Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2014, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

For some reason, today my ESC browned out and dropped to 5v after I had it set to 7.4v.
This is a hobbywing 50a v3

It was only a few times, I thought it may be a mechanical error and had to crash land at one point.

Then It smacked into the ground after a pitch pump next flight. Bad damage, when I tested on the bench sometimes when I plug it in it reads 7.4v through vbar sometimes it reads 5.3v, i'm not sure what the problem is here?

Is this an internal BEC issue or vbar issue?

this is a gaui x3.
__________________
Gaui X3 - V-Bar
Synergy E5 Super Stretch - V bar
Kentucky
Tek18x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-25-2014, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

It's a BEC issue. The BEC can't react to quick changes in load

Just put a small capacitor On it. 10v 2300 should be ok.


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 07:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbheliusr View Post
Just put a small capacitor On it. 10v 2300 should be ok.


Sent from my iPhone using (***WARNING*** Stop Spamming Helifreak)
what do ya mean
__________________
Gaui X3 - V-Bar
Synergy E5 Super Stretch - V bar
Kentucky
Tek18x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

This

http://www.ebay.com/itm/271422458037


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 07:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out




Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Mini vbar servo brown out

FWIW, on my 450, I had to go bigger. 3300, or maybe 4700, still allowed a brownout once while hovering. I went to 10V 6800uF, and it has been ok since.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 07:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedOctobyr View Post
FWIW, on my 450, I had to go bigger. 3300, or maybe 4700, still allowed a brownout once while hovering. I went to 10V 6800uF, and it has been ok since.

Sent using Tapatalk.
What if I got an external BEC, the castle 10a one.
__________________
Gaui X3 - V-Bar
Synergy E5 Super Stretch - V bar
Kentucky
Tek18x is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

You can so that. But I bet it would still happen. On 6s it doesn't put out anymore than a cc esc internal BEC.

The cap is the cheapest and easiest. It's also what the cap is meant to do. Smooth out voltage due to high amp changes.


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2014, 08:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

I use a 4700. And I would be happy to make one up for you and send it to you.


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 12:11 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2012
Default

Still at it, newb?

Seriously?.

EEngineer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 12:15 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

Well dude. Since it works. I see no problem. Perhaps you might want to take a trip to the vstabi website and see the testing they did. Now unless you want to spend $150 on BEC this is the best solution.

Besides. What is a capacitor for?


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 12:16 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Oct 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EEngineer View Post
Still at it, newb?

Seriously?.

Down boy.... Down....
__________________
Gaui X3 HW 50A V3 OMG H1/H2 Servo's BL450MX Mini-V (M.I.A.)
Gaui X5 FES Polaris BEC BLS451/251 Silverline V-Bar Formula Swash/Head
JR Forza 700 Scorp 160A opto + 4525 520 JR NX8925/SLG01 Vbar Neo
JR XG14 PL8 v2
mverhorst is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 12:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out

Quote:
Originally Posted by EEngineer View Post
Still at it, newb?

Seriously?.


Ya know man. I know what works. You can sit and quote all the engineering stuff. But I know this happens to work.

I had a logo 400 browning out on the bench with a cc 100 esc. Using the internal BEC. No capacitor I could actually watch the voltage drop below 4v. Add a capacitor it stopped browning out and never dropped more than a half volt. So please explain that. I'm sorry. But I'm sick of being ridiculed and made fun of by you.




Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 05:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Mini vbar servo brown out

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tek18x View Post
What if I got an external BEC, the castle 10a one.
I am using a Gryphon Polaris BEC, which is supposed to be decent, and still needed the capacitor. Different servos may have different requirements, of course.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 07:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

I run HV on all my heli's apart from the 700 F3C, for that I use the CC BEC Pro (20 amp) and a 2s lipo. I know it adds more weight but IMO the only way to get the full amps out of the BEC is via 2s, running 6s or 12s reduces the amperage output quite a bit.

Neve had any issues with the CC BEC or found the need for capacitors.
__________________
Velos 880 Neo, Logo 800 XX Vbar, T-Rex 800 Pro DFC Vbar, T-Rex 800 Trekker Vbar, T-Rex 700 Pro DFC Vbar, T-Rex 800 F3C Vbar, T-Rex 550E DFC Vbar, T-Rex 500 Pro DFC AR7200BX, T-Rex 450 Sport V2 AR7200BX, T-Rex 250 Pro AR7200BX, VController, DX9.
JohnTC02 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 11:20 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default

This is on a small 450 sized heli. I don't think using a second battery with a BEC is really an option here.
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 02:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 536
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default

Not that I have the same issue, but curious... do you just plug this into the mini vbar? any socket? Cap need to plug in with correct polarity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbheliusr View Post



Sent from my iPhone using (***WARNING*** Stop Spamming Helifreak)
__________________
GAUI X5, GAUI X3, GAUI 200 v2 FES, GAUI 100 FES, Blade 130x
fretman is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 03:26 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Mini vbar servo brown out

Polarity does matter with the capacitor, yes. The "-" lead should be marked.

I did not have any ports free, so I could not plug it into the Mini VBar directly.

You can use a Y-cable off the VBar, with the capacitor on one port, and another device on the other.

If buying a cap to make it yourself, you can also use a servo extension cable, and solder the capacitor's leads directly onto the middle of the extension.

If you're using a receiver, and it has spare ports, you could plug it in there.

Sent using Tapatalk.
__________________
Gaui X5, iKon, Edge 100, CC BEC Pro.
Tarot 450 Pro FBL, Mini VBar, Ice Lite 50.
BL mCP X, Nano QX, FrSky Taranis, iCharger 308Duo.
RedOctobyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 03:37 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,304
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Mini vbar servo brown out



Where it's grey. That's the neg side.


Sent from my iPhone using RCHN
__________________
Heli's I have:
Goblin 500 (Vbar Neo), Gaui X5(Vbar Neo), X7(Vbar Neo), Innova 600 Night heli (Vbar Neo Vbar Vcontrol
I'm the not so newbheliusr as I have been here a while. But I like this name.
newbheliusr is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2014, 03:39 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbheliusr View Post
This is on a small 450 sized heli. I don't think using a second battery with a BEC is really an option here.
Oh sorry I didn't realise, apologies.
__________________
Velos 880 Neo, Logo 800 XX Vbar, T-Rex 800 Pro DFC Vbar, T-Rex 800 Trekker Vbar, T-Rex 700 Pro DFC Vbar, T-Rex 800 F3C Vbar, T-Rex 550E DFC Vbar, T-Rex 500 Pro DFC AR7200BX, T-Rex 450 Sport V2 AR7200BX, T-Rex 250 Pro AR7200BX, VController, DX9.
JohnTC02 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1