Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Gryphon Electronics


Gryphon Electronics Gryphon Electronics Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2014, 06:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Questions about the Quasar BEC

Hi,

I have no experience using this BEC so I would like to ask questions about it.

I just got a used Quasar and I would like to know is why there is two connections for the FBL instead of one? Switch and Aux.

Can this be use just using one lead to the controller or it has to be two?

There are two red and black wires, which one goes to the controller?

I am using Mini Vbar and should I put in in Port C?

Many Thanks!

Last edited by cRash_landing; 08-19-2014 at 12:15 AM..
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-19-2014, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Hi.

When you say two connections, do you mean the red/black powerleads??

There are two because it can deliver so much amp that double wire are needed.
It's also a good safety :-)

But it all depends on which servos and heli it will power.

You don't have to use both, but it's recommended.
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2014, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RasmusDK View Post
Hi.

When you say two connections, do you mean the red/black powerleads??

There are two because it can deliver so much amp that double wire are needed.
It's also a good safety :-)

But it all depends on which servos and heli it will power.

You don't have to use both, but it's recommended.
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes there are two power leads on the back.

I am only running this on a 700 heli with low voltage servo, So it does not matter if I only put one set in my FBL controller?

Also I am reading a few Gyrphon Quasar Post here. Post #14

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=496507

I bought the quasar used, how do I know it is not an old LMT version? Do I have to concern myself about failure?

Will it matter if it is an old version?
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2014, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

You should use both wires for better safety.

And maybe combine with a backup device, - scorpion backup guard maybe.


I'm not sure how to check for old/new version.
But if it works with a bench tested with full load, you should be fine to go.


Btwdo remember, safety first.
Always use a backup device on this size of heli
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-19-2014, 03:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RasmusDK View Post
You should use both wires for better safety.

And maybe combine with a backup device, - scorpion backup guard maybe.


I'm not sure how to check for old/new version.
But if it works with a bench tested with full load, you should be fine to go.


Btwdo remember, safety first.
Always use a backup device on this size of heli
I wanted to use both wires but, I only have 3 ports available in my Mini Vbar.

1- ESC
2- BEC
3- Optiguard Backup
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2014, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Okay, yes that can be a problem.. but you can use a y-cable. I know its only going in the reciever in one plug, but you still would use both power leads
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2014, 07:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

So, make a Y harness and connect the ESC and BEC second wire to the ESC port?

Is that what are you saying?

It should be like this right?

1- BEC first wire
2- Y harness with the ESC and BEC second wire
3- Optiguard backup
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-20-2014, 09:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,393
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RasmusDK View Post
Okay, yes that can be a problem.. but you can use a y-cable. I know its only going in the reciever in one plug, but you still would use both power leads
Plugging both BEC power leads into a Y and then the one Y plug into a single port in the RX is no different than plugging only one of the BEC power wires into the RX.

It's the servo plug current limit that is the bottleneck, hence the two plugs to split the amp load over two different connections. Running both together into one plug accomplishes nothing unless I'm misunderstanding what you are saying
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2014, 12:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xrayted View Post
Plugging both BEC power leads into a Y and then the one Y plug into a single port in the RX is no different than plugging only one of the BEC power wires into the RX.

It's the servo plug current limit that is the bottleneck, hence the two plugs to split the amp load over two different connections. Running both together into one plug accomplishes nothing unless I'm misunderstanding what you are saying
I know... But it's the only way to use both wires if he want to use both.
But for amp. draw, it won't matter..
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2014, 01:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

That's the thing.

Do I really need to plug both power leads to my FBL unit?

Here is my setup

CC 120 Edge 120 HV
Savox SG-1258TG same as Align 610's
Futaba BLS 251
Mini Vbar with 2 Sats
Optiguard backup same as the Scorpion bug
Gryphon Quasar

I'm not running HV setup yet.
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2014, 07:40 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,393
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cRash_landing View Post
That's the thing.

Do I really need to plug both power leads to my FBL unit?

Here is my setup

CC 120 Edge 120 HV
Savox SG-1258TG same as Align 610's
Futaba BLS 251
Mini Vbar with 2 Sats
Optiguard backup same as the Scorpion bug
Gryphon Quasar

I'm not running HV setup yet.
The issue is a single servo plug is only rated for about 5 amps. Your BEC is rated for higher that that, but you won't be able to take advantage of that using only one plug, and plugging both into a Y and then back down into a single port is the exact same thing as just using one.

You can use a Y, as long as each one of the BEC leads ends up going to different ports on the FBL unit somehow, so the Y may need to be shared between one of the BEC leads and something else that's plugged in the FBL unit, not both BEC leads into the Y.


This irony I see here is you are using a backup guard which is taking up one of the ports, however using only one BEC lead means you will have a higher likelihood of having a brown out where the bug would be needed.

It's like installing an alarm on your car that disables the door locks.
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do

Last edited by Xrayted; 08-21-2014 at 07:53 PM..
Xrayted is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2014, 09:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 641
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Default

Could you maybe put a y cable between one bec wire and backup guard?
RasmusDK is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-21-2014, 11:01 AM   #13 (permalink)
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RasmusDK View Post
Could you maybe put a y cable between one bec wire and backup guard?
The problem is the Mini Vbar has only two power ports and the bug I was told that can be plug to any port.

RXA - Aux?
RXB - power port
RXC - power port

I found this last night while looking for answers

http://www.flpflightteam.co.uk/~flpfligh/?p=3897

He did the same here, not sure if it work though.

And the testing of the Quasar here

http://www.solarfreaks.com/gryphon-q...ting-t562.html

http://www.archeli.com.au/forums/sho...d.php?t=152609
cRash_landing is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1