Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Mikado Logo Helicopters > Mikado Logo 700



Like Tree3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2020, 05:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,832
 

Join Date: May 2011
Default Looking for other ESC choices

I maidened my 700 yesterday, first flight was amazing, second flight not so much! My 200a tribunis crapped out and caused a no control crash! I should have made sure my back-up guard was charged but figured It would self charge after a few flights.... mY mistake that I will never make again. This is the 3rd crash caused my version 1 scorpion tribunis esc's for me and I have 2 other flying buddies that have had the same thing. The integration is amainzg but I cant fly something I am not confident in. I have a 130 that has been awesome but this one was made when they were coming out with the version 2 and I hear it uses the version 2 FETs which im guessing is the issue. Anyway what else do I have out there. I want built in BEC and ofcourse integration with vcontrol would be great. I know HW is coming out soon with their integration for the version 4 platinums. Is the red rebranded align 130 a version 4? is a HW 130a enough for the logo 700 flying hard 3d? Im not looking to spend a fortune on kontronik or YGE so question how is castle these days? I see they have a talon 120, could that work ?
__________________
Trex 700L NEO / Mikado Logo 600SX Vbar 6.0/ Trex 470LM NEO, Oxy 2 CC Talon 25 NEO, 450 pro vbar 6.0pro/ Trex 700n DFC OS105HZR, Velocity50 Vbar 6.0pro -Oxy 5 NEO-/Trex 600efl PRO (Night Flyer) vbar/CC HV80 ......ALL VBAR CONTROL
Stevin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2020, 07:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Did you have full logging enabled on the ESC?

The linus program can download the log and show how the flight progressed. Do you have his program?

Before jumping to any conclusions without data it is impossible to speculate.
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 04:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,832
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2011
Default

the esc is completely dead, I had a few others fail on me in the past and when plugging them in the sprotos everything is whacky and made no sense. I didn't plug this one in mostly because I am just fed up . I sent it to hong kong ASAP
__________________
Trex 700L NEO / Mikado Logo 600SX Vbar 6.0/ Trex 470LM NEO, Oxy 2 CC Talon 25 NEO, 450 pro vbar 6.0pro/ Trex 700n DFC OS105HZR, Velocity50 Vbar 6.0pro -Oxy 5 NEO-/Trex 600efl PRO (Night Flyer) vbar/CC HV80 ......ALL VBAR CONTROL
Stevin is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2020, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,852
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2005
Default

I’m still flying an old YGE160. Hundreds of flights under her belt.
__________________
˙ʇı ʞɐǝɹq 'ǝʞoɹq ʇ,uıɐ ʇı ɟı
cudaboy_71 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Default

Usual esc recommended around Kontronik, Hobbbywing, YGE and Scorpion.

I personally like HW, they had been very reliable for me till now. Had almost 10 HW esc of 130, 160 and 200A rating. Unfortunately still waiting for vcontrol integration and all have the mikado UI sensor on them.
__________________
Logo 800xx, Logo 700xx, Logo 700, Logo 690sx, Goblin Urukay Comp, Goblin 770 Sport, Goblin 700 Comp Triblade, Goblin Kaken, Agile 7.2, Shape S8, Specter and Gaui X7 Triblade
ah_liang is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 05:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Default

I've been running a KONTRONIK KOSMIK 160 on my Logo 700 for several years now without issue. They have a Telme interface (telemetry) for VControl that works well and has been around for some time.

Check the classifieds as they do show up from time to time.

When it comes to reliability, IMHO, KONTROIK is at the top of the list.
Ace Dude is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 08:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,027
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

Kontroniks (Kosmiks and Jive Pro's) is pretty much all I fly at the moment. I am very satisfied with their ease of use, features, design, and reliability. However, one wrong step during the firmware upgrade process can get very expensive.
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Goblin Kraken/700 Havok/570 Sport/380 KSE, Logo 700/550SX V2; Neo VLink;VBC Touch & DX8 G2
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): AccuRC, Heli-X, neXt, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 08:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Default

I've done many KONTRONIK firmware updates over the years including several for folks at IRCHA last year and I've never had one fail.

The key to a successfully update is:

1) Turn off all (yes all) other applications on your machine during the update.

2) Make sure you're running on AC power and make sure your machine can not enter sleep or hibernate mode or some high CPU screen saver will turn on.

3) Do not, under any circumstance, interrupt the update process. Just let it run until it says it's finished, even if it takes a while.

I've never had one take more than several minutes, but I've others indicate they can take longer than several minutes.
Ace Dude is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2020, 08:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,027
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

I've never had a single problem with a Kontronik firmware update, until I did. Any firmware updade glitch will "brick" the Kontronik ESC. Kontronik ESC's can only be unbricked in Germany. between shipping and fees, the firmware update glitch cost me $150.83.


One rule to follow if you plan to perform a Kontronik firmware update:


Don't make a single mistake
Johnny31297 likes this.
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Goblin Kraken/700 Havok/570 Sport/380 KSE, Logo 700/550SX V2; Neo VLink;VBC Touch & DX8 G2
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): AccuRC, Heli-X, neXt, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2020, 09:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,449
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

That's too bad about the crash. I have run them right from the beginning. I have 3 - 200 amp. Two are V1 and one is V2. I had a 06-120 V1 just sold it. I have 2 - 130 amp. Only ever had one issue with a update on a 200 became unresponsive. I sent it back to Scorpion and they repaired it. But shipping was expensive. Too bad there isn't a repair utility if this happens. Strange because I had done lots of firmware upgrades with zero issues. I am running the repaired 200 in a heli again without a issue.

I I was going to use something else right now it would probably be a YGE. If Hobbywing had the integration with VControl released I would go that way.

If it was the BEC that failed the cheaper fix would be to add a Western Robotics Super BEC until Hobbywing gets the integration in place..
__________________
Synergy- 696, E5SS, E5S, Soxos- 600, 2 -Strike 7s, VControl T, VBar, Egodrift, Scorpion, Tribunus ESC, MKS, Savox, Hitec
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2020, 09:18 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,027
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeskiken View Post
...I[f] I was going to use something else right now it would probably be a YGE...
I know next to nothing about YGE. Why do you prefer YGE's? Pros and cons?
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Goblin Kraken/700 Havok/570 Sport/380 KSE, Logo 700/550SX V2; Neo VLink;VBC Touch & DX8 G2
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): AccuRC, Heli-X, neXt, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2020, 03:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 865
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Default

Don't know much about them, but the full vbar control integration is awesome
AFAIK scorpion and YGE are the only esc's with full integration at the moment (hobbywing is coming "soon", kontronik has limited integration i believe)
mr. mark is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2020, 08:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 7,449
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Default

I used them in the past in my Protos mini and Protos 500. Always worked well. Used to program them with a programming card now they have telemetry and integration with VControl. There quality was always very good. I wouldn’t buy a ESC without the integration.
__________________
Synergy- 696, E5SS, E5S, Soxos- 600, 2 -Strike 7s, VControl T, VBar, Egodrift, Scorpion, Tribunus ESC, MKS, Savox, Hitec
Freeskiken is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2020, 09:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,027
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freeskiken View Post
...I wouldn’t buy a ESC without the integration.
+1
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Goblin Kraken/700 Havok/570 Sport/380 KSE, Logo 700/550SX V2; Neo VLink;VBC Touch & DX8 G2
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): AccuRC, Heli-X, neXt, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2020, 01:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 57
 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Default HobbyWing Platinum

I've now got 2 HobbyWing Platinum 4.1 ESCs with SBEC. I could not be happier with them. And I just downloaded and installed the new firmware for the VBar telemetry integration.

They aren't cheap, but they are around half the price of the Kontronic. I think my local hobby store got them to me for around $425 each including the shipping.

I have one in a Logo 700 (Xnova 4525) and another in an SAB Kraken (Xnova 4525). The motors in both models get warm, the ESC just about warm and I'm flying 7 to 8 minutes using Roaring Top 5500mah, 35C packs.

Tons of power, lots of punch.
__________________
Chris Berardi
BobbyJack's Hobbies
Agilefalcon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2020, 03:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,864
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curmudgeon View Post
I know next to nothing about YGE. Why do you prefer YGE's? Pros and cons?
YGE has a long history comparable to Kontronik. Heli Governor isn‘t as good as Jive / Kosmik but the vbar governor makes it outstanding. Great for holding your headspeed but it makes the whole system even smoother
__________________
SuziLAOS-DNHP-CenturioMax-Protos500-Logo400-500-600SE
worldofmaya is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2020, 03:33 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

The yge-t has great telemetry with vcontrol
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2020, 07:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Default

INstall the scorpion 130 tribunus in there and be done. I ran 717 blades and 2250 rpms with 13.5 degree pitch and the esc barely got warm and thats with hard stick banging.its light, small and works
dbirds2 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2020, 02:02 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,027
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

I've been using Kontronik ESCs exclusively. I tried a Tribunius ESC mainly for the great integration with the Mikado Neo units, but I was underwhelmed with the internal governor performance (compared to Kontronik).
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Goblin Kraken/700 Havok/570 Sport/380 KSE, Logo 700/550SX V2; Neo VLink;VBC Touch & DX8 G2
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): AccuRC, Heli-X, neXt, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-19-2020, 03:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,799
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Rycroft , Alberta, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by curmudgeon View Post
I've been using Kontronik ESCs exclusively. I tried a Tribunius ESC mainly for the great integration with the Mikado Neo units, but I was underwhelmed with the internal governor performance (compared to Kontronik).
Who uses internal governors . I have a nice Kontronics sitting in a box because it does not work with the external gov in the Neo.
__________________
Rycroft Wings & Blades (MAAC Club)
Dennis P is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1