Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Mikado V-BAR


Mikado V-BAR Mikado V-Stabi/V-BAR Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Rabid121
  • 1 Post By Vinger
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2021, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default Mini Blue Twitching Servos

Finally got my 450 setup with an old blue mini and Futaba radio. These servos are Hitec MG's. Front 2 are new and rear is an older one. This is at power up. Once I start using them they get better but still, when I go up and down on the collective and servos are NOT in perfect unison. First video is on power up. Second video is after moving the collective a few times.

Mikado Twitching Servos (0 min 23 sec)

Mikado Servo's not in perfect unison (0 min 15 sec)

Last edited by ~Cliffman~; 03-15-2021 at 10:13 PM..
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2021, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,759
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

What are you sing for power supply on the helicopter? Can you access the log and post it here?
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2021, 06:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

The ESC is a Hobby King Blush-32 with BEC. Thanks!
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2021, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,759
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

It could be that the BEC of the ESC is not enough to power the servos. Which servos are you using? The VBar system can only use digital servos.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2021, 08:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

The Servo's are Hitec HS-65MG's
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2021, 12:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

looks like the esc is junk and the bec cant handle the servos.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2021, 01:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tonys-heli View Post
looks like the esc is junk and the bec cant handle the servos.
I'll check the voltage from the ESC's BEC. Needs to be above 4.5 I think
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2021, 09:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Voltage is good at 4.95 volts.
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2021, 10:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,759
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

That is very low and the back EMF from the servos can be problematic, need at least 6V to be safe.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 07:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinger View Post
That is very low and the back EMF from the servos can be problematic, need at least 6V to be safe.
I'm right at the low end but still shouldn't cause this issue.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hitec HS65-MG Specs.JPG
Views:	18
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	909157  
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 08:06 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,397
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ~Vienna, Austria
Default

... did you check the voltage under load? just move the sticks a bit.... you will see most probably going the voltage lower then the specs of 4.8V.... this is supposed to be the reason for the odd behaviour. under real load the voltage will dip even much deeper and causing a brownout => vbar reboot => crash.

Ciao
Michael
__________________
some minicopters & Logos, YGE, Egodrift, Spirit 2/RS/GT/GTR, Jeti DS-12/Spirit Ed.
Rabid121 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 09:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

believe what you want, that esc's bec is no good. especially under load.
spend a couple bucks and get a budget used hobbywing esc with program box and your life will be better.
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 09:40 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabid121 View Post
... did you check the voltage under load? just move the sticks a bit.... you will see most probably going the voltage lower then the specs of 4.8V.... this is supposed to be the reason for the odd behaviour. under real load the voltage will dip even much deeper and causing a brownout => vbar reboot => crash.

Ciao
Michael
Agreed with the voltage. I'll replace the ESC but... I don't think that's causing the issue with the servo. Did some more testing yesterday and I think it's somehow related to trims. I hooked it up to the Mikado software (Version 4.0) and went through the setup tabs (Not a new setup) and when I get to trims the back servo (#1) started to vibrate like its fighting to get to it's desired position. while I was observing this I noticed the servo was getting hot after about 30 seconds so I cut the power. Maybe I did something wrong during the setup. What do you think? Maybe I should start over with a new radio model and new Mikado setup???
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 10:17 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,397
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ~Vienna, Austria
Default

... i do not remember this old Mikado soft version anymore, so no idea. why not bring all to a more recent version? (5.3.x iirc).

of course could be defective servo, binding etc etc etc too... but this esc will be a source of trouble for sure. and you'll never know what different devices will do when operated at/below voltages specs limits.
~Cliffman~ likes this.
__________________
some minicopters & Logos, YGE, Egodrift, Spirit 2/RS/GT/GTR, Jeti DS-12/Spirit Ed.
Rabid121 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 10:47 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 337
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rabid121 View Post
... i do not remember this old Mikado soft version anymore, so no idea. why not bring all to a more recent version? (5.3.x iirc).

of course could be defective servo, binding etc etc etc too... but this esc will be a source of trouble for sure. and you'll never know what different devices will do when operated at/below voltages specs limits.
I have 5.1 but it has error messages when I try to access my old Vbar. Can I update the old Blue vbar so it will work with the newer version do you know?
~Cliffman~ is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-22-2021, 10:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,759
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Cliffman~ View Post
I have 5.1 but it has error messages when I try to access my old Vbar. Can I update the old Blue vbar so it will work with the newer version do you know?
https://uroehr.de/vtube/cat/old-v5-vbars-archive-

All the videos relating to the older devices, yes you can update to at least V5.3.
Rabid121 likes this.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2021, 02:08 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,397
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: ~Vienna, Austria
Default

yes, as Vinger already wrote! and i would really advise to go to latest software available for the legacy vbar... this one was really working great! and best would be to start from scratch with a new model. it's generally done in some minutes and worth the effort!

Ciao, good luck
Michael

btw: ... just checked... it's 5.3.4b... available here: https://www.vstabi.info/en/V53_software
__________________
some minicopters & Logos, YGE, Egodrift, Spirit 2/RS/GT/GTR, Jeti DS-12/Spirit Ed.
Rabid121 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1