Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE

Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Helicopter Support > Blade Helicopters (eFlite) > Blade 450X

Blade 450X Blade 450X Helicopters Information and Help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2016, 04:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users

Default iKon + DX18 setup problems

I have been flying a 450 3-D for 3+ years now. About 18 months ago I noticed I had nearly enough spare parts to build a second one. So I began building my first scratch built. I am using a micro iKon with a Tarot DFC FBL head, HiTec HS65MG servos and a HS5065MG tail servo, Talon 35 ESC, Spectrum satellite rx, and a Microheli CF frame.

At first it would spool up smooth, then shake violently soon as it left the ground. Everything was balanced right so I was advised to turn down the gain which I did. Shake was gone but it didn't go the way I told it . I tied down the 3-D to see what the blade disc did with different input and it did just what I thought it would. The iKon heli moved the rotor disk down in front and about 15° left instead of straight in front like the 3-D when I moved the right stick up. I noticed that the control arms on the FBL head is ahead of the blades and the FB head arms are behind. I made a 15° adjustment in the software and now the blade disc dips down straight ahead when the right stick moves up.

However the servos have always seemed to return awefully slowly, too slow to really fly right. One thing that may be causing problems is I'm flying this bird with a DX18 and I've been flying the 3-D with a DX6i. The number of ways you setup up a DX18 are overwhelming and I may have something set wrong in it. After reading in the other iKon-450 thread that some birds fly with almost default settings, I don't see how or else I'm doing something way out of whack.