3GX Governor sensor - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Align 3G FBL System > Align 3GX FBL System


Align 3GX FBL System Align 3GX FBL Flybarless System Software and Hardware Support


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2011, 09:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default 3GX Governor sensor

I got my 3GX unit for my 600 nitro a few days ago; very easy to install and flew very well right out of the box..... way easier than the Total G that I had before....

However, I'm having trouble setting up my governor.... the RPM are all over the place.. I think the problem is with the sensor, because when I bench-test it rotating the engine with the starter, all the servos move every time the sensor passes through the magnet. Is this normal? Can anyone with a similar setup confirm it?

Thanks!
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2011, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Nope, your servos are not meant to move. What transmitter are you using? may be you have mixing enabled with the channel you are using for governor?
flyingbells is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-20-2011, 01:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I'm using a DX7, I think I'm not using any mixing but would have to check tonight. So you think it might be my sensor?
Thanks!
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Default

I just checked and don't have any mixin enabled. So it has to be the sensor. What is it supposed to happen when the magnet passes under the sensor? Does the governor led in the unit blinks or changes color?
I have a sensor from my Total G unit, was thinking on using it to test, but that one has a servo connector.... Anyone knows how would I have to wire it to the align plug?
nicolas_rodriguez is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Australia
Default

Well its just a Hall sensor so a bit hard to imagine it causing problems for other servos. By all means try a new sensor, I think the Align one is only $10 or less. A Curtis ATG sensor also will work if you solder the Align connector and reverse black and red wire.

More likely seems to be a bad connector or chaffed wire somewhere? I use Futaba S-bus on my 3GX, didn't have any issue. Also upgrade your firmware to 1.1 as it fixes a lot of governor related issues.
flyingbells is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © Website Acquisitions Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1