Odd timer problem, DX6i - Page 2 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > JR and Spektrum Radios and Electronics > 2.4G Spektrum Radios


2.4G Spektrum Radios Spektrum 2.4 Gigahertz Radios and Technology


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 04:49 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago Area
Default

I've had this problem too but haven't been able to characterize what causes it although I haven't tried too hard to this point - glad to know I'm not crazy though. I had a new problem this morning and rather than hijack this thread I started a new one (see below). Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated!

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...90#post3260390
__________________
Always learning, and enjoying the process!
Trex 500 FB, Trex450 Pro FBL, Blade 300x, Rotormast V-22 Osprey, mCPxs, Rise Vusion FPV, misc small quads, various planks.
mejmea is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2011, 05:56 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

I had this again yesterday with both my heli's (T450 and T550)!

In fact I didn't notice it till it struck me that I was flying longer then normal, and that the battery power was getting noticeably lower. With a quick check on the DX6i, I saw it was at about 10min UP timer. I knew what had happened, so was in a hurry to land then. I had respectively 16 and 4%(!) battery left in those lipo's, so one might be pretty damaged, luckily heli's survived.

So, today I took some time to check what could lead to this, and I found that at least following scenario leads to this issue in a reproduceable way (and this might happen during normal usage of DX6i):
- Let a DOWN timer run till 0, and let it go through to UP counting (say using model 1)
- now, without stopping the timer, switch to another model (say model 2)
- switch off the DX6i (eventually after flying that other model)
- switch on DX6! (it will show model 2)
- change back the model 1
- the timer shows now an UP-timer with the same minutes and second settings as the original DOWN timer!!!!
- so, when you fly with this setting the timer will just start counting UP when you hit the timer switch, and you will have no warning at all as you planned to have.

Looks like a firmware bug to me!

Additional issue: don't forget that when you switch counter again from UP to DOWN, that the timer is reset to 6:00! So remember your timing setting, and don't forget to reprogram that also then!

Let's see if other people can confirm this story...
wouterd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-09-2011, 08:24 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 814
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bryan, Texas
Default

wouterd,

nice find

be sure to send this info to Horizon.

are you losing any other memory/settings as well?

thanks,

mark
texasclouds is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2011, 07:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,448
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle
Default

Yup, I can reproduce the bug here on my DX6i. Great detective work!

Anybody care to submit this to Spektrum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wouterd View Post
I had this again yesterday with both my heli's (T450 and T550)!

In fact I didn't notice it till it struck me that I was flying longer then normal, and that the battery power was getting noticeably lower. With a quick check on the DX6i, I saw it was at about 10min UP timer. I knew what had happened, so was in a hurry to land then. I had respectively 16 and 4%(!) battery left in those lipo's, so one might be pretty damaged, luckily heli's survived.

So, today I took some time to check what could lead to this, and I found that at least following scenario leads to this issue in a reproduceable way (and this might happen during normal usage of DX6i):
- Let a DOWN timer run till 0, and let it go through to UP counting (say using model 1)
- now, without stopping the timer, switch to another model (say model 2)
- switch off the DX6i (eventually after flying that other model)
- switch on DX6! (it will show model 2)
- change back the model 1
- the timer shows now an UP-timer with the same minutes and second settings as the original DOWN timer!!!!
- so, when you fly with this setting the timer will just start counting UP when you hit the timer switch, and you will have no warning at all as you planned to have.

Looks like a firmware bug to me!

Additional issue: don't forget that when you switch counter again from UP to DOWN, that the timer is reset to 6:00! So remember your timing setting, and don't forget to reprogram that also then!

Let's see if other people can confirm this story...
crashmore is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 04:17 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Belgium
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crashmore View Post
Yup, I can reproduce the bug here on my DX6i. Great detective work!

Anybody care to submit this to Spektrum?
I did via HorizonHobby. Unfortunately, all I got back was following reply:

Hello Wouter,

Thank you for contacting Horizon Hobby's Product Support Department.

Unfortunately at this time there is no firmware update to address this. We have passed the feedback on to the Spektrum team. We do appreciate your patience and feedback.

For further assistance, please use the URL located on our website's Contact Us page. If you are referencing a past request, please include the following ticket number when prompted: 11,466

Don't forget, our phone staff is available at 1-877-504-0233, Monday through Friday, 8am-7pm CST, Saturday 8-5pm CST and Sunday Noon-5PM CST.

Thank you,
MJ
We help YOU have fun with Hobbies!
Horizon Hobby Product Support
4105 Fieldstone Rd.
Champaign, IL 61822
1-877-504-0233
wouterd is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 12:59 AM   #26 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ponce, PR
Default

So this bug is still active and there is no solution after six months?
__________________
Please, don't drink and fly...
Moon007raker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 01:02 PM   #27 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 88
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: North Coast USA
Default Timer

Sometimes my timer shows 'UP' with my selected 3:30.
If I hold the TH Cut button for 3-5 secs it sometimes switches to 'Down 3:30'
BUT other times it goes to UP 0:00 Aaaargh!
If that happens I have to reset the whole thing via the menus.
Pete32 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2012, 01:21 PM   #28 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,216
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Amherst MA
Default

It's annoying, no question. I just live with it and grit my teeth as a software developer who suspects Spektrum's testing procedures are sub-par. Everyone makes mistakes, though, so I fly!
matthewcornell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1