head speed, new thread old topic:) - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Gaui Helicopters > Hurricane 255


Hurricane 255 Discussion and support of the Gaui Hurricane 255


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2011, 06:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Smile head speed, new thread old topic:)

So I messed up by not doing the right calculations before flight

But I have now, using darkhorse head speed cal
On my motor scorpion 2208 24 3590kv on 3s lipo
Full voltage
15t=5089
14t=4750
13t=4410
nominal voltage
15t=4483
14t=4184
13t=3885

The stock gaui motor is 3400kv @3s lipo
full voltage
15t=4820
14t=4498
13=4177
Nominal voltage
15t=4243
14t=3963
13t=3680

Im going to run my sk720 gov @ 4000rpm
in order to get there I need the 14t, I got it from radicalrc.com
right now im on the 15t pinion, no gov

My motor has a custom 2.3mm shaft
im using a 30amp pentium esc, with a cc bec@6v
im getting 329 max watts drawn
and 28 max amps, crazy power

Im just wondering what actual headspeed the scorpion 3900kv
On a 14t


My kit came with the 3400 gaui motor and a 15t pinion
The manual says 800mah 3s lipo
I'm running 850mah 3s, but im getting 1100 45c packs

This is crazy head speed like my x5 and 200
The x5 is running a 16t pinion like around 2600rpm on 500mm blades
My 425 was @ 2800 with 425mm blades.
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2011, 10:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 13,302
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Default

I am running my Gaui 3400kv motor at 4000rpm with a 15T. When I get my Neu I will have to pinion down and since it's a 2mm shaft I am gonna get the venom 14t 2mm one (think it's made by venom)
__________________
Lincoln
#HIGHONHELIS ):>
Pull Hard
RCHO Flying Field, Knightdale NC
lazor 22 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-01-2011, 05:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,448
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Delaware?
Default

wow i just looked at your chart and im running 100 flat on the 15t with stock motor guess thats a little to high might have to drop it down some or set it to govern at 4000. have to get the castle link first. what do you think a 90 flat curve would give me?
__________________
Trex 700e
hamstar78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2011, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

check out darkhorse head speed calculator

just search in goolge, a gaui 200 is on there
you can set diffrent variables and get pretty accurate hs

your probably above 4000, but depends on your packs at full voltage your probably above 4500, i bet its fine.

the heli comes with a 15t pinion, so its meant to be at that speed.
it just seems high, i wonder how gaui figured its head speeds?

full or nominal voltage
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2011, 09:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,448
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Delaware?
Default

i just found out about the helitach app on the iphone and going to give that a shot hell its only 3.99
__________________
Trex 700e
hamstar78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 01:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,448
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Delaware?
Default

i just tached my headspeed with the iphone and im getting 4296 at 90 flat curve. might try 100 flat just to see what it is for giggles. im shooting for around 4000 so ima have to play with the curve might try 85. or just keep at 90 if that headspeed is ok to run.
update: i tried 100 flat and it said 4686 so thats a little more than i feel comfortable with dont want to throw a blade or grip into myself
__________________
Trex 700e
hamstar78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Do you have the new head?

Or old rigid
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,448
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Delaware?
Default

new fes head
__________________
Trex 700e
hamstar78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 07:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: usa
Default

Your good for high head speed, the bolts are stong enough

The old rigid was the one throwing grips, the screws were too small
fusionsx00 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2012, 02:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Michigan, Canton
Default

Hey Guys,
I need to get some help with setting up the headspeed.
I have the stock 15T pinion, the 3400kV motor the beastx and the YGE 30A.
My throttle curve is now at max 85%. (0-50-62-73-85 and 85-80-75-80-85)

I want to set the head speed to about 3800 to 3900 RPM.
Could you explain to me how I can realize this?
How can I use the gov mode of the YGE?
It would be great if you could help me out with this.
Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Alex
YXAlexXY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2012, 04:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Default

so my question is how does flight performance vary with head speed. I have been looking into going to 13T mostly to get longer flight times but I have only seen one post where the flight characteristics at 13T were described. Its one thing to note all these different head speeds but what criteria do you use to choose where you want to operate? I have to assume some thought went into the stock setup and changing from that will have various tradeoffs. Longer flight time, cooler ESC, but at what cost?
__________________
This is your brain on helicopters!
Trex 700L, Trex 700N DFC HB gasser,Trex 700N V2 HB gasser, Trex 550E FBL all with BD3SX
rhodesengr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2012, 09:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Michigan, Canton
Default

Hey Guys,
Sorry but i don't want the my question gets lost!

I need to get some help with setting up the headspeed.
I have the stock 15T pinion, the 3400kV motor the beastx and the YGE 30A.
My throttle curve is now at max 85%. (0-50-62-73-85 and 85-80-75-80-85)

I want to set the head speed to about 3800 to 3900 RPM.
Could you explain to me how I can realize this?
How can I use the gov mode of the YGE?
It would be great if you could help me out with this.
Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Alex

Last edited by YXAlexXY; 03-25-2012 at 08:20 AM..
YXAlexXY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2012, 12:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 6,640
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Default

well you may not want to hear this but the best thing would be to experiement and make your own solution. Buy a tachometer. You sound like you know the basic elements: motor, pinion, TX setting, maybe a governor.
__________________
This is your brain on helicopters!
Trex 700L, Trex 700N DFC HB gasser,Trex 700N V2 HB gasser, Trex 550E FBL all with BD3SX
rhodesengr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2012, 09:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Michigan, Canton
Default

Hey, sorry for asking questions and trying to get into this hobby....
It must be great to be born with all the knowledge as you seem to be.... You can save comments like: Buy a tachometer.... They are not adequate..... Thx ...

Last edited by YXAlexXY; 03-25-2012 at 08:19 AM..
YXAlexXY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 09:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Finland
Default

What FBL controller you use?
Anyhow if you want to set up the Gov in YGE, and if you don't have the prog card (like me) you can do it by entering the programming mode as per the RC setup document (find at the download section of YGE.de website). There is a simple procedure and the document gives quite clear instructions.

However the gov in YGE will change the way you program your curves in the TX and you need to have flat curves. The imput is a % of max speed you want (or is it power?). They say it should be between 60 and 90%. That is the gov will try to maintain the % of the max you give it as input. But to know how this translate to real head speed you need a tach (they are about 15USD at hobbyking, not huge precision but gives a good idear of what headspeed you run).

There are FBL controllers or external governors that use their own sensors to actually measure rpm usually directly from the motor by soldering the sensor to one wire, but after that you need to convert that to real head speed by calculating the gear ratio.

Whatever technique you use, it's a nice investment to make to buy a tach. It's gonna be usefull.

Of course the head speed will have a huge impact on fligh performance, but good FBL controllers might actually help keeping the heli steady even at high head speeds. I would say that to begin with you could use low head speed, like enough to keep you heli in the air. Increasing the HeadSpeed will make things happen faster.

Did that help?
djelom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 11:29 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Michigan, Canton
Default

Hey djelom,
thanks for writing that comment....tht helps!
As most of you I also use the beastx as FBL controller.
Probably i'm going to buy a tacho if that helps to figure out what head speed I have.
@rhodesengr: realized that the tacho ment to help....sry

Thanks guys!!!
Regards, Alex
YXAlexXY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 02:39 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Finland
Default

My understanding is that BeastX doesn't have a governor, unlike the V-bar, so you can use the YGE governor mode, and don't need an extra sensor,since it's your esc can monitor the motor. Setting the gov mode takes 30s from your TX. You can start with say flat 65% norm-75%idle1 and that should give you enough head speed to start experimenting, and then adjust.
djelom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 03:51 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA, Michigan, Canton
Default

Right... I would use the governor mode from the ESC. With setting the gov you mean that I have to program it the same way as they do it according to the instructions on the YGE webpage, right?

Thanks so much for your help!
YXAlexXY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-26-2012, 05:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,533
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South of the Border, Maynard, Massachusetts
Default

The Gov Store feature is nice on the YGE...

The process involves getting the ESC to know what the maximum possible speed of the motor is with full batteries and remembering it.

Then you choose a Flat Throttle line 80% or 85% or whatever... that corresponds to the head speed you want. (You need to do this with a tach)

Now the ESC will always attempt to give you that head speed no matter what level the batteries are at.

-----------------------

Regular Gov on the YGE determine top head speed available with the current charge of the battery, so it can be inconsistent flight to flight, especially if you land after a minute of two and start again.

Hope this makes sense.
__________________
Futaba 14SG, Synergy E5, Furion 6, Beam E4(v1) FBL, CGY750, Skookum
dpelletier is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-27-2012, 09:39 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Finland
Default

How do you program the gov store feature?
djelom is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1