Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Compass Helicopters > Atom 500


Atom 500 Compass Atom 500 Model Helicopter Discussion


Like Tree7Likes
  • 1 Post By ARM_Coder
  • 1 Post By ARM_Coder
  • 2 Post By ARM_Coder
  • 2 Post By ARM_Coder
  • 1 Post By Wargamer
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2017, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default Satellite and bec??

Just wondering do i need a separate bec and satellite rx for my atom 500? Im using a ar 7200 bx and hobbywing 100amp esc. Tx is dx6. Thanks.
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2017, 10:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,777
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Default

I highly recommend a sat so you get radio path diversity. Just be careful with the wiring, because a sat with a flaky cable can do nasty things.

In my Atom 5.5 I use a separate Hobbywing 5A BEC, but I'm not sure whether it's really mandatory. My ESC is a Hobbywing Platinum Pro 60 Amp.

Cheers!
Ah Clem likes this.
__________________
We are made of star stuff.

Compass 7HV / Atom 6HVU / Atom 5.5 / Align Trex 500L / Spektrum DX8
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Thanks. I tried my spectrum sattelite but during the binding process the light came on during binding but went out afterwards? Will not stay lit but ar 7200 bx bound properly.
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 02:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,777
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helionfire View Post
Thanks. I tried my spectrum sattelite but during the binding process the light came on during binding but went out afterwards? Will not stay lit but ar 7200 bx bound properly.
Check wiring.

Check whether your sat is DSMX and not DSM2.

Redo the binding, but moving your TX some meters away. Sometimes the received signal is so strong that the binding goes wrong.

Cheers!
Ah Clem likes this.
__________________
We are made of star stuff.

Compass 7HV / Atom 6HVU / Atom 5.5 / Align Trex 500L / Spektrum DX8
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,338
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ARM_Coder View Post
Check wiring.

Check whether your sat is DSMX and not DSM2.

Redo the binding, but moving your TX some meters away. Sometimes the received signal is so strong that the binding goes wrong.

Cheers!
+1. It could be a wiring issue. I am also using the AR7200BX on my two Atoms... Both have satellites.

__________________
KBDD Team Pilot / Team Rage-RC
Compass Chronos | 7HVU | 550U | Atom 5.5 | Atom 500 | Gaui X3 #1 | X3 #2
cyclo is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Why wont dsm2 work?
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 03:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,777
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helionfire View Post
Why wont dsm2 work?
DSM2 is not compatible with DSMX. The AR7200BX is DSMX as far as I remember.
Ah Clem and cyclo like this.
__________________
We are made of star stuff.

Compass 7HV / Atom 6HVU / Atom 5.5 / Align Trex 500L / Spektrum DX8
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Thank you all for your replies. The satellite i used did not have the x on the case. One more question.....i do have a dsmx sat reciever on my warp 360. If i take that one off will it affect anything? Figured i would use that one since they say a sat rx is mandatory for 500 and up size helis.
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,777
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Default

I always played on the safe side, using sats even in small helis, but if I had to opt between a smaller and a larger heli, the sat would go to the larger heli, no doubt.

The larger heli has more mass, so it will shadow the received signal more than a smaller heli. Being larger, you will most likely send it farther away. In all honesty, I don't think a Warp-sized heli really needs a sat, but when I had a Warp, I equipped it with a sat, to be (or feel) safer.

You be the judge.

Edit: Just to make it sure, I would never fly a 550+ sized helicopter without a sat. Even a 500 would make me quite nervous...

Cheers!
Ah Clem and cyclo like this.
__________________
We are made of star stuff.

Compass 7HV / Atom 6HVU / Atom 5.5 / Align Trex 500L / Spektrum DX8
ARM_Coder is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 05:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New England
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helionfire View Post
One more question.....i do have a dsmx sat reciever on my warp 360. If i take that one off will it affect anything? Figured i would use that one since they say a sat rx is mandatory for 500 and up size helis.
Your Warp 360 will be fine with just one Rx, or even just a single sat as the Rx. The Atom really needs two to play it safe. So moving your spare sat from the Warp to the Atom would be a good move. Also, if looking for sats in the future, the Lemon DSMX sats are every bit as good as the Spektrums, and will cost you about $10 rather than $35. (They are not clones...)

On BECs, I have a HW 80A on my Atom and the built in BEC is just fine.
cyclo likes this.
__________________
Compass Atom 5.5; Oxy 2/3
XK K110 K120
Wargamer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 06:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Thank you all again for the info. Happy new years to you all!!
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2017, 08:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Yes the dsmx satellite bound perfectly to the ar 7200bx. Thanks again. My bad on my lack of knowledge.
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2017, 01:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New England
Default

Lack of knowledge is just an opportunity to experience the pleasure of learning something new! This is a crazy deep hobby with so much to learn. Enough new things to keep us all happily occupied pretty much forever.
__________________
Compass Atom 5.5; Oxy 2/3
XK K110 K120
Wargamer is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2018, 10:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Well said!!
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2018, 09:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 19,276
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alhambra, CA
Default

I run WR Hercules Super BEC's on both of my Atoms (standard and stretch). These have a small footprint and two output leads (so that all 10 amps can get to the electronics).

Both have been upgraded to DMSS, but I always ran a receiver and satellite on them (antenna diversity and redundancy is a very good thing).

When I had DSM2 on my Warp with an AR7200BX, I always ran a satellite as well (again, antenna diversity and redundancy is a very good thing).

$30.00 for a satellite, even on a small helicopter, is very cheap insurance.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Atom 500.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	193.2 KB
ID:	734899   Click image for larger version

Name:	AtomSLeft_zps8f2eb904 (2).jpg
Views:	17
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	734900  
__________________
KBDD-Team Captain/Compass Team Manager/Experience R/C/ Team JR Americas/ Western Robotics Field Representative
6HV-U, Warp, 7HV,Knight Pro,Knight 3D, Atom, Atom Stretch, Odin II, 6HV, 3D Plus, Knight 50, Chronos
Ah Clem is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2018, 05:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: sutton, ontario, canada
Default

Thanks again to all for your help.
helionfire is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1