Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2014, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,130
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default Add a "you have connected a flat battery" alarm

The Jeti DS/DC-16 firmware v3.0 has added a cool feature: telemetry controls. This means that telemetry values can be mapped as logical switches or even channels. This can be used to create a warning that tells you that you have connected a battery which is not fully charged.

Of course you can have a look on the screen upon startup, but an automatic voice warning is the way of the JETI! ;-)

Of course we want this alarm only when we connect the battery. We don't want the alarm to be triggered during flight! The warning should thus be disabled a few seconds after connecting the battery.

Ok, so this is how you do it. The example is using a Jeti Mezon ESC, but it should be doable with a MUI as well.

1. We need an event which is fired when the battery is connected. Create a telemetry control MX1:



Connect this telemetry control to the BEC voltage and set the threshold value to a rediculously low value so that it's always true when the battery is connected.

2. Create a sequence which disables our voltage warning after a few seconds:



As you can see, the sequence value is 100% at 0->3 seconds and then drops to zero. Use the MX1 telemetry control as a switch. This way, the sequence is run every time you (re)connect the battery on the heli. Clever!

3. In the advanced menu on Q1, set type to asymmetrical and "always finish sequence". Otherwise you may get false or double alerts:



4. Create another telemetry control MX2:



Use the Mezon's main battery voltage as sensor. Set your Condition to X < threshold. 4.1V per cell should be good, so on a 6S pack I'd put 24.6V here. Set duration to 0.2s so that you don't get false alarms if the voltage is fluctuating briefly while fiddling with the connector.

5. Set the telemetry control's switch to Q1, and set it REVERSED so that this control is only enabled for the three first seconds:



6. You should now have these telemetry controls:



7. Lastly, create a sound on event and connect it to the MX2 telemetry control:



Create a sound saying "It seems like you have inserted a flat battery. Are you stupid or something?" to this event.

Have fun!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1 mx1.jpg
Views:	1671
Size:	59.1 KB
ID:	506974   Click image for larger version

Name:	2 q1.jpg
Views:	1604
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	506975   Click image for larger version

Name:	3 q1 advanced.jpg
Views:	1586
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	506976   Click image for larger version

Name:	4 mx2.jpg
Views:	1559
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	506977   Click image for larger version

Name:	5 mx2 switch.jpg
Views:	1550
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	506978  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6 telemetry controls.jpg
Views:	1581
Size:	106.6 KB
ID:	506979   Click image for larger version

Name:	7 sound on event.jpg
Views:	1595
Size:	115.6 KB
ID:	506980  
Jotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2014, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,070
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Strong work!!!

And... Way to go Jeti!
__________________
Team - "Self Interests" -
Flying what I want to, simply because I enjoy it!
Seasick78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2014, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,696
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Perfect Thanks, I love screen shots
__________________
TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Goblin700, Axon Spirit, Jeti DC-24, Mezon,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
Extreme Flight MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, CB200, Cortex, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra + few jets
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2014, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Default

This is very cool!!!!!
__________________
Logo 480 XXtreme, Logo 550SX, Logo 690SX, Logo 800 XXtreme, TDR, Minicopter Diabolo 550, Minicopter Triabolo, Goblin 500, Goblin 700, Goblin 770, KDS Agile 5.5, Voodoo 600, Voodoo 400, HD Cell 500, Thunder Tiger E700
taosgraveyard is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2014, 09:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,260
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

this is very cool for those that use "capacity limit" in the KOSMIK. as I did kill a 7S battery by thinking my flight pack was charged but it was actually in storage mode...flew the flight pack until it shut down on LVC. :-(


Thanks for the info!
__________________
Greg Alderman
Warehouse/ Facilities Manager
[email protected]
Greg Alderman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2014, 11:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,070
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

Disregard... I figured it out.
__________________
Team - "Self Interests" -
Flying what I want to, simply because I enjoy it!
Seasick78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 01:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Jotto, great work...you are the ONE

ps: you can do screenshots directly with the Tx

Now you are on Esprit Model site ( http://file.espritmodel.com/newslett...letter-2014052 ) !!!!
__________________
Mirco

Last edited by gelatmi1; 05-06-2014 at 03:34 AM..
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 02:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gelatmi1 View Post
ps: you can do screenshots directly with the Tx
Yeah, I know... It was just so convenient to use the cell phone, because the photos are transferred directly to my PC when I do a snapshot ;-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gelatmi1 View Post
Now you are on Esprit Model site !!!!
Where?
Jotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 02:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Nevermind, I got the link from a friend
Jotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 03:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 869
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jotto View Post
Nevermind, I got the link from a friend

http://file.espritmodel.com/newslett...letter-2014052
__________________
Mirco
gelatmi1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 04:30 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 102
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Great work Jotto, much appreciated!
__________________
Gaui X7 | Gaui X3 3s (TT version) | Gaui X3 3s (Belt version) | Nano CPX..........JETI DS-16 Tx
NHENRY is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 12:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Great, now my radio is insulting me every time I connect a discharged battery in order to tweak the setup


Jotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2014, 12:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,696
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Masochist are you?

I think I will settle for the first part of the message only, I get put down enough by my friends at the field
__________________
TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Goblin700, Axon Spirit, Jeti DC-24, Mezon,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
Extreme Flight MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, CB200, Cortex, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra + few jets
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2014, 04:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Great work! Definitely going to use this.
How would you do it if you want the same thing for the rx lipo too?
I suppose you need another switch for the main lipo too in that case (not U BEC), but what?
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2014, 04:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,130
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dekker View Post
Great work! Definitely going to use this.
How would you do it if you want the same thing for the rx lipo too?
I suppose you need another switch for the main lipo too in that case (not U BEC), but what?
Good question. I think you can use the same MX1 and the same sequence, but add another telemetry control MX3 which reads the RX voltage.

On the other hand, most of your flights will not start with a fully charged RX lipo, as you typically do multiple flights per RX lipo.
Jotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2014, 05:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jotto View Post
On the other hand, most of your flights will not start with a fully charged RX lipo, as you typically do multiple flights per RX lipo.
I usually do 3 flights with one rx lipo and for me it would be enough if I get an announcement if the voltage were somewhere below 7.7V when connected, which it is when I have already done 3 flights with it.
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-13-2014, 10:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,070
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Default

This is working great on my two models with JLog 2.5. Unfortunately, the one with JLog 2.6 it won't work. JLog 2.6 seems to have several quirks about it.... Sigh...
__________________
Team - "Self Interests" -
Flying what I want to, simply because I enjoy it!
Seasick78 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2014, 12:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,911
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melb, Oz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dekker View Post
I usually do 3 flights with one rx lipo and for me it would be enough if I get an announcement if the voltage were somewhere below 7.7V when connected, which it is when I have already done 3 flights with it.
A standard alarm on the Rx voltage around 7.7V should work unless you are flying really long flights. You still have plenty of power left in the Rx pack and if the low Rx voltage warning comes on during the flight then you know you need to swap or charge it before the next flight. If you forget you will get the alarm when you plug in for the next flight as the Rx voltage will be below 7.7V anyway, it doesn't really need the trigger like with the main packs.

//Dennis.
__________________
soXos Strike 7 : soXos 600 : soXos 550 : soXos F3C
Protos 380 : soXos DB7 nightflyer : Jeti DS-16 : Mini Protos FBL Stretch : Logo 600
www.soxosaustralia.com.au | VTX blades | SLS Batteries | EGODRIFT motors
Thunder Fighter is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2014, 09:05 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,696
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seasick78 View Post
This is working great on my two models with JLog 2.5. Unfortunately, the one with JLog 2.6 it won't work. JLog 2.6 seems to have several quirks about it.... Sigh...
I think this is the sort of problems that will be seen with a lot of "other vendors" that tack on Jeti when upgrades happen. There seem to be a lot of it since v 3.0. But we can"t expect Jeti to go out of their ways to make gizmo from other competitors compatible.

Actually if they could they would be best to make sure they are not, that way we would buy more into Jeti and ditch the competitors
__________________
TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Goblin700, Axon Spirit, Jeti DC-24, Mezon,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
Extreme Flight MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, CB200, Cortex, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra + few jets
Puttputt maru is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2014, 09:26 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 24,001
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seasick78 View Post
This is working great on my two models with JLog 2.5. Unfortunately, the one with JLog 2.6 it won't work. JLog 2.6 seems to have several quirks about it.... Sigh...
It doesn't seem to be working with JLog 2.0 either, but I'm going to try a few more things.

FYI, you'll have to pry my Kontronik ESC's from my cold dead fingers. This is hardly a deal breaker.
__________________
Mark
mkovalcson is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1