Just got a phantom 1.1.1 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > Multi Rotor Support > DJI Multirotor Support > Phantom Multirotor Support


Phantom Multirotor Support Phantom Multirotor Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2015, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: delphos, ohio
Default Just got a phantom 1.1.1

Hey guys. I just got a phantom 1.1.1. I can't try it out yet thoroughly until after the rain stops :-(... This thing is awesome so far (from what I can tell in the garage). Why am I so scared of this thing. I am afraid I am going to lose it or break it. Any advice before I go out tomorrow morning and really fly her?
edwart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2015, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Default

Just don't take off until your locked on all sats . I took off once without being locked on all sats and I had a fly away but with a happy endings . I found my phantom 2'miles away .
Morrchew is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2015, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: delphos, ohio
Default

Well its really windy outside so I wasn't able to go crazy with her. Has to be easy and not go very high. Nice test for my gopro hero though. I'll get used to it. The wind is about 20,mph here this morning. Really ruined my morning lol
edwart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2015, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: delphos, ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morrchew View Post
Just don't take off until your locked on all sats . I took off once without being locked on all sats and I had a fly away but with a happy endings . I found my phantom 2'miles away .
Yeah I read that. I did a lot of research on it before I even turned it on. I do the calibration dance with her before every flight too just to be sure.
edwart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 04:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
HF MR Support
 
Posts: 4,534
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kea'au, Hawaii
Default

That's a great little bird to start out with! I put well over a thousand flights on mine before I passed it along to my brother, who still flies it!!

Just FYI, while it is indeed important to get the green light on the satellites before you hit the throttle, there is no need to do the compass calibration dance with every flight or flying session For that matter, once done, you don't need to do that again unless you: A) Modify your bird in any way that adds/removes/moves metal parts B) Inadvertently expose it to a strong magnetic field or C) Move the bird a long way (as in hundreds of miles) from where its compass was last calibrated.

Have fun!!
__________________
3 years cancer free! Woot!! ~ Cancer can kiss my grits! Ainokea!
If you never crash, you're not having enough fun!

Pilot, Team Lavaquad
Big Island Guy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 01:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 179
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Default

As Big Island Guy says plus...

Do a compass recal if the bird hovers in slight circular motion (called the toilet bowl effect). My Phantom V1.1.1 was fine for a year or so until it gradually got this effect. Compass recal cured.

Time your flights with a cheap timer that bleeps at time up.
We get 8 mins caning them around, maybe 10 mins if being more sedate.
(we don't use the V1s with a camera, just for mad flying around).

Eventually do the GPS lead mod to get far faster satellite lock.
(remove top, disconnect GPS lead, carefully peel up the copper screening foam, put the GPS lead under it, re-stick foam, reconnect lead, and refit top).
__________________
DX7s
MSRX | 120SR |130X | 550X
MQX | 200QX | Phantom V1.1.1 | Phantom V3 Advanced

Last edited by r44flyer; 12-28-2015 at 07:07 PM.. Reason: Clarity
r44flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 03:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ...
Default

You got a link to that mod? Your description doesn't make sense.

EDIT: I found some YT vids but they're just doing that on the higher end models. I've never had any GPS lock issues. But then living where I do I get good GPS coverage.
setishock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 07:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 179
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Default

The positioning of the multicore lead can be crucial to good GPS lock.
The lead is initially outside of the foam covered copper screen and putting the lead underneath the screen seems to make a big difference.

Yes it makes even more difference on the P2 models.
My P2 took ages to get GPS lock until the cable was re-routed.
My P1 now gets lock quicker.

I didn't really want to do a full "how to" because of the info and videos already out there.
Was a teaser for you to do so (and you did).
__________________
DX7s
MSRX | 120SR |130X | 550X
MQX | 200QX | Phantom V1.1.1 | Phantom V3 Advanced
r44flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 07:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: delphos, ohio
Default

I usually only have to wait 3 minutes for multiple green lights (GPS lock). Is there any reason I should have to do this mod? I'm guess I get decent coverage here in my area 45833
edwart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2015, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: ...
Default

Not really unless your an impatient sort. if you're going through the start up cycle in 3 minutes, that's about average.
As you know wait for the rapid series of green blinks before you take off. Have fun with it. It's a pretty rugged bird. I've done several cartwheels across the yard and didn't hurt it.

Make sure you go in to the programming and that the sticks are going full travel and in the right directions.
Most other settings at default will work just fine.

Have you upgraded the firmware to V2?
setishock is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2015, 07:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 179
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwart View Post
I usually only have to wait 3 minutes for multiple green lights (GPS lock). Is there any reason I should have to do this mod? I'm guess I get decent coverage here in my area 45833
The first power up of the day takes longer to obtain GPS lock.
You should also see 2 incidences of rapid flashing green lights, the first means compass lock, the second means full home GPS lock.

1 to 2 minutes is more usual for full lock on the first flight of the day with few obstructions.
On subsequent flights lock should be much quicker, typically 30 to 40 seconds.
So you might benefit from the mod.

It's easy enough to do - watch the videos - and make sure the top is re-fitted the correct way round - don't overtighten screws.
Peel foam screen carefully, do not press hard on GPS module.

See photo - lay cable flat under screen along dotted line.

__________________
DX7s
MSRX | 120SR |130X | 550X
MQX | 200QX | Phantom V1.1.1 | Phantom V3 Advanced
r44flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2016, 11:06 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: delphos, ohio
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
Not really unless your an impatient sort. if you're going through the start up cycle in 3 minutes, that's about average.
As you know wait for the rapid series of green blinks before you take off. Have fun with it. It's a pretty rugged bird. I've done several cartwheels across the yard and didn't hurt it.

Make sure you go in to the programming and that the sticks are going full travel and in the right directions.
Most other settings at default will work just fine.

Have you upgraded the firmware to V2?
Not sure. I don't knowhow to do that.
edwart is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-01-2016, 12:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 179
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leeds, UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edwart View Post
Not sure. I don't knowhow to do that.
Does that mean you have not connected your Phantom to the DJI Assistant Software on a PC or MAC via a USB cable?

There are still some important things to do if not.
__________________
DX7s
MSRX | 120SR |130X | 550X
MQX | 200QX | Phantom V1.1.1 | Phantom V3 Advanced
r44flyer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2016, 12:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
HF MR Support
 
Posts: 851
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Default

One thing I noticed that was not mentioned but is very important is make sure your phantom (as well as any model) sits outside to acclimate to the flying environment. Now that the weather is getting colder let it sit outside for at least 10 minutes before connecting the battery!
Skapr1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2016, 01:34 AM   #15 (permalink)
HF MR Support
 
Posts: 4,534
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Kea'au, Hawaii
Default

Good point on the acclimatization, Skapr1. It's something we never think about here, except that I do try to keep all electronics away from any automobile AC ducts, so as to avoid issues with condensation when I get it out into the humid air we have here.
__________________
3 years cancer free! Woot!! ~ Cancer can kiss my grits! Ainokea!
If you never crash, you're not having enough fun!

Pilot, Team Lavaquad
Big Island Guy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1