Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > HobbyWing ESC's


HobbyWing ESC's HobbyWing ESC Support


Like Tree9Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2021, 01:10 PM   #461 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Mmmm... It turns out that teensy cortex is capable of half duplex uart, so no need for the resistor and it can be connected only to TX1 (teensy pin 1)

I've updated the code for half duplex on teensy cortex boards

Please flash latest code and update the circuit as follows:

- Remove 3.3k resistor and connect smartport to pin 1 (TX1)
- Connect ESC to pin 7(RX2)

DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2021, 01:14 PM   #462 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

config.h is correct

Keep CONFIG_LUA disabled for now. Also disable DEBUG_ESC and DEBUG_ESC_RX as they are no needed
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2021, 09:01 AM   #463 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

ok so i did all that, and nothing, but i think what happened is I managed to fry the teensy because I put BEC 8.0V at the beginning before I did the 5V reg.....i thought it was ok because I could flash it, but it must have roasted the 3.3V logic or something.....anyways

back to Arduino Pro Mini, was able to finally flash that, I can get sensor data now on the Tarannis but only using the debug sim, it appears am not getting anything out of the ESC feeding into the arduino

am confused by a couple things, my HW200A says on it v4.1, so should I be using PROTOCOL_HW_V4_HV instead of PROTOCOL_HW_V5_HV?

what is it that doesnt work with the ESC having the vbar firmware? could that be issue?
kiosk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2021, 09:14 AM   #464 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
ok so i did all that, and nothing, but i think what happened is I managed to fry the teensy because I put BEC 8.0V at the beginning before I did the 5V reg.....i thought it was ok because I could flash it, but it must have roasted the 3.3V logic or something.....
Based on the last DEBUG output you posted, the Teensy should be fine. It was sending data through the serial. If you fryed it because of the 8V, it wouldn't work at all

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
back to Arduino Pro Mini, was able to finally flash that, I can get sensor data now on the Tarannis but only using the debug sim, it appears am not getting anything out of the ESC feeding into the arduino
Because you have the vbar firmware

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
am confused by a couple things, my HW200A says on it v4.1, so should I be using PROTOCOL_HW_V4_HV instead of PROTOCOL_HW_V5_HV?
v4.1 is the firmware version, but V4 and V5 in MSRC is the ESC model

V4 = HW Platinum V4
V5 = HW Flyfun V5

Same protocol but sensors for current and voltage are different depending on models. Though finally appears that V4 HV has same sensors that V5 HV and same for LV. So either V4 HV or V5 HV is fine, you'll get same reasult

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
what is it that doesnt work with the ESC having the vbar firmware? could that be issue?
Vbar version does not send telemetry every 20ms. I guess it must be requested. I've no info about that protocol
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2021, 09:54 AM   #465 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

ok cool, so it has to be the firmware then, ill flash that next on the ESC

the teensy was sending serial data to the "Serial" which i saw on serial console, but I never got it to send anything to smartport via "Serial1", i tried USB-TTL on "Serial1" and never got anything, whilst on "Serial" i was able to see it
kiosk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2021, 11:36 AM   #466 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Flashed ESC and nothing, no data.... I know the data from arduino-> smartport--> taranis is working because of sim debug.... But how do I troubleshoot ESC to arduino?

Sent from my SHT-W09 using Tapatalk
kiosk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2021, 12:46 PM   #467 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Does discover sensors in opentx find the arduino sensors? If so, are their values 0?

Does DEBUG show any output?

Please send a picture of the circuit
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2021, 12:49 PM   #468 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Did you fashed the no vbar firmware to the ESC?

To debug the ESC, disable DEBUG and enable DEBUG_ESC_HW_V4
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2021, 12:58 PM   #469 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Is the ESC arming?

If not, you can either power the arduino after the ESC is armed or enable ESC_INIT_DELAY in config.h
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2021, 04:33 PM   #470 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielGA View Post
Does discover sensors in opentx find the arduino sensors? If so, are their values 0?

Does DEBUG show any output?
Please send a picture of the circuit
i get nothing on debug unless i turn on SIM_RX, SIM_SENSORS. with this i get all the sensors show up on the Taranis radio when discovered...so I guess this means "Arduino-->Smartport--> Taranis" is all working OK

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielGA View Post
Did you fashed the no vbar firmware to the ESC?

To debug the ESC, disable DEBUG and enable DEBUG_ESC_HW_V4
yup have had it on, but nothing shows on serial console

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielGA View Post
Is the ESC arming?

If not, you can either power the arduino after the ESC is armed or enable ESC_INIT_DELAY in config.h
yes its arming ok, but will try this sequence and option....

what is this line I have commented out?

//#define ESC_SIGNATURE // HW V4 signature (only smartport).


and difference between these two

#define DEBUG_ESC
#define DEBUG_ESC_RX
kiosk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2021, 05:34 PM   #471 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zurich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
i get nothing on debug unless i turn on SIM_RX, SIM_SENSORS. with this i get all the sensors show up on the Taranis radio when discovered...so I guess this means "Arduino-->Smartport--> Taranis" is all working OK
Not really. This means arduino is not receiving data from smartport

Check the circuit at pins 7 and 12. There must be an issue at pin 7. Check that smartport line is connected straight to pin 7, not 12

Comment SIM_RX and SIM_SENSORS




Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
yes its arming ok, but will try this sequence and option....
If it is arming keep commented ESC_INIT_DELAY

Quote:
Originally Posted by kiosk View Post
#define ESC_SIGNATURE
#define DEBUG_ESC
#define DEBUG_ESC_RX
Not needed for this case. Comment them
DanielGA is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-26-2021, 01:58 PM   #472 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

ok finally got it working, i dont even know what did it, but all the sensors are showing up fine now with the ESC hooked up, am just not getting any reading on voltage or RPM, just says 0

do i need pernanently disable all DEBUG?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210926_144807.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	1.99 MB
ID:	933895   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210926_145550.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	2.64 MB
ID:	933897  
kiosk is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2021, 01:27 PM   #473 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Poland
Default

Hello Daniel.

I noticed that you have made corrections to GPS support by Spektrum XBUS. So I decided to test your code again. GPS Set to 9600 1Hz and 19200 2Hz works very nicely, my receivers have no problem detecting it. You could still fix the sending of the time that is not working properly

Very good job
There is an error in the configuration file generator. The letter "S" is missing so arduino reports the problem later.
Click image for larger version

Name:	bad.png
Views:	9
Size:	94.8 KB
ID:	937247
Regards.

Last edited by Oki188; 10-19-2021 at 04:05 PM..
Oki188 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1