Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Hitec Radios


Hitec Radios Hitec Radios Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 372
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Default FrSky AFHSS Compatible PPM Rx (whereas Hitec don't give a damn about it)

Hi guys,

Since Hitec don't give a damn for us (heli pilots) and do not release a PPM output Rx, I have tried a FrSky one:



http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=27175

All other brands have a single-wire output rx, like Futaba, JR, Spektrum and so one.

This FrSky receiver is really well made (for 21 bucks), external and internally.
I'm confident trusting my $2500 heli on it. A lot of guys are using it in my country.. I heard just good comments.

The only drawback is the lack of telemetry... but.. I can live without it...

Now I can connect my Rx to FBL with just one wire!! Amazing!!

Simple, cheap and reliable.

Beast Regards.

Alex.
__________________
Compass 7HV: Outrage Torq, VBar, HeliJive, Pyro 700-52
Compass 6HV: Outrage Torq, MicroBeastX, Jive 60
Powered by Revolectrix !!
http://www.helimaniarc.com.br
SkyRaptor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-03-2013, 02:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

Actually they do care about heli guys. This was a big deal and lots of talk at the toy fair in germany. Its being worked on as we speak and will be out soon.
__________________
Team Empire Hobby Team HobbyWing
Gaui X7F, Gaui X7 FZ, Gaui NX7
Bubba Gump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2013, 08:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 372
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Default

Hi Bubba,

Sorry but I have heard this "being worked" many months ago..

I'm electrical engineer and I cannot see any major issue implementing a PPM signal in a receiver like Optima7/9.

Actually all the signals are transmitted summed, then they are split after reception and directed to the respective channel. So you just need to pick the signal before split and format in a 20ms pulse. There are no technical matters for Hitec taking too long doing this.. Futaba already did years ago, so did JR, FrSky, Spektrum, etc...

By the way, I have heard as well that the "new" Hitec Rx with PPM will have no Telemetry at all. In this case I prefer paying $20 for a FrSky compatible receiver, with same features and great quality.

Best Regards.

Alex.
__________________
Compass 7HV: Outrage Torq, VBar, HeliJive, Pyro 700-52
Compass 6HV: Outrage Torq, MicroBeastX, Jive 60
Powered by Revolectrix !!
http://www.helimaniarc.com.br
SkyRaptor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2013, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 443
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

Does it work with the Aurora 9? I was under the impression PPM was the same as FM but i'm not an electrical engineer so I really have no clue. On the other hand I really don't want to pay $50 for a 6 channel Rx for a cheap foamy, so if this works its a good option for me.
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC: iKon, Aurora 9
T-Rex 550: 3GX, Aurora 9
TBS Disco: Naza, FPV, DragonLink
Tesla is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2013, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 372
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Default

Hi Tesla,

This "PPM" we are talking about is not related to PPM/PCM from FM ages.

This PPM is just a sum of all signals (all channels) output in just one channel. Almost all FBL controllers are able to decode it. So you just need one wire connecting your Rx to the FBL!! It's amazing and make your heli wiring clearer. Just Hitec didn't figure it out.

You can use this FrSky receiver with your A9, just like me. It works flawlessly!!!

Best Regards.

Alex.
__________________
Compass 7HV: Outrage Torq, VBar, HeliJive, Pyro 700-52
Compass 6HV: Outrage Torq, MicroBeastX, Jive 60
Powered by Revolectrix !!
http://www.helimaniarc.com.br
SkyRaptor is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2013, 07:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Default

Bubba I appreciate your perseverance in representing Hitec and their receivers but everyone this post is right. It has been too long to say they are working on it. Its not new technology its something that has been here for a while. Make satellite receivers with telemetry for the 2.4 hitec radios. That will be a big deal for us Hitec guys. But it is a bit ridiculous that Hitec doesn't have anything other than a standard receiver. I'm almost on the line to jump to a dx18 and just go spektrum since they have almost unlimited options.
garvin74 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2013, 09:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 443
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

If I didn't hate the build quality of the spektrum radios and their generic plasticy feel I would have bout one. However I really like Aurora 9 radio, maybe if spectrums 2.4GHz module was able to go into my aurora 9 I would be a happy man.
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC: iKon, Aurora 9
T-Rex 550: 3GX, Aurora 9
TBS Disco: Naza, FPV, DragonLink
Tesla is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2013, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

spektrum doesnt make the modules anymore i modded a spektrum one to fit in my old a9 for bnf stuff. The a9x will bind the the hobbico tatic stuff or anything with slt rxs. The new firmware is in the works for single line. It will be 2 protocols. Cant say which but its already supported by all the fbl units already.
__________________
Team Empire Hobby Team HobbyWing
Gaui X7F, Gaui X7 FZ, Gaui NX7
Bubba Gump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2013, 08:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Default

Lets stop talking about it and show it to us!!!!
garvin74 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2013, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 443
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

I didn't even know Hitech was updating the Aurora 9, looks cool and if your comments about using other receivers are true then i'm super excited.

I wonder if they will offer a trade up program? Futaba used to.
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC: iKon, Aurora 9
T-Rex 550: 3GX, Aurora 9
TBS Disco: Naza, FPV, DragonLink
Tesla is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2013, 11:27 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Default

It won't bind to futaba brand but there tatic BNF stuff that tower sells That's fine. Oh its called SLT, which the hirec a9x has. The A9x is a new radio. Have had mine for about 3 months. Come look at it at ircha I will have mine there with me. Look for me at the compass booth or Hitec booth.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
__________________
Team Empire Hobby Team HobbyWing
Gaui X7F, Gaui X7 FZ, Gaui NX7
Bubba Gump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2013, 02:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 443
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Default

how do you have one? did you get some prototype model?
__________________
T-Rex 700E Pro DFC: iKon, Aurora 9
T-Rex 550: 3GX, Aurora 9
TBS Disco: Naza, FPV, DragonLink
Tesla is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2013, 04:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla View Post
how do you have one? did you get some prototype model?
Yes, he has one of the pre-release units.
The Aurora 9X will be on retail shelves very soon, already on many retail sites.

. Aurora 9X - Due end June 2013. All relevant A9X Q&A on all forums todate.

ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, AFHSS 2.4Ghz Module, Transceivers_Receivers & Telemetry,
- FAQ, Setups & Tips {Individual Links often updated}

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2013, 09:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Default Re: FrSky AFHSS Compatible PPM Rx (whereas Hitec don't give a damn about it)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla View Post
how do you have one? did you get some prototype model?
Yes I have a preproduction one. Started flying it a few months ago. Zero issues not one glitch on the new maxima or the optima rxs. Also been testing the new tail servo also. I believe they will be for sale right after ircha don't quote me on that.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
__________________
Team Empire Hobby Team HobbyWing
Gaui X7F, Gaui X7 FZ, Gaui NX7

Last edited by Bubba Gump; 07-12-2013 at 11:59 PM..
Bubba Gump is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2013, 08:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default PPM RX uncommanded movements

I have several of these compatible rxs(2 5 channel and 1 8 channel). All of them when in PPM mode and connected to a FBL unit every 10 seconds or randomly the swashplate jumps or does something that is not commanded. I have had it connected to an Ikon in PPM mode and a SK540 which I no longer own with the same problems. Anyone else had this issue?
__________________
Gaui X5, Ikon scorpion, KST DS715MG MKS HBL980 Hurcules super BEC
Hitec Aurora 9, Icharger 206B
FoamAddict is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2013, 01:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Yap, tried with the Robird G31 with this rx, same problem.
PhantomGT is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2013, 08:30 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Default

Well I picked one of these up ..had issue binding but got it...

Last edited by ourbail; 09-07-2013 at 08:55 AM.. Reason: bind
ourbail is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2013, 12:08 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Default

Note about binding:If after binding your servos "chatter" or "jump" when providing input from the transmitter, this means your TX was too close to the RX during the binding process. This receiver is capable of long-range use and therefore is quite sensitive at extremely close distances. Move your TX a few feet away from the RX and re-bind -- the issue should go away.

Just found this for the guys that get the servo chatter......
ourbail is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2014, 09:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Default bind problems

hello guys, I'm having a problem getting my delta 8 to bind with my Aurora in ppm mode, no problem in standard plane mode.
would love some help and or ideas on what to try .

thanks guys
dredknot is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-25-2014, 04:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dredknot View Post
hello guys, I'm having a problem getting my delta 8 to bind with my Aurora in ppm mode, no problem in standard plane mode.
would love some help and or ideas on what to try .
thanks guys
Not a Hitec product, best refer to main thread:
. The Delta Receiver - Hitec, Futaba and FrSky compatible!

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1