Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2014, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default The right receiver to use with sims?

Trying to make up my mind on which receiver to end up using for the sim.

Price is not *that* important (all in all, there's $15 difference between the cheapest R4L/R4i and next cheapest R3).

Putting the paranoid hat on, I don't feel comfortable running the transmitter for hours to no end.

Does anyone know if Jeti protocol negotiates transmission power?

Looks like it'll make sense to use R4L/R4Li, since there's no telemetry in the sim anyway - am I missing anything here?

Somewhat on a tangent, is there any difference between R4L and R4Li other than antenna length?
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2014, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

I used to use an R6 because it had short antennas.

However I recently put it in a heli that was just sitting there, so I switched to using my DX8 for the sim.

At least that forgotten TX gets some use this way.
Groucho_ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-10-2014, 05:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho_ View Post
I used to use an R6 because it had short antennas.

However I recently put it in a heli that was just sitting there, so I switched to using my DX8 for the sim.

At least that forgotten TX gets some use this way.
The reason I started finally tinkering with Jeti and sims is because I had to send my DX6i in for service. Gotta say, the difference is night and day (I've never had a chance to fly the same airframe with Jeti and DX6i side to side before, whether sim or real, so there was no direct comparison).

I think I'll switch to Jeti completely even for sims, and just leave DX6i for my mCPX BL, which I don't really want to abandon, despite all of its shortcomings
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2014, 10:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 26,535
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: None-ya, but it's no secret
Default

I just use my Jeti for everything, just like I used to use my JR 11X for everything.

I prefer to sim on the exact same TX that I fly with.
__________________
Mark
mkovalcson is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2014, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

After long hesitation, bit the bullet and bought another R3 - if/when I get another model, I'll have a fully functional receiver ready and won't depend on whims of customs and delivery carriers.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2014, 05:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Can the tx just be plugged in via the USB, and recognised by the software as a games controller? Thought I read this in the instructions
Busher is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2014, 08:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,993
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

For a few ideas about setup have a look at this thread:
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...ight+simulator

Here is my USB adapter with R3 all bundle up with stickers:

__________________
TDSF, TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Drake & Raw, SpiritRS, Jeti DC-24,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
EF MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, PowerBox Mercury, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra and MXS 104+ few jets
Puttputt maru is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,436
 

Join Date: May 2006
Default

Nice Puttputt! I need to set mine up this way. Need to free up the long range receiver that I'm using now. I love the packaging. Which sim is that, BTW? Looks good.
__________________
Have laser, will travel.
cbdane is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 08:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puttputt maru View Post
Here is my USB adapter with R3 all bundle up with stickers:
You beat me to it After failing to use the AccuRC dongle for power, I too decided to use 5V power provided by any USB port. Your packaging is way nicer than mine, though
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 09:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Busher View Post
Can the tx just be plugged in via the USB, and recognised by the software as a games controller? Thought I read this in the instructions
I don't think this will be happening anytime soon, unless sim vendors get together and agree on a copy protection standard.

I believe the reason this won't be happening is vendor's reluctance to let others use their hardware - in that case, the market will need to be restructured, and that calls for a paradigm shift - a new class, dongle manufacturer, has to emerge, but that's a change, and change is a threat, and threat causes fear, and fear is a powerful dampening factor.

Out of three sims I have, only Heli-X can use a generic USB joystick interface (and, before I got myself a transmitter, I was learning to fly using a standard game joystick, later gamepad - not good for getting the right skills, but good enough to prove the point).

AccuRC dongle doesn't manifest itself as a game device at all.

RealFlight dongle does, but transmitter inputs don't translate to anything recognizable by Windows 'test joystick' dialog.

Is it technically possible to do what you said? Absolutely. But I won't be holding my breath waiting for it. The market niche is open, though - we've briefly touched this topic in a different thread, there's a dire need of a dongle "with a human face". BTW, If anyone's up to discussing this over PM with a purpose of materializing it, I'm all for it
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2014, 09:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,993
 

Join Date: May 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbdane View Post
Nice Puttputt! I need to set mine up this way. Need to free up the long range receiver that I'm using now. I love the packaging. Which sim is that, BTW? Looks good.
Aerofly, I have been tempted by others (I am using Heli-X for helicopters) but I hate having to go to a window emulation when I feel like using the sim. This is a fast plug and play on my iMac.
__________________
TDSF, TDR-II, Triabolo, 2 X TDR, Logo 700,Protos evoluzione, T-Rex 700Dominator, Drake & Raw, SpiritRS, Jeti DC-24,HW,Kosmik,Jive Pro
EF MXS 3W110, Ultimate Aeroworks 20-300, DA 170, PowerBox Mercury, Q80-8M in a 91" EF Extra and MXS 104+ few jets
Puttputt maru is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2014, 06:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 26,535
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: None-ya, but it's no secret
Default

My AccuRC dongle is providing power just fine. I'm not sure what happened with yours.
__________________
Mark
mkovalcson is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2014, 06:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkovalcson View Post
My AccuRC dongle is providing power just fine. I'm not sure what happened with yours.
Maybe just the cable from the dongle to the receiver is a bit too long (2m). What's the voltage your dongle provides?
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2015, 08:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 26,535
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: None-ya, but it's no secret
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by madeye View Post
Maybe just the cable from the dongle to the receiver is a bit too long (2m). What's the voltage your dongle provides?
I get 3.36V from the AccuRC dongle and it is driving an R7 without any problems. I've never had a problem with it.

The Receiver to Dongle wire I'm using is about 5-6".
__________________
Mark
mkovalcson is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2015, 05:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,417
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

Well, I just got myself an R7 Nano, and it's definitely the one to use for wireless simulator control.

It's tiny, and has a really short antenna. Some 3cm if I recall correctly. I folded the antenna under the heat shrink too, so that's not even an issue anyway.
Groucho_ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2015, 06:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,327
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho_ View Post
Well, I just got myself an R7 Nano, and it's definitely the one to use for wireless simulator control.

It's tiny, and has a really short antenna. Some 3cm if I recall correctly. I folded the antenna under the heat shrink too, so that's not even an issue anyway.
http://www.espritmodel.com/jeti-dupl...telemetry.aspx

"Note: This item is not for use in the US and Canada (Pending FCC/IC Certification)!!!"

Bummer.
__________________
DX6i, Jeti DS-16
MCPX BL, Mini Protos 6S, Stingray 500, SG704 post-maiden tuneup, SG381 in the making
Brain, SK 720, Spirit Pro, Brain2; HW, Kosmik
Heli-X, AccuRC, RF 7.5 Transmitter Interface Edition
madeye is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2015, 06:32 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 26,535
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: None-ya, but it's no secret
Default

Awww...... That is so cute!

HH owns the micro heli market, but I'm sure there are a pile of applications for a tiny receiver like this.

Good job Jeti!!!

__________________
Mark
mkovalcson is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1