Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Spartan RC > Spartan Vortex


Spartan Vortex Spartan RC - Vortex VX1 Factory Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2016, 12:59 AM   #141 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,085
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

Timing is perfect. Spring is just around the corner and my REX7 is just waiting for the update. I suspect it will be here in plenty of time.

Thank you again Angelos!
markrj is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-20-2016, 09:16 AM   #142 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markrj View Post
Timing is perfect. Spring is just around the corner and my REX7 is just waiting for the update. I suspect it will be here in plenty of time.

Thank you again Angelos!
Me too!
__________________
Team Only Fine Helis
Flown on Jeti DS-16, Brain2, RCHN #222
MKS Servos, Scorpion Tribunus, MSH P700, Synergy 766, e5s, N5cTT, & 516
Dmaxison is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2016, 10:02 AM   #143 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

Jeti is still working on an official update for the REX receivers. From my understanding it will include other changes besides what was needed for the Vortex.

I asked if could let people use the beta firmware I got for testing and they were ok with it. However, they asked me to pass the message that everyone should update to the official release as soon as it becomes available.

Here is the file for the REX receivers:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4o1biqt6uy..._beta.exe?dl=0
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2016, 10:17 AM   #144 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelos View Post
Jeti is still working on an official update for the REX receivers. From my understanding it will include other changes besides what was needed for the Vortex.

I asked if could let people use the beta firmware I got for testing and they were ok with it. However, they asked me to pass the message that everyone should update to the official release as soon as it becomes available.

Here is the file for the REX receivers:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/4o1biqt6uy..._beta.exe?dl=0
Best support ever!
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2016, 11:52 AM   #145 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Default

Did a quick check this morning, and it does work!

I played around with the menus a little, and while I'm completely unfamiliar with the Spartan setup process (never used the datapod or studio), it looks like everything is there to set it up.

Bravo!
__________________

Fauropitotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2016, 12:09 PM   #146 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fauropitotto View Post
Did a quick check this morning, and it does work!

I played around with the menus a little, and while I'm completely unfamiliar with the Spartan setup process (never used the datapod or studio), it looks like everything is there to set it up.

Bravo!
If you've never done it before, the Spartan Studio is the easiest way to do the setup as it includes all the diagrams and help text guiding you through the setup.

If you download Spartan Studio, there's a demo mode, so you can get a feel for the setup steps without actually connecting anything.

The Jeti integration is going to be awesome for tuning at the field though! I've got the REX receivers on my Gaui X3 and Trex 600N updated and both are working fine, including a MUI telemetry sensor on my X3.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2016, 03:59 AM   #147 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

Our Blade 180 CFX gets a Jeti R7 Nano receiver. That saves a fair bit of weight and now it can fly good whilst the Vortex VX1p can keep full menu integration with the TX.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Blade180_Jeti_R7_Nano_640x480px.jpg
Views:	1411
Size:	101.1 KB
ID:	636925  
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2016, 04:51 AM   #148 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

BTW, anyone else tried REX receivers using the update?
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2016, 04:58 AM   #149 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Yes, works perfectly with REX6.

Btw: is it possible to integrate vibration analysis for the Vx1 in the Jeti system as well or is this technically impossible?
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2016, 02:07 PM   #150 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelos View Post
BTW, anyone else tried REX receivers using the update?
Uploaded last night. Seems to work just fine. Thanks for pushing things along! Looking forward to finishing a build in the coming days.
__________________
Team Only Fine Helis
Flown on Jeti DS-16, Brain2, RCHN #222
MKS Servos, Scorpion Tribunus, MSH P700, Synergy 766, e5s, N5cTT, & 516
Dmaxison is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2016, 10:07 PM   #151 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,891
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Default

I had an irritating failure of a USB OTG cable today with my other FBL...so I made the decision to finally make the switch and convert to the Vortex.

Setup was done through the Studio/Datapod to make it easy to read the descriptions as part of the setup, but it's difficult to put into words how comforting it is knowing that I don't have to worry about USB cables, charging my tablet, struggling with the touchscreen.

Will maiden the Vortex next weekend. It appears that everything accessible through the Studio can be accessed and adjusted through the Jeti. Awesome.
__________________

Fauropitotto is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 12:09 AM   #152 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,857
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fauropitotto View Post
Will maiden the Vortex next weekend. It appears that everything accessible through the Studio can be accessed and adjusted through the Jeti. Awesome.
With the Jeti and Vortex integration it makes things much easier at the field. I flew one of my helis last week for the first time with my Jeti/vortex. It was great to just land and adjust right there. No more walking back to the pit, hooking up the datapod to adjust.
__________________
T-Rex 700 Dominator vx1e, Goblin 570 vx1e, T-Rex 600N DFC vx1e, Jeti Ds-14
NSFlyer12 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 01:20 AM   #153 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Yup. But what I really love is having all the choices. If you're doing a fresh setup it's so much easier to fire up the Spartan Studio software. And the DataPod is great for tinkering on a model.

But the wireless setup with the Jeti is really sweet. This was the first weekend we've had in ages with decent weather so the guys at my field got a chance to see the Jeti. I even trimmed the swash after a maiden flight on one of my models, it's stupidly easy. Just land, tweak, fly, repeat. I didn't even have to move.

And the live rpm output is nice too. I wasn't sure of the RPM I was getting on one model, so had one of the guys read that while I was flying. No faffing about with tachs to check your headspeed, he just leant over and read it.

And I think that's what I like most, less faffing about, and more flying :-)
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 04:20 AM   #154 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myxiplx View Post
And the live rpm output is nice too. I wasn't sure of the RPM I was getting on one model, so had one of the guys read that while I was flying. No faffing about with tachs to check your headspeed, he just leant over and read it.
No need for a buddy: with a Jeti you can let the tx call out the rpm for you:
I have a momentary switch assigned for that to call out the rpm at anytime I want.
You can also assign it to for example one of the accelerometer sensors.
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 06:16 AM   #155 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,481
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Default

Two questions:

1). Can the trim flight and adjustments be done from the Jeti?

2). How do you get rpm measurements? Do you need a Jeti esc?
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 3, Goblin 380, 500, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Brain/Ikon 2, Spartan VX1e, Sk 720, YGE and Hobbywing.
Shogun71 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 11:32 AM   #156 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 905
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shogun71 View Post
Two questions:

1). Can the trim flight and adjustments be done from the Jeti?

2). How do you get rpm measurements? Do you need a Jeti esc?
1) I suppose you can start it but readout of the results probably need the Datapod, but I have not tested it.

2) Three options:
1: Use a Jeti Mezon esc
2: Use Jlog (for Kosmik & Jive)
3: Use Unisens-E from SM modellbau (works with whatever esc you have)
__________________
Raptor E700: PowerDekker Pyro650, JR DS8925HV & SPG01, 12s, Vortex VX1, Kosmik160, Jeti DS-16
_Dekker is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 11:39 AM   #157 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,341
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2005
Default

The Vortex also reports RPM inside its own menus (not in the telemetry screen).
__________________
SPARTANRC - R&D

Angelos is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 12:44 PM   #158 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Dekker View Post
No need for a buddy: with a Jeti you can let the tx call out the rpm for you:
I have a momentary switch assigned for that to call out the rpm at anytime I want.
You can also assign it to for example one of the accelerometer sensors.
Only if it's telemetry. Jeti don't have a way for FBL controllers using EX-Bus to also send out telemetry. Since my ESC rpm sensor plugs straight my Vortex I can see it on screen, but it can't read it out.
__________________
Helis: Oxy 4 Max (day + night), Gaui X3 380, Oxy2 FE 215, Oxy2 Sport 190
Electronics: Spartan Vortex, MSH Brain, Jeti DS-14
Sims: RealFlight & AccuRC
Other: Team rep for Lynx/Oxy, working on NightWave Systems
myxiplx is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 01:35 PM   #159 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 4,989
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chrisitansburg VA USA
Default

REX receivers...
__________________
Jeti DS14us -- TT e700 -- 6s Logo600se UL -- Logo600-3d -- Logo500 UL -- Charge Case
prototype3a is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-29-2016, 08:45 PM   #160 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,318
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Log packet errors

Angelos,
You're probably aware of this already, but with 4.50 and 4.51 firmware I'm seeing the "receiver packet error" repeatedly in the logs. Everything looks to be functioning fine on the bench but this is in the logs. Every boot looks the same. Jeti ExBus protocol REX beta release.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	receiver packet errors.jpg
Views:	400
Size:	108.8 KB
ID:	638105  
__________________
Team Only Fine Helis
Flown on Jeti DS-16, Brain2, RCHN #222
MKS Servos, Scorpion Tribunus, MSH P700, Synergy 766, e5s, N5cTT, & 516
Dmaxison is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1