Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Kontronik Drives


Kontronik Drives Jazz and Jive ESC's and other Kontronik equipment support


Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Wh1teAfr1can
  • 1 Post By Spencerkey
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2021, 01:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default BEC Overtemp. on K140HV

I am getting a ‘Kontronik BEC Overtemperature’ warning after the Neo initialized. This is on a brand new Kolibri 140 HV. I also get a red warning across the screen and alarm after a minute into the flight. I briefly saw the message asking me to land. Something about an error with the Kontronik esc.

When this first happened I landed and checked everything over. I spooled up again and flew for 4 more minutes with no warnings. But every time I fly I get the ‘BEC Overtemperature’ warnings and sometimes the alarm with the bright red screen asking me to land.

Anyone experience this? Do I need to send it in?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8AB92BFD-4389-4BE5-BCC3-B88FC63FA2BC.jpeg
Views:	54
Size:	4.11 MB
ID:	910569  
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer

Last edited by Spencerkey; 03-29-2021 at 05:09 PM..
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-29-2021, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Default

With my K140HV, I do not have this situation so far(touch wood), even with my HC700s running very hot. I canít touch the servos for more than few seconds.

Normally the over temp warning should be a result of high current passing through the BEC continuously so how hot is your servos running? And do you have battery running in parallel with the BEC?
Chris.C is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2021, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,820
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

Update the ESC firmware to the latest version. Also make sure your Neo and VBCt is updated. The BEC overtemp warning was a spurious warning in older ESC firmware.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2021, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Thanks Vinger. I will do an update on the K140.

Iím running the MKS X8 servos at 8V. I never felt the servo for temp. after a flight.

I am running an R2 buffer pack.
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2021, 02:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I cannot for the life of me get the Kolibri 140 updated. I have the ProgUnit and follow the per usual Kontronik steps. It will not connect to the Updater 1.2.

Anyone have any tips or tricks to get the K140 updated?
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2021, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sweden
Default

There is some special steps depending on what version you currently have;
https://www.kontronik.com/en/downloads.html
Klick on Kolibri and read about the different updates.
You probably need to update the bootloader.
__________________
www.helistore.se
Mikado SAB Kontronik Scorpion dealer, so I might be a bit biased.
christoffer is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2021, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

I updated the ProgUnit. I did not work. I noticed in step one of the Kolibri 140 HV update it mentions a Kontrol-X. What is that?

I have updated many Kontronik escís and this is the first mention of a Kontrol-X.

Does anyone know if this is needed to update the Kolibri?
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2021, 10:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 11,820
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

https://www.kontronik.com/en/downloads.html

You will have to follow the steps as outlined in the above link. Note that the bootloader needs to be updated first, follow the steps as outlined.

To avoid errors and malfunctions during the update process the update procedure must be carried out as described below:



Attention: For steps 1, 3 and 5 please make sure that the battery voltage is applied without interruption, otherwise the bootloader may be damaged and it is necessary to send the controller to KONTRONIK!



1. update the firmware as usual with ProgUNIT

2. after finishing the update, disconnect the drive battery and reconnect it.

3. program mode 1.

4. disconnect actuator battery and reconnect it. Wait until the controller initializes.

5. press and hold button until the controller beeps (this can take several seconds). The beep of the bootloader update is different from the mode programming beep, so it is clearly visible.

6. disconnect and reconnect the drive battery, the controller initializes and is now ready for user defined settings.


For connection issues, check that Windows10 is updated fully and restarted. Always open Update program first, it will warn that it cannot connect, now connect ProgUnit, then connect ESC, now connect drive battery to ESC. The updater will start and DO NOT interrupt it or use any other Windows program. Wait for it to finish.
__________________
Henseleit TDR, TDR2, TDF, TDS, TDSF
Kontronik, Scorpion ESC, iChargers, VBar,
VControl
Old hand at Planks
Peter
Vinger is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2021, 01:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,316
 

Join Date: May 2011
Default

This is actually a bug with the HV controllers and Mikado telemetry. There is a problem with the implementation from both Kontronik and Mikados end. I have tested it on both a Kosmik 210 HV I and a Kolibri 140 HV I and get the same results (w/ latest firmware) A fix is in the works but at this time we can’t give a date for when it will be fixed.

I confirmed on the Kosmik that there is actually no error condition by checking the logs. I could get both ESC’s to throw the warning within 30 seconds of power up by moving the servos a lot on the bench. The logs for the Kosmik being at only 4C above ambient (25C in my case) which is not a condition where BEC over temp should be thrown.
__________________
Richard Zappe
Team Kontronik USA PeakAircraft

Last edited by Wh1teAfr1can; 04-02-2021 at 03:04 PM..
Wh1teAfr1can is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2021, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

Glad to know it’s a software issue. Is it safe to still use?

I will probably shelf it in the meantime.
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2021, 07:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 3,316
 

Join Date: May 2011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spencerkey View Post
Glad to know it’s a software issue. Is it safe to still use?

I will probably shelf it in the meantime.
It is only a bug with telemetry it does not affect the ESC operation in any way. So yes safe to use.
Spencerkey likes this.
__________________
Richard Zappe
Team Kontronik USA PeakAircraft
Wh1teAfr1can is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2021, 01:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,845
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

It tends to have something to do with current spikes, the bigger the buffer pack the less chance it comes back!
I prefer a buffer pack as some other solutions dont buffer, only give power when bec cuts out
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2021, 09:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Default

My Kosmik 160 is doing the same thing. Esc and servos didn't feel warm and the alarm would go off before I would even take off or in the first minute of flight. This made me think it was a software glitch. I threw a big capacitor on the heli just to be safe, but Ive been flying it without issue, even with the alarm going off every flight.
__________________
Diabolo 700 2018 /. Henseleit TDF, TDR 800
TT E700, Align Trex 700L v2, Oxy 5 Meg, Nitroxy, 4 max, Oxy 3.
Kontronik, Spirit, Futaba
Lynx Heli field rep. lynxheli.com
wstuart is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2021, 12:40 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: USA
Default

Why is your error log reporting that your battery is not fully charged?
MikeUSA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2021, 05:13 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 8,845
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I notice also it depends on fbl settings and how hard u fly it
helicraze is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2021, 06:36 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,146
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

There is a fix. Vinger posted; update your Neo and/or VBCT and the error will go away. I have done it on all my heli’s and I am happy to report there are no more issues.
smittylube likes this.
__________________
TDRís / Diabolo 700 BE / Diabolo 800 BE / Diabolo SE / Diabolo UL
VBC, VBCT, Kontronik, MKS, Futaba, R2 buffer
Spencerkey is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1