How do you estimate your altitude? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopters > Helicopter Safety


Helicopter Safety R/C Helicopter Safety


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 02:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 665
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA, Novato, CA
Default How do you estimate your altitude?

I like to fly high, but I don't want to go over the 400 foot limitation set by the AMA. What is the best/easiest way to estimate your altitude? I honestly don't know how high I'm flying. Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks!

Mark
__________________


onlyfinehelis.com
mmickels is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2012, 03:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,348
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somerset, UK
Default

400ft is pretty high, unless you are deliberately trying to fly as high as possible, your unlikely to go higher unintentionally.

Easy way is to pace 400ft and see what your model looks like at that distance, can you make out skids/fins and use that as a reference.

I'd suspect the 450 you will be uncomfortable flying anywhere near that distance, depending on your eyesight, the 550 maybe a risk though ?

For RC gliders I've seen people put stripes on underside of the wing, 2" stripe, then 2" gap, 1" stripe, 1" gap, etc, you can tell how high you are from how many stripes you can distinguish.
jamesb72 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 08:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 12,081
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Long Island, NY (Melville)
Default

The actual AMA rule is

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMA Guidelines
2. Model pilots will:
<SNIP>
(c) Not fly higher than approximately 400 feet above ground level within three (3) miles of an airport, without notifying the airport operator.
400ft is pretty high... the statue of liberty is less then 400ft tall... a typical 30 story building is just under 400ft tall... so that should give you an idea of how high 400 ft actually is.

I rarely go that high up... only when doing loooong autos or giant loops... and if I do, I am barely there.
__________________
~SAB~ Goblin 700 ~Compass~ Warp 360 ~Blade~ mCP X (BL)
AMA# 977012
**Team BOCA Bearings**
BaconRaygun is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 08:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 665
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA, Novato, CA
Default

Well, that seems reasonable enough. Thanks James!
__________________


onlyfinehelis.com
mmickels is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 665
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA, Novato, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicovaludemero View Post
The actual AMA rule is



400ft is pretty high... the statue of liberty is less then 400ft tall... a typical 30 story building is just under 400ft tall... so that should give you an idea of how high 400 ft actually is.

I rarely go that high up... only when doing loooong autos or giant loops... and if I do, I am barely there.

Ah, didn't know about airports being included in the rule. Still, it is a good rule of thumb to go by. Thanks!
__________________


onlyfinehelis.com
mmickels is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2012, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 605
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Trumbull ,CT
Default

cell towers are between 150 to 200 ft minimum , ask me how i know
jombo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2012, 04:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: uk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmickels View Post
I like to fly high, but I don't want to go over the 400 foot limitation set by the AMA. What is the best/easiest way to estimate your altitude? I honestly don't know how high I'm flying. Any help is much appreciated!

Thanks!

Mark
If it helps I have the spektrum altimeter telemetry module goes back to my dx8, with a hk500gt inside a ec-135 fuselage. I had that up to 210ft and that was certainly high enough for me......
tobys550 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2012, 05:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Warwick, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobys550 View Post
If it helps I have the spektrum altimeter telemetry module goes back to my dx8, with a hk500gt inside a ec-135 fuselage. I had that up to 210ft and that was certainly high enough for me......

yeah, find a buddy with a DX8 and ask to pop up to 400 feet to show you. Having said that I'd be very surprised if you're comfortable flying a 450 that high. On the other hand, why are you so bothered? As there's no way anyone can ever prove how high you are it's a bit of a moot point, you could have the head of the AMA and your local police chief stood next to you with a pair of binoculars each and they still would be none the wiser.
Kington99 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2012, 02:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Default

I think it may not be a question of getting caught but a question of how to avoid what one is not supposed to do.
Heli-opolis is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 08:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: socal
Default

use the sun and shadows at high noon, pythagorean theorem? hover overhead, the ground is your right angle. You took geometry in school, pretty simple calculation
zzyzx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2012, 10:36 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 223
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: sweden
Default

if brave enough, strap a cellphone with gps to the heli.
just climb as high as you dare, and and then get the altitude from the gps.. then you at least know how high it is until you chicken out.
__________________
CopterX 500SE V2 | BeastX v3 + RJX head | CC ICE75 + Hyperion HS 3026-1600Kv | JR DSX7 2.4Ghz

EX helis: Trex450SE | HBK2(blinged) | Dragonfly FP | Raptor 50SE
Nozer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2012, 12:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 170
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australi, QLD, Nth Brisbane
Default

I use my antenna as a reference. I got a mate to walk out a measured 400ft with the heli pointing at me and used the antenna to see how much poked out the side's. I can just see the end of the blades with my arms at full reach.

Worked for me as an approximate indication.
__________________
450 se, 450 v2, using Jr 2610.
550e 3GX , Dx7, 1 sat. RF6, Redback LiPo's.
600efl Pro, 3GX, bec, Castle HV80, 2 sats.
YoungBull is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-27-2012, 11:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jackson Mi
Default

If I can still see it, it ain't too high.lol. seriously the 400ft limit only applies when your near an airport. There is no actual limit when not near an airport, there is of course common sense. I know I couldn't see my 450 well enough at 400ft to maintain orientation. Quite regularly break that limit with my IMAC plane and my glider though.
__________________
"Whadda ya mean,'There's a loose nut behind the transmitter'?!!"
Darkbird is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-18-2012, 05:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,759
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: North East U.S.
Default

With my helis I don't think i ever come close to 400ft. A few of my planes have been little dots in the air and I wasn't sure if I could get it home. Haven't lost one yet...
CrashNburn420 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2012, 09:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Malaysia
Default Heli Height

SO far not yet fly more than 50foot yet... also duno how to balance my heli when it was flying high...
Louis2103 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 07:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,149
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kansas City, MO
Default

Planning to get an altimeter (or the GPS module if Spektrum fix it to provide altitude data!) just as I tend to fly between 'high' and 'very high' on the 450, so as to take pretty pictures with the keychain video camera strapped to it. To the point where I'm mostly just guessing orientation based on the direction that little black dot has started moving, and sending test-controls to confirm before bringing it down low enough to see clearly again. Not like it's going to hit anything up there unless a plane happens by, though a failure could be... pretty bad, with that much potential gliding distance if nothing else.

Been a bit worried about going over the 400' limit as a result.. though as far as I was aware, there was also an FAA regulation regarding the 400' ceiling (applying outside of that 3 mile radius), the AMA safety code just mirroring it to restate for clarity.
__________________
Blade: mCX2, mSR, mSRX, Nano-CPX, 2x mCPX (v1), mCPX-BL, 120SR, 450 X
Spektrum DX8, DX6i
Talesin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2012, 08:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Talesin View Post
though a failure could be... pretty bad, with that much potential gliding distance if nothing else.
If you have the failsafe set correctly (Motor off) I dont see a 450 gliding anywhere far, plummeting would be more accurate. Unlike planes helis tend to come down pretty close to where they were when you shut off the power, unless you actually try to auto.

Any non-radio failure you hit TH and let it go splat.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1