Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Jeti Duplex Radio Systems


Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Jeti Duplex Radio Systems Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2017, 10:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Elma new york
Default jeti buddy box to spec dx 8

Hello has anyone used a jeti tx to buddy box to a spec dx8 tx
if so any help would be app
J Amo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2017, 02:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,098
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

Do you want the Jeti to be the master or slave transmitter?
__________________
-----------------------------
Nick Crego
#0168
Eury is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2017, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Elma new york
Default

Jeti would be the master
J Amo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-25-2017, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,098
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...less-buddy-box

That tells how to do it.
Eury is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 07:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: raleigh
Default

i believe all you need to do is feed CPPM into the sim/trainer port on the main board of the Jeti and configure the port in the Jeti's setup. you can get 3.7 volts (1s lipo), ground, and the CPPM input from the port. it is the same port used for the module bay addition. all that is required would be a mating plug and a spektrum CPPM receiver that operates on 3.7 volts. by the way, you can also purchase a linker module from aloft hobbies and use it in conjunction with an after market jeti-module bay and that same spektrum receiver, although the linker would require a bit of tinkering as it is made to work with frsky receivers.

the attached photo shows the plug. orange is power, black is ground, and yellow is CPPM. you can purchase the plug from the manufacturer of the plug (i have the model and manufacturer of the plug at home and can provide it if you want but you'll need to buy in quantities of 50) or you can purchase a PPM jack cable from esprit model and add the power wire to the plug.

by the way, I use a special tool i made from a ground down screwdriver to terminate the wires in that plug.


edit: i'm waiting to be infracted for this post too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160127_200307.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	732554   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170223_212217.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	49.1 KB
ID:	732555  
Raleighcopter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 08:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: raleigh
Default

i haven't tried this but it looks like th e4th position on the plug is used for CPPM in.

https://www.helifreak.com/showthread...77#post5523477
Raleighcopter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,098
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

You can do that too, thatís my video and post and I did it for a while after coming up with it. That was before the R3 option was available, though, and frankly, itís inferior to the built in wireless trainer system from Jeti.
Eury is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 11:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: raleigh
Default

for me, it's about options. the more the better.
Raleighcopter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Elma new york
Default

I was just thinking of using a cable to connect both transmitters. My
son may not stay interested in the helis,so looking for something as
simple and cheap as possible. Like just the cable . So they wont sell the plug that I need in the US?
J Amo is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 04:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,098
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

You can make one yourself using the video and post I made way back when that Raleighcopter linked to. You can also order it from overseas if Esprit wonít sell it.
Eury is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-26-2017, 07:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: raleigh
Default

PM me your address and I'll drop a blank plug in the mail. I've got a few extras.
Raleighcopter is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2017, 09:11 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,344
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

All you need is a jeti R3/RSW receiver.

There is a different firmware that changes it to a transmitter.

I have a cable going from my DX9 to my R3 with a PPM output from the DX9 connected to a 2s battery for power.

So plug R3 into DX9, bind the R3 receiver to the Jeti as a slave, adjust some end points in the DX9 to give full throw on the control surfaces and bag! Wireless buddy boxing and no changes/drilling to my Jeti.

It works well enough for my daughter to learn to fly planes....
__________________
Rob
Team pilot Lynx Heli Innovations.
Jeti DS-16, Oxy 3, Goblin 380, 500, 630, and 700 competition, Airwolf 600 scale heli, Brain/Ikon 2, Spartan VX1e, Sk 720, YGE and Hobbywing.
Shogun71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1