Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2020, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default Mikado yge esc with vbar 5.3 gov

I’ve been flying this combo for years in more than one heli, but only recently setup rpm telemetry.

Upon initial spool up say I have IU1 with 1800 rpms set, it will initially overshoot my target rpms as much as 150-200 higher, then will settle and it seems to fly fine by me. It takes maybe 5-8 seconds to settle down. I’ve always just lived with it.

I just did a new setup with a vbar I had in my parts bin, but I didn’t start from scratch.
I noticed my gov gain was pretty low like 15 or 18.

Would this main gov gain sort this out? Like 30 maybe? If I recall that is the default. I believe I have had them set lower from watching Mr Mels videos from back in the day.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2020, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,576
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

I've had the yge act funny sometimes too. I recommend going through the full throttle calibration and then throttle hold percentage setting over again. That usually makes it better for me. Fwiw...
__________________
AMA 373608
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

So I flew it a few today. and initial spool-up is about 2010 rpm and settles back to 1840.

What is the best way to calibrate the endpoint if I am going through the Vbar..

Set 0-100 throttle curve in radio,
Verify +/- 100% on the transmitter tab.
Turn off gov
Full throttle power up deet deet
0 throttle deet deet
unplug power.
Reenable gov and set endpoints in the gov tab?

But should I raise the gov gain?
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default Fix post

I went through the gov endpoints, tried it on the bench no blades it would overshoot exactly like when I was flying.
Tried the gain from 16 up to 25 still same.

I had raised the spool-up speed (expert panel) from 3 to 6 to get to the speed faster so I tried back to 3 and it just runs up and settles. I guess I'm not an expert.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 08:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,576
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

You did exactly what I was talking about. When you go in and out of throttle hold does it overshoot during the fast spoolup?
__________________
AMA 373608
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

I forgot to try that.
Initial spool up is good. Will try it flying next time.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,576
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

I run the Vbar gov gain above 50 on my birds, but I realize that that has absolutely no bearing on your set up.
__________________
AMA 373608
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 10:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Default

Steve does this help? https://www.vstabi.info/en/node/2031

Check out the section titled "Vbar neo electric governor - integral and min limit"

They mention the overshoot you are chasing. Looks like your basic throttle might be set too high. I forget if you have a neo or silver line. But the concept should translate over to both.
P@reez is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 11:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,576
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

I've never seen this issue with neo. I've only had 5.3 demonstrate the RPM mayhem. If I read the op question right that's what he's running.

/E It seems weird but I have had the throttle hold percentage affect the spool up with vbar. I have a lot less hours expended with the Neo but I've had none of the problems that I had with 5.34. ymmv
__________________
AMA 373608
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2020, 11:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Yes 5.3 old school this heli is mini blue vbar.

Thanks guys.

Iíve never really spent any time tweaking the gov. After flying the tribunus it has made me think about adjusting the vbar yge combo.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2020, 11:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,576
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Samish Island, WA
Default

Quote:
If the TC is set up too high (too much basic throttle) the rpm overshoots first and will be taken back by the integral afterwards.
Interesting. Good find.
__________________
AMA 373608
K2Freak is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2020, 12:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

I did have tc at 106, reset to 100 but it still did it till I went back to spool up default 3
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2020, 04:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,278
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Santa Cruz
Default

Startup slow spool to set rpm worked perfect, bailout overshot similar to startup when I had it faster.
25 gain seemed fine. it was cold so I'm not sure if I should go higher on the gains.


The link about tuning made me really think about the collective add and such in the expert menu. I think I might try some things.

I also noticed how if I overspeed with the load removed the ESC did overspeed and measured telemetry RPMs followed somewhat. The Tribunus keeps the RPMs at the set speed period. It's not all bad with the rotor spooled up because you can have some fun with it.
__________________
Steve
smittylube is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1