Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > Gimbals


Gimbals Gimbals


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2014, 08:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Arris CM3000 Pro

Picked up a CM3000 Pro to give it a shot, it was on sale last week for $309 so i said why not. I like the connection box for ease of control and gives it a clean look. I havent mounted it yet, but connected to the basecam software played around with some settings and also upgraded to the lastest firmware, everything works like it should. Cant wait to get some flight time on it...

32bit 3axis AlexMos board, firmware upgradeable

http://www.hobby-wing.com/arris-cm30...or-gimbal.html

__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-16-2014, 04:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

All the motors seem pretty "notchy". Not so much as being bad bearings but strong magnets. Which is making balancing the gimbal almost impossible. Somtimes its hard to tell if its a balance issue or just hanging up on a magnet.

Issue, i can set 9g's on the roll axis to help balance, but thats setting on a magnet "area" and kind of settling into the resistance area. Does that even make sense? Haha. Ill get some video tomorrow of it flying, which isnt bad, but im surely no expert.

Theres no adjustability in the frame or clocking of the motors. So im kind of confused here. Maybe im over thinking this, but c'mon we all tinker and want the best results, its what we do...lol

Any ideas for balancing a gimbal with motors that appear as notchy from their magnets? Strong enough to hold the gopro off axis in either direction and not "stopping/centering" where the gopro is level.

Hopefully some of that makes sense haha
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2014, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

Got it balanced fairly well after messing around some. Pitch and roll each took about 2.5grams to balance the camera since adjusting the frame isnt possible. A penny was about perfect, stuck to the frame.

The yaw axis was just down right BAD! Im gonna look into modifying the frame for adjustability. It took almost 22grams hanging off the back of the board area to balance the yaw. I checked and rechecked that one but sure enough. Thats why i wanna slide the frame if possible, atleast cut down on some of that counter weight.
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2015, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

Should I be worried that you are having problems with this gimbal? I purchased mine and waiting for delivery.

Which radio are you going to use? Which quad? What is your intended setup approach... connect to separate receiver or connect into quad receiver?

I'll be trying to connect the CM3000 PRO to my Blade 350 QX3. I'm hoping to connect up to quad board since it had two extra channels.
pinchio is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2015, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

It was just out of balance. Fixed that and acted better. Make sure to update software and firmware, mine had to be. I left mine at factory settings but changed a few offsets/limits.

Although i still bang my head trying to find perfect forward facing everytime. Maybe its me maybe its not but thats what give me issues.

I use a dx8, pretty much only use tilt, basic f450 with naza. I added another rx one time and gave my buddy full control via my spare dx6i. It was fun.

I have no experience with that setup, sorry.

I rarely rarely use mine. Maybe once a month if something pops in my head. Lol
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2015, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2014
Default

two months later, the price finally reach $279. This might be the lowest price ever.

2014 ARRIS CM3000pro Gopro Hero3 3-Axis Brushless Motor Gimbal(32bit Version)
HW_Nancy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2015, 11:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

Heck id prolly sell mine for that haha
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2015, 09:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 705
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Default

Are you using gopro 3 or 4 apparently the 4 is 12 grams heavier and the gimbal was designed for the 3 and 3+
__________________
- Goblin 700, Sk540, ICE2 HV160, Quantum 4530-500, MKS Tail, Outrage Torq Cyclics
- Kasama Srimok Faifa 90e, VBar 5.3 Pro, ICE2 HV120, Scorpion 4035-500kv
- Gaui X5, mini vbar
- Trex 250 se
Bruno28 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2015, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

I have the same gimbal and I'm using the GoPro 3+ black edition. I can honestly say that i'm having trouble balancing the camera. A little extra weight on the motor side of the camera mount and it works. Otherwise the camera tilts to right (looking at camera from front of quad).
pinchio is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2015, 01:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,201
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Default

Same as above. Hero3+ like its designed for and mine was waaaay out of balance.

They should have slotted the frame to be able to slide it around for balancing. If that was the case i could shave off almost 27grams of total ballast weight.

2.5g on roll
2.5g on tilt
22g on yaw
__________________
No I didn't misspell Daneger, my name is Dane..get it?
"Flyin' high again..." -Ozzy Osbourne
daneger21 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2015, 12:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneger21 View Post
Same as above. Hero3+ like its designed for and mine was waaaay out of balance.

They should have slotted the frame to be able to slide it around for balancing. If that was the case i could shave off almost 27grams of total ballast weight.

2.5g on roll
2.5g on tilt
22g on yaw
Does yaw really matter? Slot the roll motor mounting holes horizontally? $259 now.
__________________
1.2M Bulgarian Mystic C5000 Twin 12S TP 4070s Castle HV 160s Octura X457s
Altimat is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2015, 07:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

So what is everyone thoughts of the CM3000 Pro after flying with it? I am hoping to buy the CM3000 Pro to replace my Align G2 on my 690.
DodgeViper is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2015, 02:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2007
Default

I'm thinking of selling my new CM3000 PRO. I don't really have a need for it now that I'm into racing. First $200 bucks takes it. Buyer to pay shipping.

Let me know
pinchio is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2015, 07:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinchio View Post
I'm thinking of selling my new CM3000 PRO. I don't really have a need for it now that I'm into racing. First $200 bucks takes it. Buyer to pay shipping.

Let me know
Hi pinchio,

I might by interested in buying you CM3000 Pro gimbal. Is it still available?

Could you send some pictures and details (how many flights, general state, controller board version...)?

Could you also tell me the dimensions and weight so I can estimate the shipment to Belgium.

Best regards :-)
nicbk117 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2015, 04:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
HF MR Support
 
Posts: 4,534
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daneger21 View Post
Same as above. Hero3+ like its designed for and mine was waaaay out of balance.

They should have slotted the frame to be able to slide it around for balancing. If that was the case i could shave off almost 27grams of total ballast weight.

2.5g on roll
2.5g on tilt
22g on yaw
Hey Dane, thanks for the feedback on this. Sounds like they may have a bit more baking to do.
__________________
3 years cancer free! Woot!! ~ Cancer can kiss my grits! Ainokea!
If you never crash, you're not having enough fun!

Pilot, Team Lavaquad
Big Island Guy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2015, 08:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 873
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2004
Default

I just bought one for $219.00+ shipping
http://www.hobby-wing.com/arris-cm30...or-gimbal.html
__________________
-----------------------------------Married with Helicopters----------------------------------
Billigan is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2015, 12:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

I got mine from their US WAREHOUSE at $229 http://www.arrishobby.com/arris-cm30...version-p-2909

Free shipping, can not wait for it!
flyingheli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1