Scorpion V50V Commander ESC is here! - Page 2 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Scorpion ESC and Motor Support


Scorpion ESC and Motor Support Scorpion Power Systems ESC and Motor Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2011, 01:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Default

Will there be an Scorpion Commander ESC for a 450 size heli, that is with V-bar gov ?.
__________________
MA Furion 6, LHS Setup
MA Fury 55: Futaba BLS 251, BLS 451, CGY 750, FGH12, OS 55 HZR, Hatori
Synergy E5S: CGY 750, 14SG, KDE Direct
Forza 450: Xnova, CGY 750, 14SG, MKS
rtnaviman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2011, 01:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Keep endpoints at -100/100

I have not tested the internal one but the vbar is and will be smoother than an internal ever can be, i only run vbar governor on all machines now.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 01:47 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Keep endpoints at -100/100

I have not tested the internal one but the vbar is and will be smoother than an internal ever can be, i only run vbar governor on all machines now.
Thanks so much
kevinbj1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 11:06 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Baltimore, MD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Keep endpoints at -100/100

I have not tested the internal one but the vbar is and will be smoother than an internal ever can be, i only run vbar governor on all machines now.
Which end points are you referring to? The gov II tab ones?
strokermtr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2011, 11:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strokermtr View Post
Which end points are you referring to? The gov II tab ones?
Yes, gov II
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 01:25 PM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtnaviman View Post
Will there be an Scorpion Commander ESC for a 450 size heli, that is with V-bar gov ?.
That is a V5: no answer
__________________
MA Furion 6, LHS Setup
MA Fury 55: Futaba BLS 251, BLS 451, CGY 750, FGH12, OS 55 HZR, Hatori
Synergy E5S: CGY 750, 14SG, KDE Direct
Forza 450: Xnova, CGY 750, 14SG, MKS
rtnaviman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2011, 04:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rtnaviman View Post
That is a V5: no answer
There is none announced, Georges can answer that better, he is out travelling so when i do not know.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 11:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 501
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Texas
Default

I have a quick question on this ESC. I just read the manual(got mine today) and it talks about using a back up battery for the receiver? I have Spektrum 7110 on my trex 700 so would I plug in a battery like normal via the high current input and still be able to run the BEC power into the receiver without damaging anything? I've not even thought about plugging anything up yet since I wasn't sure if this is how the backup battery works?

Thanks!
__________________
George

XXtreme 800,XXtreme 700, Goblin 770,Goblin 700, Trex 450 Dominator, Blade 180
gadawg58 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 11:27 PM   #29 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

I fly without buffer pack on my 700mm sized.
It's a choice you have, either you can use a buffer pack for taking off the load off the BEC (help it) and have the extra safety in case of failure (redundancy) or you trust the BEC and run it solo, up to you.

It's not required, it's up to you if you want to.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 12:09 AM   #30 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Default

Does the phase sensor also support the SK720 FBL, or just vbar?
__________________
Compass 6HV FBL | Stock Motor | CC 80HV Ice2 ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720 FBL & PowerBus
MSH Protos 500 | Scorpion 3026-880 | CC 75A Ice Lite ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720
Other: Spektrum DX9 | iCharger 4010 Duo
boltor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 12:15 AM   #31 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boltor View Post
Does the phase sensor also support the SK720 FBL, or just vbar?
Should work fine in SK720 too (just have not tested it), but its same signal type as Hyperion phase sensor outputs, which works in the SK.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 03:16 AM   #32 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 145
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens/Greece
Default

Don't use buffer packs either. I just don't trust NiCD/MH. Had enough crashes due to them during my nitro days I seriously doupt they can safely power modern servos on FBL 700s.
With this BEC at 7.4V though, we should be able to run a 2s LiFEPO4 as buffer (7.2V full charge, similar to a 6-cell Nickel pack).
This ESC looks very promising
__________________
With great power comes great voltage times great current !
zmooth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 04:14 AM   #33 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

A buffer packs function is not to replace the bec, you can use such small as 250mah NimH, its only to unload the bec and allow you to land if failure.
buffer packs can also be replaced with capaictor systems like fromeco cricket.

Have not tested with LIFE typ but it should work if 7.2v is used, but again, smallest possible will do.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 04:39 AM   #34 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 145
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens/Greece
Default

Yes, but my worry on Nickels is that you will have a brownout long before you land A fully charged 4s 800mAh nimh dips below 3V on the bench only after ~10secs of loading the servos, can only imagine it being worse in the air. Even fromeco DCUP specs state 3Amps max
__________________
With great power comes great voltage times great current !
zmooth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 04:41 AM   #35 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

It works, been recommended and used by Jive users a long time (and still is)
Formeco works too (i personally use it when beta testing new stuff that im unsure of)

Anyway, its a safety feature, use if you want.
Biggest thing with it is not to have a flightpack to fly with its to keep load off bec during operation makeing it easier for the bec to start with.
If the bec fails the esc usually stops anyway so an emergency auto seldom takes longer than 10 seconds, that how long you need.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 04:56 AM   #36 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMel View Post
Should work fine in SK720 too (just have not tested it), but its same signal type as Hyperion phase sensor outputs, which works in the SK.
Thanks. I use the Hyperion sensor with the sk720, so if it works the same, great!
__________________
Compass 6HV FBL | Stock Motor | CC 80HV Ice2 ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720 FBL & PowerBus
MSH Protos 500 | Scorpion 3026-880 | CC 75A Ice Lite ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720
Other: Spektrum DX9 | iCharger 4010 Duo
boltor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 01:14 PM   #37 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cottage Grove, MN
Default

130A ESC Overview video Posted today

Scorpion 130A HV ESC with 15A S-BEC Overview (8 min 16 sec)
__________________
GAUI NX7 - GAUI X7 - GAUI X5 - GAUI NX4 - GAUI GX4 - GAUI X4 II - GAUI X3 - GAUI X2 - All on VBar 5.3 Pro
Team GAUI USA / Empire Hobby / Scorpion Power Systems / Optipower Batteries / Cyclone Blades / Savox / YS Engines / VP PowerMaster / JR
Matt Nasca is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 01:42 PM   #38 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australia
Default

Great info.

What are the considerations using the internal BEC in the scorpion vs an external? I have used an external BEC (WR) and have been very pleased. Looking at a setup for a 7HV, so interested in comment. Don't want to use another battery, so choice is just use the built in BEC or go with WR again. Thoughts?
__________________
Compass 6HV FBL | Stock Motor | CC 80HV Ice2 ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720 FBL & PowerBus
MSH Protos 500 | Scorpion 3026-880 | CC 75A Ice Lite ESC, gov via SK720 | SK-720
Other: Spektrum DX9 | iCharger 4010 Duo
boltor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2012, 05:53 PM   #39 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,928
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bristow, VA
Default

Bolter, I have been having the same thoughts. I have a Scott Gray Reactor I was going to run using a 2S 3600MAH lipo, but the weight I would save just running the 12S battery using the included BEC would be A LOT! I do however, like having the SG2 with a lipo just incase something happened to the 12S or the ESC so I could still auto down.
aviator493 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2012, 04:07 AM   #40 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,576
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gotland, Sweden
Default

As far as i know the BEC in the commander V is very robustly built for sure. I even burned down a motor during beta and the bec still worked.

Its tested/built for the peaks 4x8717 with fbl is experiencing during load.

Remember, if you want to run separate rx power solution you MUST pull the red cable from the throttle cable.
__________________
Gone fishing.. or hunting or something..
http://heli.dacsa.net
MrMel is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1