Has anybody used the Phoenix sim yet? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Simulators Support > Phoenix Flight Sim


Phoenix Flight Sim Phoenix Flight Sim


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2006, 04:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 880
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Default Has anybody used the Phoenix sim yet?

How good is it?
__________________
It's easy to find an excuse to do wrong. Hard is not to find an excuse to do right.
jackheli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-01-2006, 07:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
HF Support
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia, US
Default Not yet.

I found it here. I have not tried it yet. Hopefully someone will pipe-up who has actually flown it and give us a report.

jrohland
jrohland is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2006, 10:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
HF Support
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Virginia, US
Default Viewed the video from the phoenix-sim page...great

If you have not seen the sample video from phoenix-sim.com, you should check it out. I have never seen such a realistic looking sim. In fact, I am wondering if it is real. View it here: http://www.phoenix-sim.com/videos/3d_heli_001.mpg

jrohland
jrohland is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2006, 07:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 231
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hernando County, FL
Default

They are taking orders apparently. Has it actually been released yet?

Looks very much like XTR.

-Gary
__________________
Nano CPX / mCPX v2 / mCPX BL / 120 SR / 180 CFX / 300 X / 300 CFX / 360 CFX / Oxy 3 / T-Rex 450L Dominator / T-Rex 500L Dominator / Spektrum DX8 / Spektrum DX9 / AMA 870089
Sgt_BF_Gunner is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2006, 01:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Ive have it and tested it, didnt like it, still running reflex, waiting for the first patch to see if that's fixing stuff.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2006, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 231
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hernando County, FL
Default

MrMel,

Please give us more details... What don't you like about it?

Thanks,
Gary
__________________
Nano CPX / mCPX v2 / mCPX BL / 120 SR / 180 CFX / 300 X / 300 CFX / 360 CFX / Oxy 3 / T-Rex 450L Dominator / T-Rex 500L Dominator / Spektrum DX8 / Spektrum DX9 / AMA 870089
Sgt_BF_Gunner is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2006, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Well, Graphics has a "game" feeling to it, they are not as good as reflex, but that I can live with, if the physics was perfect.

One flaw in Phoenix (which I suspect we see in the first patch, at least I hope) is that doing a "power climb downwards" actually dont go any faster then a power climb upwards.

The heli will actually free fall (tailslide for sample) alot faster then if you have the heli upright and apply full negative.

So it feels very odd and un-realistic.

Another thing is that it flies too perfect in certain senarios (thtat might be tweakable though), but in the sim I can do perfect knife edge circles all day long without almost any stick input, in real life I cant.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2006, 03:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Default

I just purchased one on there website. The only sim I've used is a RF G2 which was good enough for me. I'll give you my fed back when it arrives.
jdracer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2006, 08:40 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 231
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hernando County, FL
Default

Anyone selling it in the US yet?

trextuning.com did a review : http://www.trextuning.com/phoenix.php

Lots of info... They claim it's going to replace their copy of Relfex XTR.

Definitely looks like a cross between XTR and Aerofly.
Sgt_BF_Gunner is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2006, 03:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South San Francisco
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt_BF_Gunner
Anyone selling it in the US yet?

trextuning.com did a review : http://www.trextuning.com/phoenix.php

Lots of info... They claim it's going to replace their copy of Relfex XTR.

Definitely looks like a cross between XTR and Aerofly.
I ordered it from there website last Thursday and got it this morning Monday..... It took only 4 days Wow that's fast..

I got some sim time today on it and I like it. Heres a quick Pros and Cons about it.

Pros:
- Great backgrounds
- Water landings for heli's and airplanes
- Easy to use and setup
- Heli's and planes are fully adjustable.
- No CD's required to run Sim.
- Excellent models to choose from.
- Training sessions are good, hover invert, auto rotations etc.

Cons:
- Arcade like controls, even my co worker was able to hover and he pretty much sucks at everything.
- Crashes are so lame, the blades comes off and the heli just tumbles.
- Blade sounds are unreal.
- Gravity seems to be equal going up and down, no change in speed.
- Rolls and flips seem to fast and easy to do regardless if your full pitch up down or at zero.

I really like it, and the fast shipping was great...I thought it was gonna take a month to get here. Anyways its a great sim, but then again I could only compare this to my RF G2
jdracer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2006, 06:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bournemouth UK
Default

A USA distributer has been appointed and it will be released at the end of this month.

Ade
__________________
adrian@accurc.com direct email
support@accurc.com AccuRC support
plus.google.com/u/0/+AdrianChapmanlaw/ Me on google+
www.spartan-rc.com probably the best flybarless unit
Ade_Law is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2006, 01:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

I forgot about this thread, I must add to this, that since the 1.02 patch Ive been running only Phoenix, it beats all other hands down.

And now patch 1.03 is on the way, making it even better.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2006, 05:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 783
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Okinawa Japan / West Palm Beach, Fl
Default

I'm now using Phoenix and I really like it. It is the best simulator I have seen to date. All have there trade offs, but this one is a winner.

Kind of wanted to try the night flying out. Does anyone know how to get the heli to light up? I clicked the "Nite" scene but I guess there is more to it than that. Thanks for any help given in advance.
__________________
Heli's: TREX450 SE, TREX600 CF,
Synergy N9 Serial #869026C-0109031
Radio: DX-7 (2 x AR7000/1 x 6100/2 x 6000)
Motors: Medusa28-32-3400/BL600XL/.91SZ-HPH Hyper w/Pump & Regulator *Muscle Pipe 5*
ESC's: CC35/ALIGN 35X/ALIGN BL75G
Gyro: 401 + 9650/S-9254
Awamori is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2006, 05:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 464
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hollis, NH
Default

Hi all,

To get the heli to light up in the night scene you have to go to the system setup menu and go to my controls and click on the glow radio button.

Cheers,
Leslie
__________________
If you can't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
leslie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2006, 07:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
HF Support
 
Posts: 4,974
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Default

Does that work on all models or only the Buzzard50nightfly with the glo-strings on it ?
__________________
Kenneth
* MSH Protos Stock motor/15t/Align75/Align DS510/GL730+DS520/7s A123 2300
* TRex450CF/430L/12t/CC45/HS65mg/L2100T/KP 3s 2200 25C or 4S LiFe
Previous rides: HX242, W5-4, TRex450(HDE), TRex450(SE), QJ-EP8v2, BCX2 ,Logo10, Hurricane550
SIM: Phoenix (previously also Reflex/XTR, ClearView, RF, FMS)
kgfly is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2006, 06:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 464
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hollis, NH
Default

Hi all,

Currently it works on the Buzzard50nightfly only, from what I have explored. I tried night flight with the trex600 model. Only some of the white portions of the canopy glowed. Very dimly

Cheers,
Leslie
__________________
If you can't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
leslie is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2006, 07:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Chicago, Il
Default

I am going to order from tower hobbies tonight.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXPNM8&P=ML
I will post a review as soon as I can. I am expecting a new baby any second now so I might be a little busy This might be the sim she cuts her teeth on.
__________________
Trex 450SE
Trex600CF
bbdln123 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1