Lost power - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > MSH Protos > MSH Mini Protos


MSH Mini Protos MSH Mini Protos Helicopter Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 01:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Default Lost power

Hey guys, after a couple hundred flights with no crashes my 3s Mini lost power just like lvc just after liftoff. It landed safely and I rechecked the pack and it was fully charged. Did a quick visual inpection of the main power wires to the esc and the caps - all looks ok but one sometimes can't tell just by looking. Put the pack back in and carefully spooled up and kept a low hover for 5 mins with no problems. What are the most likely causes of the power loss? Has anyone had to replace broken power wires to the esc? It has the stock YGE & AR7200BX. Thanks in advance.

Nifty.
__________________
Mini Protos, Voodoo 400, Goblin 500 Sport, Gob 550 x 3, BT650, Thunder T 700
Chris Nifty is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-04-2012, 02:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,020
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Default

There can be many reasons for such behavior.

I had a similar issue for a malfunctioning servo. Check if any of the servos get warmer.
ziper_it is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 934
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Brno, Czech Republic
Default

AR7200BX might be the problem. I had similar issue with my vBar about 2 months ago. I fly one satellite receiver with it that (judging by errors in thelog) lost signal and went into failsafe.
__________________
Tom
RCHN#233 | Lynx Heli Innovations Team
Protos Max | Goblin 700
| Goblin 570

baui2000 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Thanks guys, I wish I had looked at the sat before I removed power after the incident - would it have been flashing if it was the cause?
So far the servos dont feel warm, but I'll keep checking them after flying.
__________________
Mini Protos, Voodoo 400, Goblin 500 Sport, Gob 550 x 3, BT650, Thunder T 700
Chris Nifty is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by baui2000 View Post
AR7200BX might be the problem. I had similar issue with my vBar about 2 months ago. I fly one satellite receiver with it that (judging by errors in thelog) lost signal and went into failsafe.
The 7200BX has 2 active antennas so unless placed badly shadowing is unlikely. The sat mentioned provides extra insurance.

The sat would only be flashing if it is in DSM2 mode and power was interrupted (not on signal loss). If you want to know about signal stats you need a Spek telemetry or logging device.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2012, 11:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Well, I flew 4 packs today ( & 8 packs on the stretch), and she flew flawlessly so for now it remains a mystery. No servos felt warmer than the others, I spooled her up without blades and wriggled the wires, re-bound it and performed a range check before I flew. All good now - hope it stays that way.
__________________
Mini Protos, Voodoo 400, Goblin 500 Sport, Gob 550 x 3, BT650, Thunder T 700
Chris Nifty is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2012, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 976
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dorset, United Kingdom
Default

Could be lost of signal my AR7200BX won't pass range test unless I use a Sat.
__________________
Goblin 380
Mikado LOGO 550
Mikado LOGO 700
SMJT is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2012, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMJT View Post
Could be lost of signal my AR7200BX won't pass range test unless I use a Sat.
Then its either badly positioned or faulty. It should work to full range.
__________________
-DX8
-MSH MiniProtos Stretched, SK720, DS95/DS95i, Hyp 4S 25C 2500mAh
-MSH Protos Stretched, Brain, Hyp DS16/BLS251, 6S 3000mAh
-Goblin 500, HC3SX, Hyp DH16/MKS980BL, Scorp 4015-1100
desertstalker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 02:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Australia
Default

Is there a way to test the sat, if it's working, and if it's on the way out?
__________________
Mini Protos, Voodoo 400, Goblin 500 Sport, Gob 550 x 3, BT650, Thunder T 700
Chris Nifty is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-06-2012, 02:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 976
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dorset, United Kingdom
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by desertstalker View Post
Then its either badly positioned or faulty. It should work to full range.
Had it replaced by horizon and the antennas are completely clear of any shadowing even tried with the receiver on its own.
__________________
Goblin 380
Mikado LOGO 550
Mikado LOGO 700
SMJT is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1