EC3 or EC5? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > 550 Class Electric Helicopters


550 Class Electric Helicopters 550 Class Electric Helicopters manufactured by Align, Tarot, SYMA, Airhog, Chaos, HK and similar.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2012, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 618
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Default EC3 or EC5?

Finally pulled the trigger on a 550 just a short while ago.. Now I'm wondering if EC3's are capable of supporting a 550. I have a bunch of them laying around from my 450 build and I was hoping they would be usable..

Or am I going to have to switch over to EC5s..

Thanks in advance
__________________
- Trex 700 V2 /AR7200BX - Gaui X3 - 3x MCPX BL -


Last edited by AR90; 04-25-2012 at 04:18 PM..
AR90 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2012, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pissouri, Cyprus
Default

If you look back there was a debate about this a while ago, trust me EC5.
__________________
LOGO 500SE & 600SE & 600SX
Synergy E7 -
N7 - N5C
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzTDR + II
Alun
CyprusFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,322
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Louisville, KY
Default

EC5's
__________________

SAB Goblin 700 - CCHV120 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 / 450 Pro - GT5 - Tarot head / T-Rex 550 V2.1 - CC100 - BEC Pro - AR7200BX - TM1000 /
1004ron is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 536
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

I've got a 550 kit showing up today, and I'm going ec5 as well.

Sent from my Galaxy Note via Tapatalk
sephroth is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 618
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Default

Roger that, 3 people is enough to convince me.. Spending an extra $15 to be safe doesn't bother me.
__________________
- Trex 700 V2 /AR7200BX - Gaui X3 - 3x MCPX BL -

AR90 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 21
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London, UK
Default

EC5s because they are capable of more than 120A continuous current.


Dave
Sent from my iPhone using iFingers
__________________
Dave

Blade mSR & mCPX | Storm 450 | TREX 450 Pro | TREX 500 ESP | Spektrum DX7 + Phoenix & SIMSTICK | Futaba T8FG Super
Tridztan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 113
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Uk
Default

+1 for ec5. I just set them up on my 550 in the last week
Martin353 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,197
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pissouri, Cyprus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AR90 View Post
Roger that, 3 people is enough to convince me.. Spending an extra $15 to be safe doesn't bother me.
Good decision, made the point of standardising a few months ago, bought parallel charging leads etc using EC5, worked straight away so must have got the gender correct.
__________________
LOGO 500SE & 600SE & 600SX
Synergy E7 -
N7 - N5C
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzTDR + II
Alun
CyprusFlyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida, USA
Default

EC5
__________________
Align 800e PRO DFC // Align 700N DFC, 105HZ-R HV // Goblin 700Comp // 2x Goblin 420 // Align 700E 3-Blade HV.// Futaba 14Sgh - Telemetry ON - "RealFlight 7.5 // neXt // AccuRc"- Powered by Pulse - BRAIN2-BT's // Castle ESC's
msallua is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 04:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Jersey
Default

5's for sure
pjuran is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 04:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,328
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Default

yes, not only because they are better spec. They are bigger to handle and easier to solder, if you buy some packs with AWG10 (or 8 as in my new!) you will have problem with EC3. And... if you buy some bigger HV-machine you will be glad you already have EC5 installed

btw. congrats on your new heli!
__________________
550E, X3 | BeastX, YGE, DX8
http://dannesholk.se/rc.shtml
Danny_Swe is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2012, 04:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 618
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny_Swe View Post
yes, not only because they are better spec. They are bigger to handle and easier to solder, if you buy some packs with AWG10 (or 8 as in my new!) you will have problem with EC3. And... if you buy some bigger HV-machine you will be glad you already have EC5 installed

btw. congrats on your new heli!
Good point, and thanks can't wait to get it in the mail and start building!
__________________
- Trex 700 V2 /AR7200BX - Gaui X3 - 3x MCPX BL -

AR90 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 05:51 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,542
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia, NSW Southcoast
Default

EC5 all the way!!!
__________________
Revolectrix Ambassador
Revolectrix.com 10% Discount All Products Code
LEESS17

Lee2782 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 07:15 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 501
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SE Mass, RI border
Default

I've been running mine on EC3 for over a year with out issues. I fly sport & light to moderate 3D now. I'd say "if you have them use em."
__________________
Jimmy R
SE Mass
Trex 450 / HK pro ,500esp, & 550e FBL
Blade MSR
Raptorg2zman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 07:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,052
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New York / Florida
Default

You want to run EC5's give the current demands of this machine....
mtuccio is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 12:51 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,613
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montgomery County, Maryland
Default

I too agree with the EC5's for this machine that frequently breaks the 100 Amp barrier. Just note that not all EC5's are the same, specially with the male connector. I find that the tapered male connectors hold tightly in flight, but are easy to insert and remove.


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9194

You can argue that the bullet design pictured below offers more surface area contact and thus better transfer of current. Although I cannot contest the surface area contact claim, I question its practical significance. I can affirm that the tapered design is much easier to insert/remove without forming calluses on my fingers, and there is not decrement in ripple voltage as measure with the Castle logger.


http://www.progressiverc.com/ec5-con...s-2-pairs.html

Besides, if you can wait average 13-17 total days (at least for East Coast US folks), the Hobby King tapered EC5's are the most economical I could find.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HK EC5.jpg
Views:	519
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	311398   Click image for larger version

Name:	Progressive EC5.jpg
Views:	453
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	311399  
__________________
Protos 770 Evoluzione Leggero, Synergy E5, Logo 700/550SX V2, SAB Comet/700 KSE/380 KSE/miniComet; Spirit Pro/Brain2 BT;Jeti DS-16c/DX8 Gen 2
Mac sims: neXt, Heli-X, AccuRC, RF8, Phoenix, RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 09:47 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 334
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charleston, SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptorg2zman View Post
I've been running mine on EC3 for over a year with out issues. I fly sport & light to moderate 3D now. I'd say "if you have them use em."
Ec3's are rated for 60 amps continuous current. (http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/EFLAEC302).

Ec5's are rated for 120 amps continuous current. (http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...r-2--EFLAEC502)

My datalogs indicate 70 to 90 amps throughout my flights doing sport and light 3d.

Another issue with ec3's in this application is the physical size. My 6s 5000 Zippy and Turnigy battery leads will not fit in the connector without trimming off the wire to slim it down, which lowers its capacity.
gehrbox is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 02:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Default

those fat battery wires are easier to solder into the EC5 bullets too....
__________________
Align 550e FBL 3GX
Trex 450 Pro V2 3GX
Trex 250 AR7200BX
Walkera V400D02
rupsty is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 04:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 391
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnahamelv View Post
I too agree with the EC5's for this machine that frequently breaks the 100 Amp barrier. Just note that not all EC5's are the same, specially with the male connector. I find that the tapered male connectors hold tightly in flight, but are easy to insert and remove.


http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=9194

... and there is not decrement in ripple voltage as measure with the Castle logger..
Confirm that! These are the type I use and the ripple voltage is always well below 1v in CastleLink.
MeatRocket is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1