Can I use my Flymentor on a new heli? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Flight Stabilization


Flight Stabilization Flight Stabilization


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2017, 12:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Michigan, USA
Default Can I use my Flymentor on a new heli?

I just put together a T-rex clone...do I have to buy a 3D gyro and setup the mixes in my radio and hover the heli before I can install the Flymentor or is it ok to level the swash and go straight to installing the Flymentor?
jerrit1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-18-2017, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Aberdeen, UK
Default

Not sure what you mean by a '3D Gyro' ? Is this a flybar or flybarless heli?

If flybar then as i understand it the flymentor has a built in tail gyro, so you dont need any other gyro.

If flybarless then AFAIK the flybar isn't really suitable, I think i read somewhere that someone managed to get one working on a flybarless heli but it's not really what they were meant for and there are many much better stabilising options these days.
__________________
Gob 700 Speed | Gob 770 Comp | Gob 630 Comp | Trex 700X | KDS Agile 7.2 | Compass 7HV U | Trex 600Pro (626 stretch) | Kasama Dune 600 | KDS Chase 360 | Devil 420 | XLPower 520
Grumpy_Old_Man is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2017, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Michigan, USA
Default

sorry, its a T-rex with flybar. Do I need to fly the heli first as if I was not going to use the flymentor? then remove the 3 axis gyro and of course remove the CCPM mixing from my radio (or really setup a new model with regular airplane type setup) before installing the Flymentor?
jerrit1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2017, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Default

If only Flymentor had incorporated a barometer into the unit to maintain stable height,it would have been an excellent autopilot.I had one on a 450 for a few years and it worked well.You set it up with a menu on your computer screen,quite simple really but only designed for flybar helis.
helibeli is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2017, 06:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Michigan, USA
Default

is anyone able to answer my question? Do I need to first fly my heli without the Flymentor before adding it to the heli?
jerrit1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2017, 07:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 17,655
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Long Island, NY AMA#972083 FAA#FA397AT9NF
Default

To answer your original question:
It would be wise to ensure your helicopter is mechanically setup correctly and flies without issue prior to installing and setting up the Flymentor.

Either case you plan on using FM along with its included tail gyro or a separate tail gyro.
Then follow these prescribed instructions:
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=260629
__________________

nightflyr is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1