your servos to see if that has any effect.
Rotorjunkie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2009, 04:25 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I went out to the park today to try see if there was maybe an interference close to my house. It seems there is because it flew like a charm without any drops in power. The only thing i can think of is a wireless router causing issues. Im not sure its all a bit strange.

Thanks for all the help guys.
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-09-2009, 06:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,966
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erozion View Post
Using 35mhz, but it will loose power right infront of me so not sure there interference.
I would hazard a guess and say it is a radio glitch.
Are you using PCM or PPM?

PCM will be much better but it will still be suspectible to interference from the drive system.

In a heli this small the seperation of components is virtually zero.
Could you post a good close up pick of your electronic layout??

Mick
__________________

aussiemick is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2009, 02:28 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

These are the best i can do, the camera doesn't focus up close. Its PPM.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2377.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	96306   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN2378.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	96307  
Erozion is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1