Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > HobbyWing ESC's


HobbyWing ESC's HobbyWing ESC Support


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Thickfog
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2021, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Default Telemetry - Headspeed (HobbyWing Platinum PRO V4-60A)

Does the HobbyWing Platinum PRO V4-60A Telemetry show head speed or only motor RPM?
__________________
Oxy4 Max iKnon2 BT / Scorpion HK-3014 / HW Plat Pro V4-60A / KST DS215MG v3 (x3) / KST X15-755X
SAB Goblin 380 Buddy Xnova Lightning 2820 / YGE 65LVT / KST X12-508 (x3)
CagedVR6 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-30-2021, 03:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 9,045
 

Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Michigan
Default

No esc gives headspeed telemetry.
You have to use the flybarless gov for that.

Sent from my moto g power using Tapatalk
CagedVR6 likes this.
Thickfog is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 07:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thickfog View Post
No esc gives headspeed telemetry.
You have to use the flybarless gov for that.

Sent from my moto g power using Tapatalk

Thank you for the info. I have the RPM Signal going to my iKon2 however I am using the HW Gov - Possible to get headspeed or do I have to use the iKon2 Gov?
__________________
Oxy4 Max iKnon2 BT / Scorpion HK-3014 / HW Plat Pro V4-60A / KST DS215MG v3 (x3) / KST X15-755X
SAB Goblin 380 Buddy Xnova Lightning 2820 / YGE 65LVT / KST X12-508 (x3)
CagedVR6 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 08:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CagedVR6 View Post
Thank you for the info. I have the RPM Signal going to my iKon2 however I am using the HW Gov - Possible to get headspeed or do I have to use the iKon2 Gov?

In order to get headspeed, it has to know the gear ratio. The programming box does not have a way to program that. I was playing with mine the other day and if you use the PC program connected to your HW box connected to the ESC I saw more governor options including gear ratio. I use the governor on my FBL so I didn't mess with it but take a look.
RustyChain is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 08:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

The Hobbywing v4 provides two different options for RPM telemetry.

The first is just simply pulses for each motor commutation. This is the wire that is normally plugged into the GOV port of the Ikon. To get RPM, the number of pulses per revolution needs to be entered into the FBL. Then converted from motor rpm to headspeed.

The second is the ESC reported digital RPM. This is a digital signal, from the wire plugged into the 4-5-6 port of the Ikon. Similarly the rpm is scaled from Motor rpm to headspeed (as Thickfog noted as well)

An ESC only really knows ‘eRPM’ or the number of commutations per minute. If you had a ‘2 pole’ motor then ‘eRPM’ would equal motor RPM. I believe that the digital RPM is eRPM (4-5-6 port data) and the GOV port pulses are obviously eRPM.

If the issue is that the reported RPM seems 10x too high, then check the transmitter RPM scale factor. On Spektrum, a factor of 10x is required as noted in the Ikon/Brain telemetry manual.
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 08:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,697
 

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mosquito Farm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CagedVR6 View Post

Thank you for the info. I have the RPM Signal going to my iKon2 however I am using the HW Gov - Possible to get headspeed or do I have to use the iKon2 Gov?
You do not need to use the Ikon Governor to get headspeed telemetry.

I’m pretty sure this has already been covered in your other threads.
__________________
Jeti DS12 / Ikon2 / Oxy2/4/5 / SAB Mini Comet / Fireball / G380 / Gaui X5v2 / Kraken 580
JimJW is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 09:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: always windy on the east coast
Default

and in the ikon2 manual.. under telemetry..
__________________
a bunch of helis... now all vcontrol and neo..finally :lol
tonys-heli is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-30-2021, 09:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,396
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Smyrna, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CagedVR6 View Post
Does the HobbyWing Platinum PRO V4-60A Telemetry show head speed or only motor RPM?
The head speed conversion is calculated and handled by your Ikon. Follow the instructions for setting up the gearing values/telemetery for your Ikon.
__________________
Tony
Synergy 516, Gaui R-5 Speed, Cypher Vtol Jet, Spirit FBL, Hobbywing and Scorpion Tribunus ESC, Xnova motors. The girl in my DX9 tells them all what to do

Last edited by Xrayted; 06-30-2021 at 09:58 AM..
Xrayted is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1