giving it another go - Page 3 - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba CGY750 FBL System


Futaba CGY750 FBL System Futaba CGY750 Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2018, 06:52 PM   #41 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

i didn't have a problem using windows 10 to upgrade to v2 .
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2018, 08:13 PM   #42 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

been thinking about your issue, when you plug the ciu2 in does it show up in device manager (right click the windows key , bottom left corner , and click device manager) and does it say that it is functioning ok, i think that's how i updated the driver
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2018, 07:47 AM   #43 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 631
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Madison, MS
Default

After wrote this I read an old post of yours. Computer see's the ciu and in signed driver restart. The driver will not load.
__________________
Gaui x5, x5, Rush 750 - Ikons, x7 - CGY750, 14SG
FAA Reg # "DRONESSUK"
DanMcN is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2018, 01:47 PM   #44 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

this thread?
https://www.helifreak.com/showthread.php?t=728157
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-30-2018, 04:57 PM   #45 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 631
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Madison, MS
Default

Thats the thread.

Dan
__________________
Gaui x5, x5, Rush 750 - Ikons, x7 - CGY750, 14SG
FAA Reg # "DRONESSUK"
DanMcN is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2018, 07:25 AM   #46 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 631
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Madison, MS
Default


Finally got it to take to Ver2.
__________________
Gaui x5, x5, Rush 750 - Ikons, x7 - CGY750, 14SG
FAA Reg # "DRONESSUK"
DanMcN is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2018, 09:33 AM   #47 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

excellent . have you flown v2 yet , I remember changing from 1.4 and it made a massive difference to setting up and flight.
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2018, 04:16 PM   #48 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 631
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Madison, MS
Default

I didn't get a chance to fly it on 1.4. Hopefully this weekend i'll get to the field and it set up.
__________________
Gaui x5, x5, Rush 750 - Ikons, x7 - CGY750, 14SG
FAA Reg # "DRONESSUK"
DanMcN is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-05-2018, 03:52 PM   #49 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

so i got my cgy back from hobbico(!) they said they recalibrated the unit and charged me for half an hour labour. its back on the 516 and there are a few differences in setup. most notably the pitch went from 38% to 47% for 12 degrees and from 50% to 52% for 8 degrees of cyclic . i haven't flown it yet but i am feeling encouraged , before i sent it in , when i checked the correction direction of the fbl the swash hardly moved but now its easy to see whats going on .
rudder also needed less % to get to its limits, from 87 - 128 down to 98 - 110 ,
going to try it tomorrow and see what happens
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba

Last edited by anthony1; 05-05-2018 at 03:53 PM.. Reason: spelling
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 10:57 AM   #50 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

so here's the update , first flight hovered a little , really stable , piro's were flat tried flips and with it set to 300 the max it reached was 248 , but it felt like 248 ie not too slow . upped it to 350 and the max went up 10 to around 260 , but felt good,
one thing i noticed was that the oled screen didn't light up , i set it to light but it didn't come on.
so second flight and i tried pitch pumps, seemed to go up faster inverted , so need to check that,but flying really nicely , tik toks didn't have the wobble that i was expecting so all was good,
third flight just started to fly around, at about the 2 minute mark , the tribunus died, AGAIN, and the heli fell to the ground from about 100 feet with no power and now i'm done with the scorpion esc . i'm sending it back to scorpion and they can keep it. this time its a lot worse needing frames as well as the other usual stuff . very disappointing, i have powered up the system, bypassing the esc and all seems to be working , even the light on the cgy, so no idea whats going with the tribunus but i'm looking for a different esc now , probably go with hobbywing
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 03:50 PM   #51 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,461
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

F-ck in A. Sorry the scorpion ain't doing it for you. Makes me wonder if there isn't a short somewhere maybe a chafed wire? Or a faulty servo.

Maybe next time try banging the sticks on the bench even spooled up no blades, pretend tictoc that sort of thing to see if it browns out...?
__________________
Steve
smittylube is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 03:51 PM   #52 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,461
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Was that the 480 or the 516?
Maybe I can send you some blades for the next maiden......
__________________
Steve

Last edited by smittylube; 05-06-2018 at 10:10 PM..
smittylube is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 06:17 PM   #53 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

516 again . i took it apart and one of the caps leaked something and is burnt , what would cause that
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 10:11 PM   #54 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,461
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Not sure what would cause that except if they fixed it and it was damaged before maybe?
__________________
Steve
smittylube is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2018, 10:14 PM   #55 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,461
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

I'd be starting to think something like a stalled servo or faulty one...
What rx voltage are you running? Maybe that's where the problem comes from?
__________________
Steve
smittylube is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2018, 08:16 AM   #56 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

servos haven't really taken a hit and seem to be working normally, I flew it with the v bar with no issues , the tail servo did get damaged from the last time the esc broke , but I noticed it right away as the servo was not smooth in its travel but jerky , mks said the motor was damaged and changed it for me. i'm running 7.4 v , and have been all along , the only difference is that I usually only fly with 2 batteries and this was the third with no break in between except to change batteries . I read up on causes of the caps to blow and it seems like the most common is heat , my esc is always hot , so maybe it needs to cool down in between flights, again I can't tell how hot it got as the telemetry is fried along with the esc, maybe there should be some kind of thermal shutdown or warning if it gets overly hot . all I know is this esc has cost me the price of a new kit and for no reason
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2018, 03:46 PM   #57 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,461
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

I think timing can cause heat. maybe need to retard it a bit.
I was switching back to futaba with my vbar on a different heli and the ESC ended up getting reprogrammed out of slow spool up as I was initializing the sbus / futaba tab. Could not figure out what happened. I went and reset my soft start to get it back, but something else changed and it runs cooler now. So I suspect the timing was the answer. Totally unexpected nice surprise.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2018, 04:29 PM   #58 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

I still think there should be some kind of safeguard against overheating , if that is the problem of course. guess I will never find out .
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2018, 08:00 AM   #59 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,782
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: coral springs,florida,USA
Default

so I have it all back together , I even have the gov all sorted, I flew yesterday and had a lot of tail buzz on punchouts, turned out gov gain defaults to 40 so once that was down to 10 the buzzing went away, however , i have a problem and i'm not sure where to start , i will describe it and see what you think,
on spool up once the gov kicks in there is a distinct elevator kick( still on the ground) if i lift off early then the tail drops a bit. if i level off and climb out at 3/4 throttle it goes up straight, if i slowly increase the throttle to max as i reach full throttle the tail drops a little( i have been through the swash expert menu and made sure that the ball remains still with elevator and aileron inputs at full and full negative throttle as well as all the other adjustments)
so that's normal flight , this is the actual problem , i have noticed that on occasion when i climb out the tail will drop 90 degrees , i correct and carry on and all is good , from a hover if i punchout (and it doesn't matter if its hard or soft) the tail will sometimes drop 90 degrees before i catch it, this morning i was flying backwards towards myself in prep for a landing and the tail dropped very quickly and was inverted before i caught it and flipped upright , it seems to happen when the gov settles after a collective input but it doesn't happen all the time.
now here's the thing, it was flying with a mini v bar with no issues , but i want to give the cgy another go because i prefer how the tail feels , with the mini v i was using the tribunus gov. right now while i'm waiting for the replacement tribunus i have a 100a hobbywing v3 and using the cgy gov, also i sent the cgy to hobbico for testing and it came back with a clean bill of health.
so my first thought was a damaged servo , (leftover from the tribunus demise) but it was flying ok with the mini v , so now i'm thinking could be gov related , i just don't know where or how to start ,

i tried to recreate the issue on the ground but it seems fine . so that leads me to believe that it has something to do with the gov, i guess i could try the hobbywing gov or even th curves to rule a gov issue.
any thoughts
Anthony
__________________
oxy 3 ikon , logo 480xx vbar , logo 550sx v-bar , synergy 516 cgy750 , futaba
anthony1 is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2018, 10:40 AM   #60 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 774
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Default

When you write ”tail drop” does that mean when the Heli is level and upright that the tail drops on the elevator axis 90 degrees into a tail slide orientation?

The simplicity of the ESC gov works well. Talking with friends at the field many have remarked of the tail kick on the HobbyWing when any FBL controller is being used as the headspeed governor.

What make and model of servo do you have installed?

I finished tuning of the CGY-750 on the 516 this weekend. I'll pull the last of the config late tonight.
__________________
Robert "Full" Montee | Team Futaba | Team Synergy | Team Kontronik USA | Team Ninja | Citizen 13 | TellARotor RC Podcast
Full Montee is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1