Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > BeastX FBL System


BeastX FBL System BeastX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2021, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default AR7210BX firmware update issue

Hi.


I wonder if someone could help here. I recently sold a AR7210BX to someone who is having an issue withe firmware update. I haven't done any updates before or registered the product prior to selling it.


The buyer is trying to update and gets the following messages.


When connecting the device - it says "Firmware Update is Available".
Then it goes into update mode - Displays device details like serial # etc.
Then it says "At the moment there is no firmware available for this device"

Images for each of the above are attached.



Then it goes back to the original screen and the whole thing repeats. I am checking with the new owner if they have registered the device on their account - I believe this is a necessity? In the meantime, please if someone has any ideas as to what is going on here.


Thanks in advance!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AR7210-1.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	928089   Click image for larger version

Name:	AR7210-2.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	16.1 KB
ID:	928091   Click image for larger version

Name:	AR7210-3.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	928093  
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2021, 03:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 745
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Pacific NW to Desert SW in the USA
Default

I’ve experienced the same thing when the serial number of a particular Microbeast device isn't properly listed in the BeastX database (for whatever reason). A short email sent to info @ beastx.com explaining the problem along with the device serial number is all that is needed to get the problem corrected. Usually you'll receive a response within 24 hours (outside of a weekend).

John L.
Gyropilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2021, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

Wow thanks John! That was quick reply!!


Much appreciated. I will post back.
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2021, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

So I emailed BeastX and they did update their database and now StudioX recognizes the unit. Thanks John.


But now there is a different problem in that the Firmware flash is stuck at 0% for more than 10 mins and after a few attempts - Any thoughts on how to get past this please.


Thanks in advance.
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2021, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 745
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Pacific NW to Desert SW in the USA
Default

Sorry I’ve never encountered that so not sure I can help.

It’s a long shot, but have you tried doing a factory reset? See the BeastX wiki here:

https://wiki.beastx.com/index.php/Ma...actoryReset/en

Also, before you try anything else, be sure and read the section titled “When the update fails” on this wiki page:

https://wiki.beastx.com/index.php/St...mwareUpdate/en

Please keep us posted.

John L.
Gyropilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2021, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

Thanks John - We've also dropped an email to BeastX. I'll update as we learn more!!
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2021, 07:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

So, BeastX came back and advised to switch off the radio during the firmware update process and it worked. (Updated to 4.2 from 4.1.5)



Now the next problem is that it doesn't allow the user to use the software for programming the FBL - It goes straight to Firmware update window and is stuck there. We've asked BeastX for further help.


Is there anything we could try while they look into the issue.


Thanks!!
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2021, 07:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 745
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Pacific NW to Desert SW in the USA
Default

Wow what a struggle this is becoming!

The latest version firmware for the AR7210BX should be 5.1.3 so it's possible that StudioX is strongly "encouraging" an update again before it can work correctly.

You may also want to verify that the user is using the very latest version of StudioX.

John L.
Gyropilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2021, 07:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

Thanks again John! Still trying to persevere!



The StudioX version is 3.6.2 - Looks like this is the latest. The software the user is trying to upload is the latest "Fee free" software. I am not familiar with how this works but I am told that the older firmware becomes free to download use whereas the newer ones are for a fee?
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2021, 08:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 745
 

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Pacific NW to Desert SW in the USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by $washplate View Post
The software the user is trying to upload is the latest "Fee free" software. I am not familiar with how this works but I am told that the older firmware becomes free to download use whereas the newer ones are for a fee?
Ah yes… it's been so many years ago that I'd forgotten it was a paid firmware upgrade to go from 4.x to 5.x on a AR7210BX.

I'm at a loss as to why StudioX wouldn’t now work correctly with that particular AR7210BX. Hopefully it’s something simple like operator error or the turning off transmitter thing.

John L.
Gyropilot is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2021, 01:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 2,787
 

Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Lincolnshire, United Kingdom.
Default

I use StudioX version 3.3.6 for my AR7210BX firmware updates(to v4.2 only) - no problems at all.

To access the on screen programming of my AR7210BX's I use StudioX version 2.2.4 which also works a treat.

So I have two versions of StudioX installed on my laptop; each for a different purpose and all good if you do not want to go beyond Firmware version 4.2.

I think issues arose with the introduction of v5 firmware and also StudioXm which I have never wanted and the reason why I have stayed with the earlier StudioX versions.

AR7210BX firmware version 4.2 gives me all I need and I have stayed with it - straight forward and hassle free!
Cyclone7 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-18-2021, 01:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: May 2020
Location: TX
Default

Thanks Cyclone!! This most likely explains the issues!!


Now, the question is how to obtain that version of StudioX. I can't seem to find it on the BeastX website or Google it.



Thanks!
$washplate is online now        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1