Flash card - Sd card? - HeliFreak
Fun, Learning, Friendship and Mutual Respect START  HERE


Unregistered
Go Back   HeliFreak > R/C Electronics Support > Futaba Radios and Electronics > Futaba 14MZ - 12Z


Futaba 14MZ - 12Z Futaba 14MZ and 12Z Help and features Support Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2012, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default Flash card - Sd card?

Guys, got a 14mz coming and noticed that it uses a flash card instead of a sd card.

Whats the difference, do they work the same??

I've never heard of a flash card before so excuse the silly question.

Cheers..
__________________
Oxy 3 SK540 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / Goblin 500 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 Kosmik200 / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2012, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

The Compact Flash card used in the 14MZ is just an industry standard Flash Card, the SD card is a bit newer and smaller. The Futaba 8FGS and the 18MZ both take the SD card, but in the 8FG you can only use up to 2gb.
__________________
Team Futaba, Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, Team Castle Creations, VelTye, YS Engines
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 05:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default

Cool, so works in the same way then?? Although my laptop has a sd card slot, how do you put info on flash?
__________________
Oxy 3 SK540 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / Goblin 500 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 Kosmik200 / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2012, 08:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Generally you need a card reader that fits a compact flash card. I have a reader made by Belkin that allows 9 different types of cards to be inserted. They connect using the USB port on your computer. You will need this to do updates, etc. on your 14MZ. Also, in general try to get nothing larger than a 2GB card. You may need to go on the internet to do that. CF cards are not very common. I have a 96MB card in mine. It only has room for around a 1,000 models. There really is no need for a large capacity card.

Hope that helps.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2012, 04:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default

Thanks for the info
__________________
Oxy 3 SK540 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / Goblin 500 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 Kosmik200 / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2012, 07:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

I was running a 1gb card in my 14MZ. The original cards were 32mb, then 64mb. Lot's of room for models, I always asked the same question, 'why do you need such a big card?'. Easy answer, the younger pilots like to listen to music when they fly and you can put .wma files on the card, plug in your headphones, program a switch or any command to start (or just turn on the player) and listen while you fly. You can also do voice commands recording, then playback, great for pattern guys practicing their routines while being able to fly without someone helping them during practice time.
__________________
Team Futaba, Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, Team Castle Creations, VelTye, YS Engines
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2012, 07:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 5,844
Thread Starter Thread Starter
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Wiltshire England
Default

All sounds a bit to technical for my simple mind, i like to just fly and hear the model anyway.
__________________
Oxy 3 SK540 Minijazz 20 / WARP 360 SK540 Koby 55 / Goblin 500 SK540 jive 100 / 6HV ultimate Helijive120 SK540 / 7HV SK540 Kosmik200 / Futaba18mz / Skookum support rep
heathy is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2012, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

I'm an old guy and I have not used mine for listening to wma music files while flying. However, here is the info on mine right now:

96MB CF card
61 MB used, 35 MB free
14 current models saved to it - room for 262 more (according to the system info)
55 wav sound files for various switches, conditions, etc.
14 BMP images for use with the models

You are going to have trouble finding anything less than 1GB any longer, and that will be plenty. I have heard Futaba recommends nothing larger than 2GB as I noted above.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 07:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default

Nothing larger than 2 in the 8FG, I have used a 4 in my 14MZ without issues, I have seen the 18MZ with an 8 in it. As the electronics evolve..... Yes, finding anything under 1 is getting more and more difficult. That's probably why Futaba went from a 32mb to a 64mb in the 14MZ. There were some issues with type of card, but many were posting that they just took their radio to radio shack and tried different ones to find one that worked for sure. I just bought mine on eBay for $9 (2gb,Sansdisk).
__________________
Team Futaba, Team Synergy/Rail Blades, Team Scorpion, Team Castle Creations, VelTye, YS Engines
kcordell is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2012, 09:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

My 2GB recommendation was based on what Krysta had once mentioned to me. But you cannot argue with real life experience. My comments were also specific to the 14MZ. It makes sense that the newer radios can handle larger capacity cards.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2012, 08:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Default

What is the largest CF memory size that will work on a 12Z?
__________________
Bill Harden
Decatur, Alabama
flyinbill1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2012, 10:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Futaba recommends nothing larger than a 2GB card in the 12Z and 14MZ. Some have used larger, but that is what the service folks recommend.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2012, 08:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered Users
 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Alabama
Default

Does one need to format the CF card or use it as is when received new?
__________________
Bill Harden
Decatur, Alabama
flyinbill1 is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2012, 12:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered Users
 
Posts: 1,115
 
My HF Map location
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SOCAL - USA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinbill1 View Post
Does one need to format the CF card or use it as is when received new?

I've never formatted one first. Just put it in the radio.
__________________
AMA Leader Member
Team Futaba
Raptor 90SE/YS91ST - T550E FB - T550E FBL w/CGY-750
Phaedrus is offline        Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply




Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the HeliFreak forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your REAL and WORKING email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself. Use a real email address or you will not be granted access to the site. Thank you.
Email Address:
Location
Where do you live? ie: Country, State, City or General Geographic Location please.
Name and Lastname
Enter name and last name here. (This information is not shown to the general public. Optional)
Helicopter #1
Enter Helicopter #1 type and equipment.
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)
Helicopter #2
Enter Helicopter #2 type and equipment.
Helicopter #3
Enter Helicopter #3 type and equipment.
Helicopter #4
Enter Helicopter #4 type and equipment.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
 

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1