Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR Control


Mikado V-BAR Control Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Control Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Like Tree11Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2021, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Default V Control basic vs Touch

I have a V Control basic an are quite happy with this. But what main features do I miss out on compared to the V Control Touch?
__________________
Logo 200, Goblin 380, Align 500XT, Sab Kraken 580, Trex700DFC, Sab Black Thunder 700, Sab Raw, V -Control touch
jazfonque is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2021, 03:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

richardv's cool feature to see your setup and flight data.
richardv and jazfonque like this.
__________________
Don't quote me to answer please, just add a comment.
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 05:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,500
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA::Ohio
Default

I do not have the original vcontrol, I have the touch. My understanding is that you don't get the cloud data saving where I can get graphs like this from wherever I am for whatever flight I want to see (vstabi.info - cloud data):


I don't think you get that with the non-touch? Also, there are battery records up there.


Also, the interface is arguably easier to get around in. The touch screen works really well (it is obviously of high quality; not a cheap one like you find on some devices). Its also easier to read than a smaller non-touch display. Battery life can be a bit of an issue. Make sure you have wi-fi and updating set to off so that you have to turn them on manually. Make sure you turn it fully off when done for the day (the sleep mode is for when you might power on a model soon - it will wake the TX up). Battery will last more than a week like this with daily use.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Example Flight.png
Views:	330
Size:	1.52 MB
ID:	903917   Click image for larger version

Name:	Example Battery.png
Views:	323
Size:	537.4 KB
ID:	903919  
jazfonque likes this.
__________________
Vcontrol Touch, AccuRC Simulator
Oxy 5 MEG, 4 MAX, 2 (215)
SAB Goblin 500 Sport
XL Power Specter 700
fiddle is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 09:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

i have the original vcontrol and i can use linus larssons graph, i just have to plug my tx into the pc and view all my flights.. pretty sure it has a lipo counter thingy too. his program is here somewhere.. its really nice for us old school guys.. i guess some day ill get the touch as it does look really nice.. but for now, the og tx works fine for me. especially with his tool.
STAZZ likes this.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 09:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,500
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA::Ohio
Default

I'm sure there are cool things on the non-touch also ... i've just never had one so I don't know about them.

I came from Spektrum + brain2 where you had nothing like that. You could only look at the log files on a windows PC and only if you had the log files with you and had the brain software installed.

On the touch, I can even see the event log from any flight up in the cloud ... on my phone ... wherever I am ... whenever I want ... It was amazing to me
__________________
Vcontrol Touch, AccuRC Simulator
Oxy 5 MEG, 4 MAX, 2 (215)
SAB Goblin 500 Sport
XL Power Specter 700
fiddle is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 996
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: California
Default

VBCt can do NEO firmware updates wirelessly. This would be especially convenient on your Logo 200. Otherwise, since the NEO mini lacks a USB port, they need to be done thru the servo ports using a special cable.
__________________
Logo 480, 550 SX (YGE/Xnova), 690 SX (Tribunus/Scorpion), Savox/MKS, NEO, VBC
GregCA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

i have the special cable for the mini.. it was no big deal to update it, but im not buying a touch just to update a mini neo wirelessly.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 07:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Upstate New York
Default

You don't loose functionality by upgrading to a VCT. You gain. There is nothing wrong with a vcontrol. The touch is a next gen radio that gives excellent user experience.
jadams is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2021, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

i dont need a touch.. new is nice, yes.. my experience is great with my old school vcontrol.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2021, 03:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,500
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: USA::Ohio
Default

... now get off my lawn!

tonys-heli likes this.
__________________
Vcontrol Touch, AccuRC Simulator
Oxy 5 MEG, 4 MAX, 2 (215)
SAB Goblin 500 Sport
XL Power Specter 700
fiddle is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2021, 03:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 725
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazfonque View Post
I have a V Control basic an are quite happy with this. But what main features do I miss out on compared to the V Control Touch?
Flight logging is automatic and you get free reporting from https://vbarutilitiesblazor.azurewebsites.net/.

I added a projected flights chart to the main page yesterday, and I've also fixed the default setups, so you can see all the values that the Touch ships with for default helis.
curmudgeon likes this.
__________________
Specter 700 ~ VBar Control Touch ~ MKMHC / LARCS
VBar Utilities for VBCt
richardv is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2021, 04:35 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,836
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Default

It is my understanding that the original VBC radio has been discontinued, but I would think one should be able to find a used original VBC relatively easily after posting a "want to buy" ad.

I believe the main difference between the two radios is the user interface and overall experience, but the original original radio should perform all the basic and most advanced functions similarly to the Touch.

To me, the question to ask is whether the Touch's "bells and whistles" are worth the additional $650.00 or so to you.
__________________
Protos 700X Evo, Kraken/700 Havok/Kraken 580/Buddy 380 KSE, Logo 550SX V2; YGE "T" ESCs, Neo VLinks;VBC Touch, AGM Deep Cycle Batteries
Simulators (on MacBook Pro): Heli-X, neXt, AccuRC, RF9, Phoenix, AeroFly RC7 Ultimate
Citizen 259
curmudgeon is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2021, 10:43 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Usa
Default

The VBC has no trim pots.

The VCT has trimpots for use with fixed wing aircraft, among other features.
MikeUSA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2021, 08:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,551
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeUSA View Post
The VBC has no trim pots.

The VCT has trimpots for use with fixed wing aircraft, among other features.
Those are NOT trim pots, the VBCt still uses auto trim in VPlane same as the VBC. Those are actually extra channel or function wheels.
Thickfog and flipboy like this.
__________________
Gaui R5, Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2021, 06:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,617
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dover NH USA
Default

The biggest thing I like about my Touch vs my older Vcontrol (which I still have) is being able to adjust the idle on my nitro and gas helis without having to jump into menus.
Eury is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2021, 04:34 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Usa
Default

"Those are NOT trim pots"

Perhaps a terminology difference.

There are 4 "trim wheels". 2 on the left stick and 2 on the right.

Like with an fixed wing aircraft transmitter.

That's what I meant.
MikeUSA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2021, 08:05 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

I still use the orginal vc and love it.
AllanNg is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2021, 08:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Default

Trim wheels; 2 on the front and 2 on the top:

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/14...page=10#manual
__________________
Don't quote me to answer please, just add a comment.
Andy from Sandy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2021, 12:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,551
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy from Sandy View Post
Trim wheels; 2 on the front and 2 on the top:

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/14...page=10#manual
But they are NOT traditional trms as per other TX’s.
__________________
Gaui R5, Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2021, 01:22 AM   #20 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Usa
Default

Come on, Vinger

So what?

It still is similar.

For a fixed wing aircraft(MODE 2), it's rudder and throttle trim on the left stick(regardless of the trim TX location).

And it's aileron and elevator trim on the right stick.

The original VControl did NOT have any such trim "wheels".

And that cannot be disputed. What's your gripe???? If you are such an "old hand at planks" you should
realize that. Don't you understand?

It's a good thing that Ulrich Rohr implemented such for people who
fly fixed wing aircraft.

Cheers
Eury likes this.
MikeUSA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1